Digital List Price: $7.69
Kindle Price: $5.18

Save $2.51 (33%)

includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

New Pompeii by [Godfrey, Daniel]
Kindle App Ad

New Pompeii Kindle Edition


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.18

Length: 352 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Review

"Deliciously Readable" - Barnes & Noble

"A story so irresistibly entertaining, it should be accompanied by a bottomless bucket of popcorn" - Barnes & Noble Sci Fi blog

"A perfect replica of Pompeii has been built in a formerly Soviet central Asian republic. But this isn't some grand-scale historical re-enactment venue. The town has been populated with the residents of the real Pompeii who have been snatched from their homes just before Vesuvius erupted and dragged forward in time using cutting-edge technology. The corporation responsible intends to exploit their creation for all it's worth, but things, of course, do not go to plan. The Pompeiians are smarter and less biddable than anticipated and have no wish to be exhibits or reality-TV fodder.

"Fascinating, cleverly wrought, intelligent and occasionally brutal, New Pompeii is a thrillingly original take on the time travel genre." - Tim Lebbon, New York Times bestseller

"An exuberant, high-concept thriller that brings ancient Rome crashing into the present day. Smart, inventive and action-packed." - Tom Harper, bestselling author of The Lost Temple

"That rare science fiction novel that reads like a thriller - fast-paced and intricate. Godfrey has crafted an astonishing debut, and I can't wait to see where his story goes next." - Alan Smale, Sidewise Award winner

"An impressive debut. A smart, intriguing thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton and Philip K. Dick." - Gareth L. Powell, BSFA Award winner

"A first class debut. I couldn't put it down!" - Adam Christopher, author of Empire State

"A cleverly woven tale of ancient Romans, time travel, and ageless power struggles, which builds to a stirring conclusion." - Janet Edwards, author of Earth Flight

"I was completely engulfed within this book, unable to put it down for days straight. New Pompeii has all of the elements that every Sci-Fi fan would want" - Gamers Sphere

"You better pick-up this book" - Retrenders

"Sci-fi entertainment at its best and most fluent" - Rising Shadow

"New Pompeii is part sci-fi, part historical thriller. I've yet to read a novel that balances both genres so well." - Geekmundo

"New Pompeii is a fast-paced, intense thriller, reminding me most of Tom Clancy's page-turners, where the technology matters, but not nearly as much as what people choose to do with it." - Fangirl Nation

"Much like Crichton, Godfrey seems most at home delving into the nerdy details of his thought experiment, bringing to life the world of the Pompeiians with a convincing degree of historical accuracy" - Shelf Awareness

"A treat for fans of well-thought out science fiction. There are twists and turns that are dizzying but it's an enjoyable ride." - Impedimenta Magazine

"As a graduate with one of my degrees focused in Ancient Roman History, I was pleased the look at Pompeii and Roman society was well-researched, with enough historical facts to make the characters and setting believable without bogging down the narrative." - Borg.com

Product Description

Some time in the near future, energy giant NovusPart has developed technology to transport people from the past to the present day, and they have just moved the lost population of Pompeii to a replica city. Historian Nick Houghton is brought in to study the Romans, but he soon realises that NovusPart are underestimating their captives. The Romans may be ignorant of modern technology, but they once ruled an empire. The stage is set for the ultimate clash of cultures...

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1235 KB
  • Print Length: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Titan Books (21 June 2016)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01F2Z2B0O
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #118,635 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

There are no local customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.4 out of 5 stars 21 reviews
Beatrix Kiddo
4.0 out of 5 starsVery cool take on a time travel/alternate reality story
30 December 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
L. Tynan
4.0 out of 5 starsHighly recommended!
13 January 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Gerald H. Hyndman
4.0 out of 5 starsWalk into the past
20 October 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsExcellent read
22 January 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
John Dean
5.0 out of 5 starsA good read
20 January 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?