You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $14.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
The Night Tiger: The Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick by [Choo, Yangsze]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Night Tiger: The Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$14.99

Length: 496 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $4.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Winter Sale
Up to 70% off on over 300 Kindle Books. Sale ends on 31st August 2019 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Review

Praise for The Night Tiger

A Most Anticipated Book (Glamour, Real Simple, Parade, Bustle, BookPage, Goodreads, PopSugar, BookRiot, Refinery29, Tor.com, HelloGiggles)
USA Today Best Books of the Year So Far
Refinery29: A Best Book of the Year (So Far)
National Geographic: 13 New Books for Spring Break Trips

"This is the kind of book that when you read it, you really are transported back to that time and place... [Choo has] captured, in a very atmospheric way, the time period and the superstitions [of colonial Malaysia in the 1930s]. It's a pretty wonderful book." --Nancy Pearl, NPR's Morning Edition

"Richly complex...Gorgeous...Transport[s] us into a colonial world we more often see from the view of the occupier, in this transcendent tale about twins who share no blood, mythology and superstition, sibling rivalry, loyalty, forbidden love and identity." --San Francisco Chronicle

"A mesmerizing tale of murder, romance, and superstition....So vividly told, you can practically smell the oleander blossoms outside Acton's house. This Night Tiger is worth a prowl." --USA Today

"A book for fans of Isabel Allende and for those who love a murder mystery with a beautiful backdrop." --Glamour

"Fans of Isabel Allende will likely soar through Yangsze Choo's The Night Tiger at a breakneck pace, so you might want to clear your schedule before sitting down to read it." --PopSugar

"So engrossing you could spend a day reading this lush historical novel without staring at your phone once... A sweeping novel with something for everyone -- and incredible writing." --Refinery29

"A bravura performance." --Washington Independent Review of Books

"A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world...Choo weaves her research in with a feather-light touch, and readers will be so caught up in the natural and supernatural intrigue that the serious themes here about colonialism and power dynamics, about gender and class, are absorbed with equal delicacy." --Kirkus (starred review)

"A work of incredible beauty...Astoundingly captivating and striking in its portrayal of love, betrayal, and death, The Night Tiger is a transcendent story of courage and connection." --Booklist (starred review)

"Mythical creatures, conversations with the dead, lucky numbers, Confucian virtues, and forbidden love provide the backdrop to Choo's superb murder mystery. Mining the rich setting of colonial Malaysia, Choo wonderfully combines a Holmes-esque plot with Chinese lore." --Publishers Weekly (starred and boxed review)

"[Choo] presents complex characters and multilayered stories in a vivid setting that coalesce into a richly evocative and mesmerizing tale in which myths and folklore intertwine in daily life. For fans of Kate Mosse or Isabel Allende." --Library Journal

"Complex, ambitious...a little bit magical." --Shelf Awareness

"Yangsze Choo's lush writing will appeal to all kinds of readers." --HelloGiggles

"A lushly detailed novel imbued with folklore, mystery, and romance." --National Geographic

"...A fascinating and compelling story, deftly told. A story that is interesting both culturally and historically, while also being an intensely personal exploration of two very different people struggling to find their way in a difficult world that has very stringent expectations of them with little or no room for failure. The characters are both recognizable and memorable, and the resolution...will keep readers guessing and turning the pages until the very last one." --Los Angeles Public Library


Praise for The Ghost Bride

"Sumptuous...Unexpected...So full of longing, the pages practically sigh as you turn each one." --Oprah.com (Book of the Week)

"From whodunit to ghost story to coming-of-age to romance, there is enough plot to fill several more novels. But the beguiling tale...makes you hope Choo is the author who writes all of them." --USA Today

"A captivating love triangle with echoes of traditional Asian myths." --Good Housekeeping (August Book Pick)

"Impressive...Takes readers on one of the wildest rides since Alice fell down the rabbit hole." --San Jose Mercury News

Product Description

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

'The two main characters will captivate you as their paths are destined to cross... you won't be able to put this one down!'
Reese Witherspoon

'I was willingly propelled into a fascinating and exotic world'
Daily Mail

They say a tiger that devours too many humans can take the form of a man and walk among us...

In 1930s colonial Malaya, a dissolute British doctor receives a surprise gift of an eleven-year-old Chinese houseboy. Sent as a bequest from an old friend, young Ren has a mission: to find his dead master's severed finger and reunite it with his body. Ren has forty-nine days, or else his master's soul will roam the earth forever.

Ji Lin, an apprentice dressmaker, moonlights as a dancehall girl to pay her mother's debts. One night, Ji Lin's dance partner leaves her with a gruesome souvenir that leads her on a crooked, dark trail.

As time runs out for Ren's mission, a series of unexplained deaths occur amid rumours of tigers who turn into men. In their journey to keep a promise and discover the truth, Ren and Ji Lin's paths will cross in ways they will never forget.

Captivating and lushly written, The Night Tiger explores the rich world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and unexpected love. Woven through with Chinese folklore and a tantalizing mystery, this novel is a page-turner of the highest order.

'An exuberant medley of magic, romance and weirdness'
The Times

'[A] highly imaginative and a spellbinding read'
Woman's Weekly


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2302 KB
  • Print Length: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus (12 February 2019)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07DNFT938
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #22,623 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

4 customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

23 March 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 April 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
28 May 2019
Format: Kindle Edition
TOP 50 REVIEWER
16 February 2019
Format: Kindle Edition

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 195 reviews
Chris C
5.0 out of 5 starsWarning: this takes a tremendous amount of willpower to put down
15 February 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
74 people found this helpful
Doug D.
5.0 out of 5 starsReally, Really Good Story
15 March 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
33 people found this helpful
Tokyo Sugino
5.0 out of 5 starsA Master Storyteller
22 February 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
23 people found this helpful
lauren sylvan
5.0 out of 5 starsaddictive!
16 February 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Stephanie Prichard
5.0 out of 5 starsCharming, intriguing
1 March 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful