<Embed>
$37.36
& FREE Delivery
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Ships from and sold by Book Depository UK.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$34.35
+ $3.00 delivery
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
Add to Cart
$40.55
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Blackwell UK Ltd
Add to Cart
$30.78
+ $14.98 delivery
Sold by: Amazon US
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Perks of Being a Wallflower Hardcover – 24 September 2019

4.6 out of 5 stars 7,994 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$37.36
$30.78
Arrives: 27 Aug - 2 Sep

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Perks of Being a Wallflower
  • +
  • Eleanor   Park
  • +
  • The Hate U Give
Total Price: $90.30
Buy the selected items together

Product details

Product description

Review

"Charlie is such a completely good, pure human being (the way we were supposed to come off the production line) that you wonder how he sprang from the imagination of an ordinary adult author. . . . Again and again throughout the book he exhibits that pure wisdom we all like to read about and witness. And Stephen Chbosky doesn't let us down. . . . In this culture where adolescence is a dirty word, I hope nothing bad ever happens to this kid."
--Los Angeles Times

"The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a timeless story for every young person who needs to understand that they are not alone. A bright light in what can be a dark time. And just for the record, I saw the movie adaptation four times. Read the book first. You'll never forget it."
--Judy Blume

"[C]ould be a memo about the importance of inclusiveness."
--Washington Post

"A coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace. . . . [Chbosky's] poignant reflections on life, love and friendship are often inspirational and always beautifully written."
--USA Today

"A quick sensation after it was published, earning cult status and a place on many school reading lists."
--The New York Times

"Compelling. . . . Charlie is a likeable kid whose humor-laced trials and tribulations will please both adults and teens."
--Booklist

"Depth and gravity. . . . bump[s] it. . . . into the cannon of high school classics."
--NPR

"I honestly think that the world would be a better place if there were more people like Charlie."
--Emma Watson

"Like Holden [Caulfield], Charlie oozes sincerity."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Once in a while, a novel comes along that becomes a generational touchstone. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of those books, a story so effortlessly told, with characters so truthfully rendered, you can forget just how beautiful the writing actually is. So I'm here to remind you: Chbosky is not just a great storyteller, he's a master of his craft."
--R.J.Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wonder

About the Author

Stephen Chbosky wrote and directed the feature film adaptation of his award-winning novel, The Perks of Being a Wallflower. He has worked in film and television, on projects including the film version of the smash-hit musical Rent; the TV show Jericho; and others. He also edited Pieces, a collection of short stories for Pocket Books. A native of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Chbosky graduated from the University of Southern California's Filmic Writing Program. His first film, The Four Corners of Nowhere, premiered at Sundance Film Festival. Follow Stephen on Twitter @StephenChbosky.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
7,994 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
Reviewed in Australia on 25 February 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 6 April 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 17 May 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 19 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 June 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 21 September 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 21 March 2015
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Boingboing
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not sure there were too many perks.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 September 2018
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
SplitMind
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 September 2017
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Rebecca
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn’t hate it, but I just didn’t feel it was for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 November 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ellie P.
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie's going straight to the top of my 'loveable character' list!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 August 2012
Verified Purchase
37 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
No_Spoiler_Sean
2.0 out of 5 stars The Wallflower is dead, long live the Catcher in the Rye...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 April 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Marbeth lynch
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 July 2017
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
ShayneyH
4.0 out of 5 stars I read it with this built up Hype in my head, but I still enjoyed it and hope to reread it again!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sami-Mae
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
valade
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've ever read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 March 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Retroprosa
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable read that engulfs you with the Characters
Reviewed in India on 28 October 2016
Verified Purchase
37 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Jennyinneverland
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite books of all time
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
StephanieIsReading
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful writing, beautiful characters, unstated narrative
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 December 2013
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
sashaknits
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, moving and different
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 January 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
JonBoy
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed and lacking in "action"
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 November 2013
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Elle
4.0 out of 5 stars Perks of Crying
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 August 2013
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse