<Embed>
Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Outcast Hardcover – 7 February 2008

4.4 out of 5 stars 191 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Product details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Chatto & Windus (7 February 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0701181753
  • ISBN-13: 978-0701181758
  • Product Dimensions: 16.2 x 3.3 x 24 cm
  • Boxed-product Weight: 599 g
  • Customer Reviews: 4.4 out of 5 stars191 customer ratings

Product description

Review

"Febrile and atmospheric" (Good Book Guide)

"An assured voice, a riveting story, and an odd, wrenchingly sympathetic protagonist. I would never have imagined this was a first novel." (Lionel Shriver)

"Sadie Jones is an important new voice. She writes in beautiful prose of terrible events, demonstrating how love denied brings brutal consequences. She conjures the repressive social climate of the 1950s with awful accuracy, and explores the hearts and minds of young people with forensic skill. A great stylist and fine storyteller." (Joan Bakewell)

Book Description

'In the tradition of Atonement and Remains of the Day...The Outcast is a passionate and deeply suspenseful novel about what happens to those who break the rules, and what happens to those who keep them.' Margot Livesey

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
191 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
Reviewed in Australia on 2 November 2016
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 4 May 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 8 April 2015
Verified Purchase

Top international reviews

elemel
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a page turner
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 January 2019
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
SperrinGold
4.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory reading for all those who need to get inside the head of a difficult child/adolescent.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 August 2017
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
E. Reed
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, but richly satisfying!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 August 2015
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Marina Livingstone
5.0 out of 5 stars although I should point out that the TV version was an excellent rendition of the book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 August 2015
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
carolyn j
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful stuff
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 August 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Jayceeg
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 May 2017
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Scribbler
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything to me seemed perfect - every page
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 October 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Debs
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent atmosphere created
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 August 2010
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
J. Wells
5.0 out of 5 stars This book bowled me over
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 August 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
sparklehorse
1.0 out of 5 stars Dry as a bone.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 February 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 March 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope for the damaged
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 March 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Malcolm Highfield
4.0 out of 5 stars The great strengh of this novel was its recreation of the ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 September 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Saronie
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read that upset me a bit!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 August 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
L J Dawson
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple and predictable story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 April 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse