Buy new:
$32.98
In stock.
US imports may differ from local products. Additional terms apply. Learn More.

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions, or plugs (you may require an adapter).
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store
$$32.98 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$32.98
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon US
Sold by Amazon US
Ships from
Amazon US
Sold by
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$73.00
+ $11.08 Delivery
Sold by: CaliforniaBooks
Sold by: CaliforniaBooks
(12 ratings)
67% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Operator [Large Print] Paperback – Large Print, 23 March 2020

4.0 out of 5 stars 301 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback, Large Print, 23 March 2020
$32.98
$32.98

Enhance your purchase

Save on selected Bestselling Fiction Books
View our curated selection of books. Click to explore.

Frequently bought together

  • The Operator [Large Print]
  • +
  • The Social Graces
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
These items are shipped from and sold by different sellers.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

A compelling debut novel.--Minneapolis Star Tribune

A perfect evocation of small town America, complete with all its bitchy rivalry, petty snobberies, secret affairs and a few seismic scandals.--Sunday Mirror

Berg's debut novel captures the plucky spirit of a 1950's telephone operator, the charm of a Midwest small town, and the secrets that threaten to change both of them forever . . . . Fans of Fannie Flagg or Katerina Bivald's The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend will soak up the small town flavor.--Booklist

Funny, sweet, secretive, and full of fascinating 1930s, '40s, and '50s period details. . . . A poignant look at life in a small town with its nosy neighbors, thorny families, imperfect romances, scandalous pasts, and gratifyingly just desserts. Nothing is as simple--nor as dreadful--as it seems. --Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author

In this well-plotted comic drama of small-town life, Berg combines the technicolour gloss of a Cary Grant film with the humdrum humour of Garrison Keillor. She keeps the surprises coming right until the end. --Daily Mail (UK)

With great humor and insight, The Operator by Gretchen Berg delivers a vivid look inside the heads and hearts of a group of housewives and pokes at the absurdities of 1950s America, a simpler time that was far from simple. Think 'The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel' in the suburbs -- with delicious turns of jealousy, infidelity, bigotry, and embezzlement thrown in for good measure. The Operator is irresistible!--Kathryn Stockett, author of the New York Times bestselling novel The Help

"Berg's storytelling is warm, sympathetic and witty. . . . There are more than enough quotable lines to fill a couple of reviews."--Kirkus Reviews

"I finished reading The Operator in an unstoppable rush and it was every bit as glorious, gossipy, delicious, and perfect as I'd hoped. Absolutely heaven!"--Jill Mansell, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Maybe This Time

"The Operator is a fun, light and intriguing story, [with] several edge-of-your-seat moments . . . Berg does succeed at making the reader want to keep turning the pages to find out Vivian's big secret - as well as the consequences when all is revealed."--Associated Press

"[W]hat began as an unassuming story about life in a small town turns into an exploration of identity and family in 1950s Ohio. . . . highlights the diversity of life experiences often overlooked in recollections of the time. This original look at Midwestern life is recommended."--Historical Novel Society

About the Author

Gretchen Berg was born on the East Coast, raised in the Midwest, and spent a number of years in the Pacific Northwest. She has taught English in South Korea and in Northern Iraq and has traveled to all the other continents. A graduate of Iowa State University, she lives in Chicago, Illinois. The Operator is her first novel.


Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ HarperCollins - US; Large type / Large print edition (23 March 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 480 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0062978942
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0062978943
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 15.24 x 2.74 x 22.86 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.0 out of 5 stars 301 ratings

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
301 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 50 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 24 March 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 9 May 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 17 February 2021
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

LJBentley
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but it didn't blow me away
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 May 2020
Verified Purchase
Courtney
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious story!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 August 2021
Verified Purchase
P. Rowland
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 April 2020
Verified Purchase
Bucketlist
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
Reviewed in Canada on 20 June 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
IWFIcon
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 April 2020
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )