Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Perks of Being a Wallflower: the most moving coming-of-age classic by [Stephen Chbosky]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Perks of Being a Wallflower: the most moving coming-of-age classic Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 7,994 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 188 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $11.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

About the Author

Stephen Chbosky wrote and directed the film adaptation of his novel The Perks of Being a Wallflower. A native of Pittsburgh, he graduated from the University of Southern California's filmic writing program. His first film, The Four Corners of Nowhere, premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. He wrote the screenplay for the critically acclaimed film adaptation of Rent and cocreated the postapocalyptic television drama Jericho.

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Review

"Charlie is such a completely good, pure human being (the way we were supposed to come off the production line) that you wonder how he sprang from the imagination of an ordinary adult author. . . . Again and again throughout the book he exhibits that pure wisdom we all like to read about and witness. And Stephen Chbosky doesn't let us down. . . . In this culture where adolescence is a dirty word, I hope nothing bad ever happens to this kid."
--Los Angeles Times

"The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a timeless story for every young person who needs to understand that they are not alone. A bright light in what can be a dark time. And just for the record, I saw the movie adaptation four times. Read the book first. You'll never forget it."
--Judy Blume

"[C]ould be a memo about the importance of inclusiveness."
--Washington Post

"A coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace. . . . [Chbosky's] poignant reflections on life, love and friendship are often inspirational and always beautifully written."
--USA Today

"A quick sensation after it was published, earning cult status and a place on many school reading lists."
--The New York Times

"Compelling. . . . Charlie is a likeable kid whose humor-laced trials and tribulations will please both adults and teens."
--Booklist

"Depth and gravity. . . . bump[s] it. . . . into the cannon of high school classics."
--NPR

"I honestly think that the world would be a better place if there were more people like Charlie."
--Emma Watson

"Like Holden [Caulfield], Charlie oozes sincerity."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Once in a while, a novel comes along that becomes a generational touchstone. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of those books, a story so effortlessly told, with characters so truthfully rendered, you can forget just how beautiful the writing actually is. So I'm here to remind you: Chbosky is not just a great storyteller, he's a master of his craft."
--R.J.Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wonder --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
7,994 global customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 25 February 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 6 April 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 17 May 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 19 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 June 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 21 September 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 21 March 2015
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Boingboing
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not sure there were too many perks.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 September 2018
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
SplitMind
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 September 2017
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Rebecca
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn’t hate it, but I just didn’t feel it was for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 November 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ellie P.
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie's going straight to the top of my 'loveable character' list!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 August 2012
Verified Purchase
37 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
No_Spoiler_Sean
2.0 out of 5 stars The Wallflower is dead, long live the Catcher in the Rye...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 April 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse