Buy new:
$28.22
RRP: $29.99 Details

Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
Save: $1.77 (6%)
FREE delivery: Thursday, 7 Oct on first order.
Fastest delivery: Sunday, 3 Oct
Order within 22 hrs and 53 mins
Only 1 left in stock.
$$28.22 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$28.22
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon AU
Sold by Amazon AU
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$31.82
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Sold by: Book Depository UK
(32785 ratings)
93% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$34.37
+ $3.00 Delivery
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
(4022 ratings)
88% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$43.44
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: The Nile Australia
Sold by: The Nile Australia
(4648 ratings)
85% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried Hardcover – 1 March 2019

4.4 out of 5 stars 59 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$28.22
$27.21

Enhance your purchase

Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried
  • +
  • Brave Face: A Memoir
  • +
  • At the Edge of the Universe
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

"Biting, hopeful, and laugh-out-loud funny, Dino and July’s story is a heartfelt exploration of how our friendships shape us, even after they’re dead and gone."

  -- Francesca Zappia, ward-winning author of Eliza and Her Monsters and Made You Up

“A fearless and brutal look at friendships and the emotional autopsies we all do when they die. Like a real relationship you will laugh, rage, and mourn its loss when it’s over. If you haven’t been reading Hutchinson, this is a brilliant place to start.” -- Justina Ireland, New York Times bestselling author of DREAD NATION

"Only Shaun David Hutchinson could take on love, family, friendship, life, and death so deftly, hilariously, poignantly, and thoughtfully. I loved every second of this book. THE PAST AND OTHER THINGS THAT SHOULD STAY BURIED somehow manages to be wholly original yet familiar, simultaneously hilarious and moving, weird and wonderful. This is a book you can’t put down even if you wanted to. Have you been looking for a zombie book that will make you laugh and cry? Look no further than this one, by one of young adult literature’s sharpest talents.” -- Jeff Zentner, Morris Award-winning author of The Serpent King

Get ready, because Hutchinson (The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza, 2018) is going to knock your socks off with this new, deliciously bizarre novel. Dino's parents own a funeral home, so being around dead bodies isn't exactly unusual for him. But when his ex–best friend July dies suddenly and shows up in his basement, it isn't the fact that she's dead that shocks him, but rather the fact that she suddenly wakes up! As the two do their best to figure out what is going on, they embark on a journey to confront their combined past, and their future apart. However, the longer they spend trying to uncover the mystery of July's reanimation, the more fishy things begin to smell—literally. Readers will find themselves captivated both by Dino and July's complicated history and even more complex present, as well as Dino's own journey of self-discovery. In the midst of everything else, Dino and his boyfriend—a sweet, funny, and supportive trans guy—navigate their own relationship against the backdrop of chaos July has brought down into their lives. Gender, sexuality, friendship, life, and death are all sensitively explored in Hutchinson's surreal, new narrative. His intelligent writing will seduce readers with its complex and spunky characters, lively dialogue, offbeat humor, and emotional depth. — Rob Bittner -- Booklist *STARRED REVIEW* ― Oct 15, 2018

Shaun David Hutchinson has delivered another unique young adult novel. The story is told from the alternating perspectives of former best friends, Dino and July. What makes this different from other novels with alternating narration is the fact that July died and has come back from the dead—not as a zombie per se, but she is a decomposing, yet still functioning (except for normal physiological functions like a heartbeat) corpse. Throughout the course of the novel the two work through the issues in their friendship, accept some of their own insecurities, and come to terms with July’s death. As Dino and July work through the mystery of July’s return from the dead, they realize not only is she undead, but death seems to have ceased to exist around the world. The discussion of the larger impact the end of death would have worldwide contrasts with the personal story of Dino and July and is one of the novel’s greatest strengths. Strong, well-developed characters will have readers feeling like they, too, are friends with Dino and July. The novel addresses sexuality, grief, and occasionally references our current political leaders. Comedic relief is provided through July’s progressing physical decomposition. Purchase for most collections serving teens, especially where magical realism is popular. Give to fans of A.S. King and Andrew Smith. Kimberly Hillary, Librarian, Mount Horeb (Wisconsin) High School

Recommended -- School Library Connection ― March April 2019

Gr 8 Up–A brain aneurysm killed July Cooper, but it can’t destroy her bond with Dino DeLuca. July rises from the dead at the funeral home owned by Dino’s family, and though the two teens had been on the outs for the past year, they are drawn together as they attempt to conceal July’s reanimation. What ensues is messy. July’s body is slowly rotting, and the two trade barbed words while untangling why their friendship ended after Dino met his boyfriend, Rafi. Once again, Hutchinson defies genres. This isn’t a ghost story, and July isn’t a zombie, as she frequently points out. But she can’t eat, she has no heartbeat, and until she’s finally laid to rest, nobody else can die. This inventive take on the life-after-death narrative ponders profound truths. It’s the ones who love us the most who can inflict the deepest wounds and hold us back, but even bitter fights can’t extinguish some connections. Like typical adolescents, uncertain Dino and snarky July seem wise beyond their years one moment and maddeningly immature the next, and their journeys to self-discovery will resonate with readers. VERDICT A grotesque, mordantly funny, and tender look at friendship, for fans of Aaron Starmer’s Spontaneous and Adam Silvera’s They Both Die at the End.–Mahnaz Dar, School Library Journal -- School Library Journal STARRED REVIEW ― February 2019

About the Author

Shaun David Hutchinson is the author of numerous books for young adults, including The Past and Other Things That Should Stay BuriedThe Apocalypse of Elena MendozaAt the Edge of the Universe, and We Are the Ants. He also edited the anthologies Violent Ends and Feral Youth and wrote the memoir Brave Face, which chronicles his struggles with depression and coming out during his teenage years. He lives in Seattle, where he enjoys drinking coffee, yelling at the TV, and eating cake. Visit him at ShaunDavidHutchinson.com or on Twitter @ShaunieDarko.

Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (1 March 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 304 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1481498576
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1481498579
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 14 years and up
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.97 x 2.54 x 20.96 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 59 ratings

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
59 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 9 December 2019
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Juergen
5.0 out of 5 stars Ein Geschenk für alle Lebenden
Reviewed in Germany on 24 February 2019
Verified Purchase
Patrick G. Rabon
5.0 out of 5 stars A Quirky Novel of Friendship, Life (and Death), and Determining One's Own Future
Reviewed in the United States on 13 July 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Greg Andree
5.0 out of 5 stars A Friendship Autopsy with a Dead Ex-Best Friend : )
Reviewed in the United States on 14 March 2019
Verified Purchase
A (Mostly) Happy User
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars, Rounded Up
Reviewed in the United States on 22 February 2019
Verified Purchase
💁🏻‍♀️
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is his worst one yet which sucks because he used to be really good
Reviewed in the United States on 10 March 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse