You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $4.99
includes tax, if applicable
Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Poison (Cambridge Murder Mysteries Book 1) by [King, Charlot]
Kindle App Ad

Poison (Cambridge Murder Mysteries Book 1) Kindle Edition


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.99

Length: 350 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

What's New in Kindle Unlimited
Discover this month's featured titles, now available to read for $0.00. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

Praise for Charlot King and her gripping whodunnit, book one of the Cambridge Murder Mysteries:



‘If you love Darwin College Cambridge & murder mystery books Alumna @queencharlot novel Poison is made for you!’
Darwin College, Cambridge @DarwinCollege Twitter

‘Murder in Cambridge? Check out the new novel by local author @queencharlot...a truly gripping read!’
Cambridge Literary Festival @camlitfest Twitter

Captivating Whodunnit Murder Mystery!


Join the fast growing number of readers of POISON, and curl up with this English compelling whodunnit, first in the series of the Cambridge Murder Mysteries. CURSED and BLOOD MOON the second and third books in the mystery series are also available in Kindle and paperbacks. The complete series will unfold with book four out in 2019 and audiobooks to follow.

When junior lecturer Edward Wiley dies an horrifically painful death and police pathology cannot establish the cause of death, amateur sleuth Professor Elizabeth Green is desperate to help, especially with the crime scene being her own back garden by the river.

A professor of poisons, Professor Green is determined to find the murderer before there is more death on the cobbles of Cambridge. When the Dean of Bene’t’s College seems to be involved, when other Fellows keep tight lipped, and even Inspector Abley is spending too much time on the golf course instead of investigating, it feels like the killer will strike again.

Following another grisly murder, a tense Inspector Abley realises he can't solve this crime without Elizabeth. With people dropping like flies and dead bodies increasing in number, Elizabeth's unbridled curiosity embroil this meddling sleuth right in the heart of this mysterious thriller of a case in this historic city.

Fans of Agatha Christie, P.D. James, and Colin Dexter will love this story, as it celebrates everything traditional and eccentric about some of the lives and customs in the heart of the historic city of Cambridge. If you enjoy intelligent storytelling, strong and vulnerable characters with twists and turns of plot, then you’ll love the puzzles of the Cambridge Murder Mysteries

Hugely popular local Cambridge author makes historic city in England leap off the page with POISON, this gripping novel, the first in the Cambridge Murder Mystery Series.

And what of Professor Elizabeth Green?...

In her fifties, this female protagonist is quintessentially English. An eccentric professor in her ivory tower, she maintains a sharp wit, yet is flawed by her inability to connect well with people, instead giving off a cold, opinionated and sometimes acerbic air. Though very kind to all animals (dogs, cats and the rest!) - a vegan - and a great gardener, in truth she keeps her friends close, and only lets a few dear people into her world.

We pick up with Elizabeth having been on a break from solving crimes. Devastated by her husband's death just a year ago, she hates to feel invisible or let her life pass her by.

Both the bumbling and kind Inspector Abley, and her effete grandson, Godric, who is at the university and living with her at the moment, think she should steer clear of getting involved with the police for a while. But no matter how strong their protests, Elizabeth is determined to be useful again.

And what of the setting?...

POISON is set in Cambridge. The murder mystery takes place in this city in England which features heavily. If you like Cambridge, either you live there or may have visited, or even used to study there, then this story involving the female protagonist Elizabeth Green will transport you.

If you murder mystery thrillers, lady detectives, crime fiction in the city, champagne murders, murder mysteries for adults, crime mystery thrillers, cosy murder mysteries, crime fiction in the city the the Cambridge Murder Mysteries might be for you!


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2271 KB
  • Print Length: 350 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Beautiful Day Cambridge Ltd (11 June 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00ZJLF4A6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #341,557 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

No customer reviews


Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.8 out of 5 stars 21 reviews
MPM
5.0 out of 5 starsFirst in a fabulous new mystery series- loved it!
10 July 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
Kindle Customer
2.0 out of 5 starsPresent tense haters beware
9 February 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful.
Ramona D. Gault
3.0 out of 5 starsIt reads like a rough draft
21 March 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
zanay
5.0 out of 5 starsA good mystery that surprises in the end.
29 January 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
James C. Greetham
5.0 out of 5 starsCharacters and surprises
24 June 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase