$33.44 + FREE Delivery
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Ships from and sold by Book Depository UK.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$37.31
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: The Nile Australia
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Optic Nerve Hardcover – 7 March 2019

4.1 out of 5 stars 16 ratings

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, 7 March 2019
$33.44
$30.43

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Optic Nerve
  • +
  • The Dutch House: Longlisted for the Women's Prize 2020
  • +
  • The Grammarians: A Novel
Total Price: $115.66
Buy the selected items together

Product details

Product description

Review

I was reminded of Berger's Ways of Seeing, enfolded in tender and exuberant personal narratives - it's so sophisticated and fascinating, yet has a Calvinoesque light touch; all the textures and nuances come through without labour. Rigorous and mercurial. -- Claire-Louise Bennett

The prose, in Thomas Bunstead’s translation, is restrained, funny, by turns (and at once) luminous and melancholy… We are left with a profound inquiry into the place and function of art… as remembrance, as joy and consolation, as meaning, as refuge -- Amy Sackville, Guardian

A highly original, piercingly beautiful work, a book you’ll want to savour… Gainza is a writer who feels immediately important -- Johanna Thomas-Corr, Observer

Quietly revelatory, and often fascinatingly so -- David Mills, Sunday Times

When reading The Optic Nerve, works of art are like songs: they carry the excitement and mystery you feel when you stumble upon them. This is the stunning, lucid debut of a writer who finds gold in the most forgotten folds of experience. -- Alan Pauls

Book Description

For fans of Deborah Levy, Olivia Laing and Rachel Cusk, a bold, new, genre-breaking voice on art and female experience

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
16 customer ratings
5 star 64% (64%) 64%
4 star 8% (8%) 8%
3 star 14% (14%) 14%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 14% (14%) 14%
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top international reviews

P. Deans
5.0 out of 5 stars The Reviews for once are Justified
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 February 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Joan Snyder Fernandez
5.0 out of 5 stars Potent page-turner art-lover mix of fiction and memoir
Reviewed in the United States on 24 February 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
G. Dawson
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and compelling
Reviewed in the United States on 8 May 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Bishop Black
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, thought-provoking,...
Reviewed in the United States on 21 May 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Diking77
3.0 out of 5 stars The language is beautiful. A lack of knowledge of art on my part kept me from enjoying and appreciating it more.
Reviewed in the United States on 13 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
ray
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising and interesting
Reviewed in the United States on 10 September 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kyle Chayka
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Novel About Art History
Reviewed in the United States on 5 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Franky63
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't download to kindle.
Reviewed in the United States on 7 June 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Lawrence W Frederick
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased
Reviewed in the United States on 12 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Irene Dahl
5.0 out of 5 stars came on time,
Reviewed in the United States on 29 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse