You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Loading recommendations for you
Recommendations for you

Adding to Cart...

Added to Cart

Not Added

Item is in your Cart

View Cart

Not Added

There was a problem adding this item to Cart. Please try again later.
Sorry, we're having trouble showing recommendations right now. Please try again later.
Continue shopping
The Outcasts of Time by [Mortimer, Ian]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Outcasts of Time Kindle Edition

2.0 out of 5 stars 1 rating

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 400 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Amazon Launchpad Watch and Shop
Discover new, innovative, and trending products from emerging brands Watch Now

Product description

Review

'Mortimer’s gift is to turn such unburnished material into observational gold… a delightful book, full of busy research lightly worn, that is as accessible and entertaining a guide as you will find to living in past times' -- Andrew Holgate, The Sunday Times

'Splendidly entertaining... It's like Horrible Histories for grown-ups, and I mean that as a compliment' , Independent

'It's an incredible tour de force, a vivid and page-turning evocation of an age that is long-gone yet has been brought to life again in vibrant and robust fashion thanks to Ian Mortimer's impeccable scholarship and pacy writing' -- Alison Weir

'Ian Mortimer is one of those rare historians who can both bring the past alive and at the same time challenge his readers' preconceptions', Mail on Sunday

Product Description

‘Beautifully written and superbly executed’ Times
'This clever and moving Faustian tale is packed with fascinating historical detail' Express
'A joyous romp around England’s dark past' Suzie Feay, Guardian


From the author of the bestselling The Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain, this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries – living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last.
 
John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.
 
As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out – can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

What readers are saying:
 
‘Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection’ Sara Marsden
 
The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I've ever read’ Ophelia’s Reads

'A fascinating trip through seven centuries of history ... The author has done well to traverse such a sweep of time ... it's a great read and I'd recommend it' Netgalley reviewer, 4 stars

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 5928 KB
  • Print Length: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (15 June 2017)
  • Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01M067W6U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 2.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #226,737 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars
1 customer rating
5 star 0% (0%) 0%
4 star 0% (0%) 0%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star
100%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

1 customer review

25 September 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars 50 reviews
gammyjill
5.0 out of 5 starsBeautifully written...
10 January 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Jean Houston
5.0 out of 5 starsA true masterpiece
4 April 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Jess, Mom of 2
3.0 out of 5 starsA philosophical time travel book about the nature of church and state
25 July 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
John K. Gayley
3.0 out of 5 starsA nice try, but the whole and the sum of the parts don’t add up
7 March 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Stephen Weinberg
4.0 out of 5 starsa history of everyday life
12 April 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful