Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Outcast: Winner of the Costa First Novel Award 2008 by [Jones, Sadie]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Outcast: Winner of the Costa First Novel Award 2008 Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 3 ratings

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 456 pages Word Wise: Enabled Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

"In the tradition of Atonement and Remains of the Day but in her own singularly arresting voice, Sadie Jones conjures up the straight-laced, church-going, secretly abusive middle class of 1950's England. The Outcast is a passionate and deeply suspenseful novel about what happens to those who break the rules, and what happens to those who keep them. I loved reading this wonderful debut." - Margot Livesey

"Set in post-WWII suburban London, this superb debut novel charts the downward spiral and tortured redemption of a young man shattered by loss. . . . Jones's prose is fluid, and Lewis's suffering comes across as achingly real." "Publishers Weekly"
"A confident, suspenseful and affecting first novel, delivered in cool, precise, distinctive prose." "Kirkus
"
"[Sadie Jones] writes with shimmering intensity about Lewis's struggle for redemption. She is particularly strong on atmosphere. . . . Jones uses small, startling phrases to convey depths of passion and information and she can make seemingly innocuous passages radiate beauty." "Sunday Telegraph
"
"Reads like a thriller, the tension and menace built expertly. . . . The two main characters, Lewis and Kit, are skillfully delineated and this is a powerful, promising first novel." "Financial Times" (UK)
"The prose is elegant and spare but the story it reveals is raw and explosive. . . . Devastatingly good." "Daily Mail" (UK)
"A wonderfully assured first novel." "The Guardian
"
"Jones's elegantly written debut novel brings to vivid life both her alienated and damaged protagonist and the small-minded community that condemns him." "The Times" (UK)
"In the tradition of Atonement and Remains Of The Day but in her own singularly arresting voice, Sadie Jones conjures up the straight-laced, church-going, secretly abusive middle class of 1950's England. The Outcast is a passionate and deeply suspenseful novel about what happens to those who break the rules, and what happens to those who keep them. I loved reading this wonderful debut." --Margot Livesey
"An assured voice, a riveting story, and an odd, wrenchingly sympathetic protagonist. I would never have imagined this was a first novel." --Lionel Shriver
"Sadie Jones displays rare skills in her debut novel. The story of a troubled young man in post-WWII suburban London is heartbreaking and wonderful. The book evokes both the best emotions of Catcher in the Rye and the spirit of quiet rebellion of The Razor's Edge, with characters who are well written and real. I love this book." --Brooke Raby, Joseph-Beth Booksellers, Lexington
"Sadie Jones's deliberate pacing and sometimes menacing tone-even if nothing much seems to be happening-provides her tale with its addictive mood. . . . Jones creates such a sense of impending doom that it's nearly unbearable. . . . Fireworks are inevitable. When at last they come, they relieve the pent-up narrative tension quite gloriously, leaving us cheering our bruised outcast." -"Toronto Star"
"Sadie Jones is in total control of the material. . . . With immense compassion, she expertly conveys the flood of relief that comes when a blade cuts through numbness to draw blood and pain. . . . The story is powerful, and the author has big talent." -"NOW "(Toronto)
"An amazingly accomplished first novel . . . Jones has produced a taut coming-of-age novel with fresh flair." -"The Edmonton Journal
"
"An elegant, subtle, haunting novel that stayed with me long after I finished it. Sadie Jones has a long literary future ahead of her." -Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl with a Pearl Earring
"It's not often that a debut novel lands with such poise, grace and artistry, yet laced with a simmering, haunting malevolence. . . . The Outcast is a dark, menacing tale of the hidden, abusive nature ofthe Brit mercantile elite of a half-century ago. It is a taut tale of transgression and hard-won redemption, making Lewis Aldridge an unlikely but strangely likable hero, and by a writer making a muscular debut." -"The Hamilton Spectator"
"Mesmerizing. . . . [the] prose is reminiscent of D.H. Lawrence and full of marvellous touches." -"The Vancouver Sun
"
"Jones recognizes the power of the plain fact of things, and, as do the best practitioners of this style, excels at description when her precision allows implication to flourish in the silences." -"The Globe and Mail"
"[W]hat sets this novel apart is the author's technical skill. Trained as a screenwriter, Jones brings a dramatic arc to every scene, while her restrained prose renders the repression and sublimation at this novel's core into something combustible." -"Georgia Straight
"
"With her lush writing and tantalizing sense of setting and detail, Jones has written a novel that stands apart from rote imitation, and The Outcast offers the welcome promise of a literary career of originality and distinction." -"The Boston Globe"

"Riveting.A superb debut novel about repression, rebellion, and moving on.The tension in THE OUTCAST is palpable and sensuous, beating loudly beneath the tranquil surface of Jones's calm prose, and Lewis never disappoints in his fight for an 'after' that is happy and shame-free." -- Elaina Richardson, O magazine

"An arresting story" -- Washington Post Book World

"A superb debut novel.Jones's prose is fluid, and Lewis's suffering comes across as achingly real." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"One of the more subtle of the.hot debut novelists.this season" -- New York Sun

An arresting story --Washington Post Book World

"An arresting story"--Washington Post Book World

"With her lush writing and tantalizing sense of setting and detail, Jones has written a novel that stands apart from rote imitation, and...offers the welcome promise of a literary career of originality and distinction."--Boston Globe

"Riveting...A superb debut novel about repression, rebellion, and moving on...The tension in THE OUTCAST is palpable and sensuous, beating loudly beneath the tranquil surface of Jones's calm prose, and Lewis never disappoints in his fight for an 'after' that is happy and shame-free."--Elaina Richardson, O magazine

Book Description

CD edition of Sadie Jones's compulsive debut novel of transgression and redemption.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4775 KB
  • Print Length: 456 pages
  • Publisher: Vintage Digital (4 September 2008)
  • Sold by: PRH UK
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0031RSB78
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #135,645 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
3 customer ratings
5 star
44%
4 star
56%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

3 customer reviews

2 November 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 May 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
8 April 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars 53 reviews
Delah
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend
29 August 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Stories and Real Life
5.0 out of 5 stars Gifted author
21 November 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
rugbymurf
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read!
2 July 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Lillian Tanon
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read!
17 July 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
columba
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book
20 May 2013 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful