Buy new:
$14.00
RRP: $22.99

Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
Save: $8.99 (39%)
In stock.
[{"displayPrice":"$14.00","priceAmount":14.00,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"14","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"00","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"BZzHImtiad1b70zdnCA7z54vPp8Kr2QNoSE1RA5%2F5ICc99Qs%2BCiBHvCF46tiTcylpQ39wdaNk6kluGHQtWWI%2BzzDlXQQ3qGAaWLNaUqOT81Rp9VkOrsLTz%2BeUEQWCiGh35bmeTxJCM86Au9SkJAZZroKNg%2FHE%2BkQ","locale":"en-AU","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$14.00 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$14.00
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
Share <Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$31.00
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: The Nile Australia
Sold by: The Nile Australia
(5267 ratings)
85% positive over last 12 months
Only 3 left in stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Only a Monster: 1 Paperback – 1 February 2022

4.3 out of 5 stars 357 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$14.00
$14.00 $8.48

Enhance your purchase

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • Only a Monster: 1
  • +
  • Daughter of the Moon Goddess: The most anticipated debut fantasy of 2022 and an instant Sunday Times Top 5 bestseller: Book 1
  • +
  • This Woven Kingdom: the brand new YA fantasy series from the author of TikTok Made Me Buy It sensation, Shatter Me
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

'Vanessa Len's Only a Monster is captivating and unique and - dare I say it - utterly monstrous (in the best possible way). This engrossing debut will have YA readers longing to steal time just so they can devour the pages over and over again!' - Lynette Noni

'An absolute page-turner.
Only a Monster paints another vivid world inside the one we know, and uses a deft hand to bring it utterly alive. Vanessa Len blurs the age-old lines between good or evil, hero or monster, in the most captivating way.'- Chloe Gong, author of THESE VIOLENT DELIGHTS

'I thought I knew roughly what to expect. I was wrong. Len's story and characters never went where I anticipated, and when things did take more familiar roads, the path was filled with so many zigzags and back-turns that the familiar became unexpected and thrilling. It shocked me and broke my heart. Intensely satisfying.' - The Saturday Paper

'One of the most powerful debuts of the year. This awesome young adult fantasy book is incredibly addictive, and you will fall in love with its epic story and its morally grey characters. An exceptional read!' -
The Canberra Weekly

'Len is an accomplished storyteller. Her plotting is rich and suspenseful with foreshadowing, twists and turns, and pacing that builds through enthralling set pieces to an unforeseen and astounding high-stakes climax.' -
The Weekend Australian

'
Only a Monster is a pacey, dark, compelling read. It's YA at its very best. I can't wait for the next book.' - The AU Review

'Monstrous fun; time-travelling, high-stakes enjoyment. A breakout author worth keeping your eye on.' -
The Chronicle

'This read isn't like your regular YA fantasy romance books. The explosive ending will have you staring at the ceiling for days.' - Pedestrian

'An intriguing urban fantasy that is sure to appeal to fans of Sarah J Maas and Cassandra Clare. The world-building is impressive and will immerse the reader in a world of monsters. No doubt readers will be eagerly awaiting further additions to this proposed trilogy.' -
Books & Publishing

'Mind-bending, heart-wrenching, and unputdownable! Don't feel bad if this book tricks you into rooting for the monster instead of the hero. Vanessa Len has written a masterful debut novel-I loved the time-travel, the star crossed romance, and the monsters.' - Stephanie Garber, author of the CARAVAL series

'With a pace that will leave you breathless,
Only a Monster introduces a captivating new voice in fantasy with a dynamic story that blurs the lines between hero and monster.' - Hafsah Faizal NYT bestselling author of WE HUNT THE FLAME + A TEMPEST OF TEA

'
Only A Monster is a wonderfully clever and intriguing take on the classic tale of hero versus monster. Vanessa Len has crafted a rich and immersive world filled with unique magic, thrilling action, and a heart-wrenching star-crossed romance. A marvellous and twisty debut that will pull you in right from the start!' - June CL Tan, author of JADE FIRE GOLD

'Darkly delicious fun. If you've been looking for your newest YA urban fantasy obsession - you've found it' Natasha Ngan,
NYT bestselling author of GIRLS OF PAPER AND FIRE

'A fabulous start to a phenomenal new series that reminded me of why I first fell in love with YA. Fast-paced and full of clever, monstrous characters you can't help but root for,
Only A Monster is a book that should be on everyone's TBR. I'm already dying to get my hands on the sequel to find out what happens next!' Adalyn Grace, NYT bestselling author of ALL THE STARS AND TEETH

About the Author

Vanessa Len is an Australian author of Chinese-Malaysian and Maltese heritage. An educational editor, she has worked on everything from language learning programs to STEM resources, to professional learning for teachers. Vanessa is a graduate of the Clarion Workshop in San Diego, and she lives in Melbourne.

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ A & U Children (1 February 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 416 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1760878316
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1760878313
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 13 - 18 years
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 357 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Vanessa Len is Australian author of Chinese-Malaysian and Maltese heritage. An educational editor, she has worked on everything from language learning programs to STEM resources, to professional learning for teachers. Vanessa is a graduate of the Clarion Workshop in San Diego, and she lives in Melbourne.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
357 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 26 March 2022
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong emotionally compelling fantasy, original ideas, can't wait for the next one
Reviewed in Australia on 26 March 2022
It's hard to know exactly how to describe this story except that it's powerful and unique and very very good.

Joan is a history nerd and volunteers at a historic house where she meets Nick who also loves history, or so it seems. What she doesn't know is that Nick is hiding his true nature from her and Joan's family have hid their true nature from Joan for her entire life. She's about to go on her first date with Nick when her powers slam into her for the first time and she loses time. Trying to figure out what's going on and who she is and trying to do the right thing despite everything Joan had known about herself being wrong will take most of this book and probably the next two in the series.

I had no clue where this story was going which is just how I like it. The story was unique and complex and Ms Len has built a great world that I can't wait to be immersed in again.

The ethical questions Joan struggles with because of her newly discovered powers are compelling and heartbreaking. And while the blurb says that Joan is the monster I think both Joan and Nick have monster and hero elements in equal measure. And the conflict within themselves is the thing that makes the story amazing.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 13 February 2022
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 17 May 2022
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 21 March 2022
Verified Purchase
Customer image
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality- unreadable
Reviewed in Australia on 21 March 2022
Product arrived with black ink throughout some pages so I can’t read the book.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
Reviewed in Australia on 9 February 2022
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 1 February 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Sarah
5.0 out of 5 stars My new favourite series!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 March 2022
Verified Purchase
Laura
4.0 out of 5 stars Great start to a new series
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 February 2022
Verified Purchase
Frn
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2022
Verified Purchase
Lollie
5.0 out of 5 stars wow
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 February 2022
Verified Purchase
Kwinter
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Fantasy
Reviewed in Germany on 20 February 2022
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse