You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $10.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Perks of Being a Wallflower: the most moving coming-of-age classic by [Stephen Chbosky]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Perks of Being a Wallflower: the most moving coming-of-age classic Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 15,896 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99
Length: 188 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $11.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

About the Author

Stephen Chbosky wrote and directed the film adaptation of his novel The Perks of Being a Wallflower. A native of Pittsburgh, he graduated from the University of Southern California's filmic writing program. His first film, The Four Corners of Nowhere, premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. He wrote the screenplay for the critically acclaimed film adaptation of Rent and cocreated the postapocalyptic television drama Jericho.

--This text refers to the audioCD edition.

Review

"Charlie is such a completely good, pure human being (the way we were supposed to come off the production line) that you wonder how he sprang from the imagination of an ordinary adult author. . . . Again and again throughout the book he exhibits that pure wisdom we all like to read about and witness. And Stephen Chbosky doesn't let us down. . . . In this culture where adolescence is a dirty word, I hope nothing bad ever happens to this kid."
--Los Angeles Times

"The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a timeless story for every young person who needs to understand that they are not alone. A bright light in what can be a dark time. And just for the record, I saw the movie adaptation four times. Read the book first. You'll never forget it."
--Judy Blume

"[C]ould be a memo about the importance of inclusiveness."
--Washington Post

"A coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace. . . . [Chbosky's] poignant reflections on life, love and friendship are often inspirational and always beautifully written."
--USA Today

"A quick sensation after it was published, earning cult status and a place on many school reading lists."
--The New York Times

"Compelling. . . . Charlie is a likeable kid whose humor-laced trials and tribulations will please both adults and teens."
--Booklist

"Depth and gravity. . . . bump[s] it. . . . into the cannon of high school classics."
--NPR

"I honestly think that the world would be a better place if there were more people like Charlie."
--Emma Watson

"Like Holden [Caulfield], Charlie oozes sincerity."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Once in a while, a novel comes along that becomes a generational touchstone. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of those books, a story so effortlessly told, with characters so truthfully rendered, you can forget just how beautiful the writing actually is. So I'm here to remind you: Chbosky is not just a great storyteller, he's a master of his craft."
--R.J.Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wonder --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B007QUUJMG
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Simon & Schuster UK; UK ed. edition (1 May 2012)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2935 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 188 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 15,896 ratings

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
15,896 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 16 February 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 6 October 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 February 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 6 April 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 17 May 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 19 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 June 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 21 September 2019
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Boingboing
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not sure there were too many perks.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 September 2018
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Rebecca
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn’t hate it, but I just didn’t feel it was for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 November 2019
Verified Purchase
Customer image
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn’t hate it, but I just didn’t feel it was for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 November 2019
“We accept the love we think we deserve.”

I’ve seen nothing but good things about this book but never given it a try. The internet is full of quotes from the story and I think you’d be hard pushed to find someone who’s never at least heard of the title (this book has more than 1 million ratings on Goodreads and the film was well reviewed too).

Charlie is a socially awkward freshman, writing letters to an unnamed friend. He tells his friend absolutely everything, from his homework assignments to his first erection and so much more.

Image result for the perks of being a wallflower
Source: Tumblr
This is a short book, but it is packed with some difficult and heavy subjects including suicide, domestic abuse, drug use, rape and abortion.

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I had wanted to, and I found the writing style and structure to be somewhat tiring. Charlie writes with innocence and the author has chosen his sentence structure and grammar to represent this. I understand the technique and have really enjoyed other books like this in the past, but on top of those tricky subjects, this didn’t make for an easy or enjoyable read.

“I don’t think that there is a favorite kid in our family. There are three of us and I am the youngest. My brother is the oldest. He is a very good football player and likes his car."

Another point I’m somewhat frightened to admit to you all is that I didn’t feel sad and I wasn’t really affected by this book in any way. Am I too cold-hearted? Probably! 🙈

I felt the story was a little too melodramatic for my tastes, but I certainly understand why people love it. I also give it huge credit for addressing these topics, especially those so increasingly faced by teenagers today. I think that if I had read this when I was younger, I’d probably have enjoyed it a lot more but at this point in my life, it wasn’t for me.

Overall rating: Contrary to popular opinion, I didn’t love “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” and the writing style was most responsible for this. I didn’t hate it, but I just didn’t feel it was for me – 2 stars.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
No_Spoiler_Sean
2.0 out of 5 stars The Wallflower is dead, long live the Catcher in the Rye...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 April 2019
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Sami-Mae
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 January 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Dini
3.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking and eye-opening but just not 100% for me...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 July 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse