Buy new:
$37.88
+ $4.90 Delivery
In stock.
US imports may differ from local products. Additional terms apply. Learn More.

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions, or plugs (you may require an adapter).
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon US
Sold by Amazon US
Ships from
Amazon US
Sold by
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$54.89
+ $3.00 Delivery
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
(3514 ratings)
90% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$58.25
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: BuyGlobal
Sold by: BuyGlobal
(14850 ratings)
77% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$58.31
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Sold by: Book Depository UK
(32209 ratings)
93% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Perks of Being a Wallflower: 20th Anniversary Edition with a New Letter from Charlie Library Binding – Large Print, 9 September 2020

4.7 out of 5 stars 15,664 ratings
Edition: Large type / Large print

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Library Binding, Large Print, 9 September 2020
$37.88
$37.88

Enhance your purchase

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

AUDIBLE FREE TRIAL
Includes your first audiobook free, a bonus book selected by our editors, unlimited access to exclusive podcasts and more. $16.45/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime. Learn more >

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Thorndike Striving Reader; Large type / Large print edition (9 September 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1432878611
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1432878610
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 13 - 17 years
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.97 x 2.03 x 21.59 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 15,664 ratings

Product description

Review

"Charlie is such a completely good, pure human being (the way we were supposed to come off the production line) that you wonder how he sprang from the imagination of an ordinary adult author. . . . Again and again throughout the book he exhibits that pure wisdom we all like to read about and witness. And Stephen Chbosky doesn't let us down. . . . In this culture where adolescence is a dirty word, I hope nothing bad ever happens to this kid."
--Los Angeles Times

"The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a timeless story for every young person who needs to understand that they are not alone. A bright light in what can be a dark time. And just for the record, I saw the movie adaptation four times. Read the book first. You'll never forget it."
--Judy Blume

"[C]ould be a memo about the importance of inclusiveness."
--Washington Post

"A coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace. . . . [Chbosky's] poignant reflections on life, love and friendship are often inspirational and always beautifully written."
--USA Today

"A quick sensation after it was published, earning cult status and a place on many school reading lists."
--The New York Times

"Compelling. . . . Charlie is a likeable kid whose humor-laced trials and tribulations will please both adults and teens."
--Booklist

"Depth and gravity. . . . bump[s] it. . . . into the cannon of high school classics."
--NPR

"I honestly think that the world would be a better place if there were more people like Charlie."
--Emma Watson

"Like Holden [Caulfield], Charlie oozes sincerity."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Once in a while, a novel comes along that becomes a generational touchstone. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of those books, a story so effortlessly told, with characters so truthfully rendered, you can forget just how beautiful the writing actually is. So I'm here to remind you: Chbosky is not just a great storyteller, he's a master of his craft."
--R.J.Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wonder

"Palpably real. . . . Charlie develops from an observant wallflower into his own man of action. . . . This report on his life will engage teen readers for years to come."
--School Library Journal, starred review

"Twenty years after its initial publication, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is somehow more resonant, more relevant, than ever. This is the mark not just of a good book, but a classic one."
--Gayle Forman, #1 New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Have Lost My Way

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
15,664 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 16 February 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 6 October 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 February 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 6 April 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 17 May 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 19 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 June 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 21 September 2019
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Boingboing
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not sure there were too many perks.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 September 2018
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Rebecca
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn’t hate it, but I just didn’t feel it was for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 November 2019
Verified Purchase
Customer image
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn’t hate it, but I just didn’t feel it was for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 November 2019
“We accept the love we think we deserve.”

I’ve seen nothing but good things about this book but never given it a try. The internet is full of quotes from the story and I think you’d be hard pushed to find someone who’s never at least heard of the title (this book has more than 1 million ratings on Goodreads and the film was well reviewed too).

Charlie is a socially awkward freshman, writing letters to an unnamed friend. He tells his friend absolutely everything, from his homework assignments to his first erection and so much more.

Image result for the perks of being a wallflower
Source: Tumblr
This is a short book, but it is packed with some difficult and heavy subjects including suicide, domestic abuse, drug use, rape and abortion.

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I had wanted to, and I found the writing style and structure to be somewhat tiring. Charlie writes with innocence and the author has chosen his sentence structure and grammar to represent this. I understand the technique and have really enjoyed other books like this in the past, but on top of those tricky subjects, this didn’t make for an easy or enjoyable read.

“I don’t think that there is a favorite kid in our family. There are three of us and I am the youngest. My brother is the oldest. He is a very good football player and likes his car."

Another point I’m somewhat frightened to admit to you all is that I didn’t feel sad and I wasn’t really affected by this book in any way. Am I too cold-hearted? Probably! 🙈

I felt the story was a little too melodramatic for my tastes, but I certainly understand why people love it. I also give it huge credit for addressing these topics, especially those so increasingly faced by teenagers today. I think that if I had read this when I was younger, I’d probably have enjoyed it a lot more but at this point in my life, it wasn’t for me.

Overall rating: Contrary to popular opinion, I didn’t love “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” and the writing style was most responsible for this. I didn’t hate it, but I just didn’t feel it was for me – 2 stars.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
No_Spoiler_Sean
2.0 out of 5 stars The Wallflower is dead, long live the Catcher in the Rye...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 April 2019
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Sami-Mae
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 January 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Dini
3.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking and eye-opening but just not 100% for me...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 July 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse