Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by [Chbosky, Stephen]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Perks of Being a Wallflower Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 7,561 ratings

See all 15 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 240 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $11.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

"The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a timeless story for every young person who needs to understand that they are not alone. A bright light in what can be a dark time. And just for the record, I saw the movie adaptation four times. Read the book first. You'll never forget it."
--Judy Blume

"Once in a while, a novel comes along that becomes a generational touchstone. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of those books, a story so effortlessly told, with characters so truthfully rendered, you can forget just how beautiful the writing actually is. So I'm here to remind you: Chbosky is not just a great storyteller, he's a master of his craft."
--R.J.Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wonder

"Twenty years after its initial publication, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is somehow more resonant, more relevant, than ever. This is the mark not just of a good book, but a classic one."
--Gayle Forman, #1 New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Have Lost My Way

"A quick sensation after it was published, earning cult status and a place on many school reading lists."
--The New York Times

"A coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace. . . . [Chbosky's] poignant reflections on life, love and friendship are often inspirational and always beautifully written."
--USA Today

"Charlie is such a completely good, pure human being (the way we were supposed to come off the production line) that you wonder how he sprang from the imagination of an ordinary adult author. . . . Again and again throughout the book he exhibits that pure wisdom we all like to read about and witness. And Stephen Chbosky doesn't let us down. . . . In this culture where adolescence is a dirty word, I hope nothing bad ever happens to this kid."
--Los Angeles Times

"Palpably real. . . . Charlie develops from an observant wallflower into his own man of action. . . . This report on his life will engage teen readers for years to come."
--School Library Journal, starred review

"Compelling. . . . Charlie is a likeable kid whose humor-laced trials and tribulations will please both adults and teens."
--Booklist

"Like Holden [Caulfield], Charlie oozes sincerity."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Depth and gravity. . . . bump[s] it. . . . into the cannon of high school classics."
--NPR

Product Description

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up. Now a major motion picture starring Emma Watson and Logan Lerman. Stephen Chbosky's new film Wonder, starring Owen Wilson and Julia Roberts is out now. 

Charlie is a freshman. And while he's not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix-tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But Charlie can't stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

'A coming of age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace... often inspirational and always beautifully written' USA Today

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1968 KB
  • Print Length: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK; UK ed. edition (1 May 2012)
  • Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007QUUJMG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Customer Reviews: 3.9 out of 5 stars 18 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #40,202 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
7,561 customer ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Reviewed in Australia on 25 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 6 April 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 17 May 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 June 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 21 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 21 March 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 16 April 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 5 April 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Top international reviews

Boingboing
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not sure there were too many perks.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 September 2018
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
SplitMind
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 September 2017
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ellie P.
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie's going straight to the top of my 'loveable character' list!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 August 2012
Verified Purchase
36 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
No_Spoiler_Sean
2.0 out of 5 stars The Wallflower is dead, long live the Catcher in the Rye...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 April 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Rebecca Woolston
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn’t hate it, but I just didn’t feel it was for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 November 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Marbeth lynch
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 July 2017
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
ShayneyH
4.0 out of 5 stars I read it with this built up Hype in my head, but I still enjoyed it and hope to reread it again!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sami-Mae
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Jennyinneverland
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite books of all time
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
StephanieIsReading
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful writing, beautiful characters, unstated narrative
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 December 2013
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
sashaknits
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, moving and different
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 January 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
JonBoy
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed and lacking in "action"
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 November 2013
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Elle
4.0 out of 5 stars Perks of Crying
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 August 2013
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ms. L. J. Braisby
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Touching
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 February 2011
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
L. Clarke
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story Seeped in the Pain and Beauty of Life
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 June 2013
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse