You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $25.16
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Not on Fire, but Burning: A Novel by [Greg Hrbek]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Not on Fire, but Burning: A Novel Kindle Edition

3.6 out of 5 stars 33 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$25.16
Hardcover
$94.24

Length: 274 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Review

A New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice
An NPR Best Book of 2015
Winner of the 2016 Lascaux Prize in Fiction

"Hrbek's prose is sharp and trenchant, his voice remarkably complex yet assured, and this novel is an impressive achievement: a narrative that is changing even as it is still taking place, still being reshaped by the news, by our collective and individual memories, and by the very consequences still unfolding from the event itself."
--The New York Times

"Masterful ... A strong, suspenseful novel, rich in its language, clear eyed in its characters and propulsive in its plotting. Full of ambiguity, yet precise in its construction, "Not on Fire, But Burning" is a shining example of post-9/11, pre-next-disaster storytelling."
--The San Francisco Chronicle

"With Not on Fire, but Burning, Hrbek has crafted something audacious: A novel that operates simultaneously as apocalyptic alarmism, brain-bending quantum fiction, character-driven drama and gripping mystery. It's as poignant as it is perplexing and profound."
--NPR

"It is impossible to read Greg Hrbek's brand new speculative fiction at this moment in time without thinking about all the Facebook posts in your feed about Paris, terrorism and Muslims. Not on Fire, But Burning is simultaneously a dark look at our possible near future and a hopeful one. The book had me in tears by the end."
--CBC News

"Not on Fire, but Burning reads like a fever dream -- spectacular, seductive, eerie, and surreal...Hrbek's prose is hypnotic, his abrupt POV pivots are both dizzying and delightful, and his overarching meta-speculative style is utterly entrancing. Fans of Delillo, Atwood, or just great, innovative fiction, this one's for you."
--Buzzfeed, 5 Great Books to Read in October

"Brilliantly uncanny and read-it-under-your-desk-at-work suspenseful... You can approach the book as an allegory for the long-term aftermath of 9/11, or as a good, creepy read--it holds up beautifully on both fronts."
--GQ, 7 New Books to Celebrate the Arrival of Reading Season

"Gripping and unnerving, Not on Fire, but Burning is a brilliant critique on the prejudices and fears of the post-9/11 world."
--BuzzFeed, 19 Awesome New Books You Need To Read This Fall

"A strange and beautiful genre-busting novel about danger and memory."
--Elizabeth McCracken, Miami Herald

"As [Hrbek's] characters uneasily navigate each other and their new world, they grapple with the same issues and prejudices of our current post-9/11 instability."
--KQED, 10 Fall Books to Anticipate

"Hrbek beautifully depicts the very human longing for a better reality. In analyzing the burning angst and strife within a single human decision, Hrbek highlights the responsibility of emotion and thought in determining those decisions. We only have our very future dangling over the fire."
--PopMatters

"Like the best speculative fiction, [Hrbek's] 2038 America could serve as a warped reflection of our own time, probing post-9/11 anxieties."
--Omaha World-Herald, 8 Must-Read Books

"Brilliant . . . It's troubling and beautiful, bold and compelling, a brainy, heartfelt page-turner"
--Elizabeth McCracken

"Not On Fire, but Burning is a mystery, a thriller, a sharp critique of contemporary culture, and an explosive family drama all in one. Hrbek gives us that greatest of literary gifts: the inability to do anything but keep turning pages."
--Ron Currie, Jr., author of Everything Mattters

"Audacious, masterful, fresh, and compelling. I couldn't stop reading, and I couldn't stop questioning what I knew."
--V. V. Ganeshananthan, author of Love Marriage

"Hrbek...may be poised to be the next indie breakout."
--The Millions, Most Anticipated Books of 2015

"[Hrbek's] engagement with themes of loss and recovery and his vibrantly lyrical prose style reach a peak in this dark, allusive fantasy, which seems intended as a metaphor for the anxieties still lurking in our post-9/11 universe."
--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"A profound cautionary tale, a vivid and often deeply unnerving reminder that our choices carry real and lasting consequences."
--Publishers Weekly

"Hrbek delivers a captivating story filled with nuance. Every chapter brings a surprise, and Hrbek has real knack for stunning, unforgettable images and turns of phrase. Not on Fire, But Burning boldly questions America's moral standing since 9/11, and brings to life the horrific consequences of ignorance, fear and hate."
--Bookpage

Praise for The Hindenburg Crashes Nightly

"Provocative . . . Hrbek writes with an appealing lyricism, and he knows how to deliver a bravura scene."
--The New York Times Book Review

"Irresistible."
--The Atlanta Journal Constitution

"Sensuous prose and vital characters . . . magnetic, difficult, strange and well worth the read."
--Publishers Weekly

"Subtle, inventive, moving."
--Kirkus Reviews

"A compelling story of obsessed passion."
--San Francisco Examiner --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

"GREG HRBEK won the James Jones First Novel award for his book The Hindenberg Crashes Nightly. His short fiction has appeared in Harper s Magazine and numerous literary journals, and in The Best American Short Stories anthology. He is writer in residence at Skidmore College." --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN : B00TCI4SAE
  • Publisher : Melville House (29 September 2015)
  • Language : English
  • File size : 3346 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 274 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN : 1612194532
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.6 out of 5 stars 33 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5
33 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 8 October 2015
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Rebekah
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 October 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Alysson Oliveira
5.0 out of 5 stars É o fim do mundo – mas de qual deles?
Reviewed in Brazil on 14 January 2017
Verified Purchase
Tom at Amazon
5.0 out of 5 stars Theoretical Physics and the Novel, Some Thoughts
Reviewed in the United States on 2 January 2016
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
switterbug/Betsey Van Horn
4.0 out of 5 stars "Like something cosmic come at high speed through the atmosphere..."
Reviewed in the United States on 7 November 2015
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
SpecialK
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book
Reviewed in the United States on 26 October 2015
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse