$24.20
This item will be released on June 8, 2021.
Pre-order now.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


One Way Street: A gritty and addictive crime thriller. For fans of Val McDermid and Ian Rankin Paperback – 8 June 2021

4.6 out of 5 stars 352 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$24.20
$24.20
Pre-order Price Guarantee. Details
FREE delivery on first order.

Save on selected Penguin Classics and Popular Penguin books.
View our selection and latest deals. Click to explore.
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Save up to 50% off RRP on select top books
PLUS, free expedited delivery. T&C's apply. See more

Product details

  • Publisher : Quercus; 1st edition (8 June 2021)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 400 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 178747917X
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1787479173
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 352 ratings

Product description

Review

An impressive debut, offering unsentimental insights into the everyday lives of people who end up on the streets - Sunday Times

The characters are great and the descriptions of life on the streets are heartbreakingly convincing - Literary Review

Solid plotting, strong characterisation and a likable and sympathetic protagonist add up to an assured debut - The Guardian

Wood has done his research to create a credible and compassionate tale of society's most marginalised. Crime fans will welcome the arrival of Sherlock Homeless - Sunday Times Crime Club (Star Pick)

The world that Trevor Wood created in The Man on the Street was already rich and vibrant, but it comes even more alive in One Way Street, a triumphant sequel in which we learn more about Jimmy's great friend, Deano. Brimming over with soul and compassion, the tension builds towards its gripping conclusion. Can't recommend it more highly - Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange

Another gritty yet compassionate crime novel set in the underbelly of Newcastle. Fab! - Philippa East, author of Little White Lies

An assured, gripping novel with a fresh take on the genre. I loved every minute of this book - Susan Allott, author of The Silence

A unique protagonist ... a smart, thought-provoking crime read with bags of heart and humanity - Mari Hannah, author of the DCI Kate Daniels series

From the Publisher

Trevor Wood has lived in Newcastle for twenty-five years and considers himself an adopted Geordie. He's a successful playwright who has also worked as a journalist and spin-doctor for the City Council. Prior to that he served in the Royal Navy for sixteen years. Trevor holds an MA in Creative Writing (Crime Fiction) from UEA. The Man on the Street, his first novel, was published to widespread critical acclaim and won the 2020 CWA New Blood Dagger. One Way Street is his second novel.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
352 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 15 December 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Ania
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 January 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Lagoon
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard hitting and tightly plotted.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 November 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jane S
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent (again!)
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 November 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Victoria Dowd
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, gripping thriller. An addictive series.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 November 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Rachel
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, complex and warm-hearted
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 December 2020
Verified Purchase