$20.20
& FREE Delivery on orders over $39.00 . Details
This item will be released on August 13, 2020.
Pre-order now.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Optic Nerve Paperback – 13 August 2020

4.1 out of 5 stars 16 ratings

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$20.20
$20.20
Pre-order Price Guarantee. Details

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Pre-order Price Guarantee! Order now and if the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Offered by Amazon AU. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Product details

  • Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: VINTAGE ARROW - MASS MARKET (13 August 2020)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1784707538
  • ISBN-13: 978-1784707538
  • Product Dimensions: 0.1 x 0.1 x 0.1 cm
  • Boxed-product Weight: 503 g
  • Customer Reviews: 4.1 out of 5 stars16 customer ratings

Product description

Review

I was reminded of Berger's Ways of Seeing, enfolded in tender and exuberant personal narratives - it's so sophisticated and fascinating, yet has a Calvinoesque light touch; all the textures and nuances come through without labour. Rigorous and mercurial. (Claire-Louise Bennett)

The prose, in Thomas Bunstead’s translation, is restrained, funny, by turns (and at once) luminous and melancholy… We are left with a profound inquiry into the place and function of art… as remembrance, as joy and consolation, as meaning, as refuge (Amy Sackville Guardian)

A highly original, piercingly beautiful work, a book you’ll want to savour… Gainza is a writer who feels immediately important (Johanna Thomas-Corr Observer)

Quietly revelatory, and often fascinatingly so (David Mills Sunday Times)

When reading The Optic Nerve, works of art are like songs: they carry the excitement and mystery you feel when you stumble upon them. This is the stunning, lucid debut of a writer who finds gold in the most forgotten folds of experience. (Alan Pauls)

Book Description

For fans of Deborah Levy, Olivia Laing and Rachel Cusk, a bold, new, genre-breaking voice on art and female experience

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
16 customer ratings
5 star 64% (64%) 64%
4 star 8% (8%) 8%
3 star 14% (14%) 14%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 14% (14%) 14%
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top international reviews

P. Deans
5.0 out of 5 stars The Reviews for once are Justified
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 February 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Joan Snyder Fernandez
5.0 out of 5 stars Potent page-turner art-lover mix of fiction and memoir
Reviewed in the United States on 24 February 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
G. Dawson
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and compelling
Reviewed in the United States on 8 May 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Bishop Black
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, thought-provoking,...
Reviewed in the United States on 21 May 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Diking77
3.0 out of 5 stars The language is beautiful. A lack of knowledge of art on my part kept me from enjoying and appreciating it more.
Reviewed in the United States on 13 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
ray
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising and interesting
Reviewed in the United States on 10 September 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kyle Chayka
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Novel About Art History
Reviewed in the United States on 5 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Franky63
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't download to kindle.
Reviewed in the United States on 7 June 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Lawrence W Frederick
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased
Reviewed in the United States on 12 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Irene Dahl
5.0 out of 5 stars came on time,
Reviewed in the United States on 29 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse