$19.47
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
Never Coming Back has been added to your Cart
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Never Coming Back Paperback – 9 October 2018

4.5 out of 5 stars 40 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
$19.47
$19.47
FREE delivery on orders over $39.00 shipped by Amazon.

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Never Coming Back
  • +
  • What I Leave Behind
Total Price: $64.34
Buy the selected items together

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now

Product details

  • ISBN-13 : 978-1328502025
  • ISBN-10 : 1328502023
  • Paperback : 272 pages
  • Product Dimensions : 13.49 x 1.8 x 20.32 cm
  • Publisher : Mariner Books (9 October 2018)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 40 ratings

Product description

Review

A Midwest Indie Bestseller

"This sensitive novel...offers readers an intimate and painfully aware portrait of the debilitating effects of Alzheimer's on its victims as well as the people who must watch their tormented loved ones tumble into the disease's terrible abyss...Never Coming Back, [is] a novel about profound sadness, insurmountable loss, and the possibility of allowing new people into your life."--Star Tribune

"[A] quietly powerful novel....Fans of Sara Baume, Holly Chamberlin, and Francesca Segal will appreciate McGhee's magnetic prose and her ability to pack a richly detailed story into a slim novel. Atmospheric and introspective, Never ComingBack will resonate with those who have lost a parent to illness or estrangement but still have questions they'd like to be answered."--Booklist

"A luminous novel....the author's gift for subtly poetic language and her believable dialogue make Clara's journey worth following. McGhee has an almost musical ability to repeat the themes of her novel with enough variation to keep them fresh. Fierce, complicated characters appear to grow out of the severe Adirondack landscape, and McGhee swerves away from sentimentality in addressing the relentlessly changing relationship at the novel's core." --Kirkus Reviews

"[A] poignant meditation on the relationship between a mother and daughter....Though this well-written story will appeal to a broad range of readers for its rich characterization, mothers and daughters will especially find Clara's and Tamar's story moving and memorable."--Publishers Weekly

"McGhee's own gift for words takes you to the very heart of this tense yet tender relationship. Through vivid and meandering dips into memory, McGhee draws us into Clara's rapidly shifting thoughts as she tries to piece together previous assumptions with new discoveries."--BookPage

"McGhee's latest novel...not only tackles the complexities of a mother-daughter relationship and the unresolved conflicts that can have lasting effects on both women, it also informs readers about how Alzheimer's can quickly and cruelly ravage a person."--Library Journal

"Never Coming Back is a deeply moving exploration of growing up and growing old, and the ties that bind parents and children - and the mysteries that sometimes keep us apart."--Chris Bohjalian, best-selling author of The Sleepwalker, Midwives, and The Sandcastle Girls

"When a parent is involved, the journey of a caregiver can take the mind back through all the bumps and beauties of a complicated relationship and the heart and soul into new and challenging territory. Alison McGhee captures this--all the nuances and conflicts--in her beautifully written novel. Much to praise here but it is the remarkable characterization of the mother, the indomitable Tamar, who McGhee paints with such feeling, that lingers for me. A wise, humane book and a very special novelist."--George Hodgman, New York Times best-selling author of Bettyville

"Alison McGhee returns to the landscape of the Adirondacks in this beautifully devastating novel about the things that remain unspoken between parent and child. Clara Winter's need to know what lies on the other side of her mother's Alzheimer's-induced silence drives this book toward its ferocious conclusion. Never Coming Back is an exquisite book, brimful with nostalgia, love, regret, humor, yearning--and unforgettable prose."--Julie Schumacher, author of Dear Committee Members

About the Author

Alison McGhee writes for all ages in all forms, from novels to poems to books for children. Her best-selling novel Shadow Baby was a Today Show Book Club pick, and her picture book for adults, Someday, was a #1 New York Times bestseller. Her work has been translated into more than twenty languages, and she has won many fellowships and awards, including four Minnesota Book Awards, the Geisel medal, a MacDowell residency, and several American Library Association awards. Alison ?has three grown children and lives a semi-nomadic life in Minneapolis, Vermont and California.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
40 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

TOP 50 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 27 January 2018

Top reviews from other countries

Sunny
4.0 out of 5 stars How would you deal with Alzheimer's in your family?
Reviewed in the United States on 30 March 2018
Verified Purchase
JO
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, insightful, compelling, human
Reviewed in the United States on 30 October 2017
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
grandmajeb58
5.0 out of 5 stars How to deal with the loss of a loved one
Reviewed in the United States on 21 March 2020
Verified Purchase
Olga Rebello
5.0 out of 5 stars Painstakingly beautiful!!
Reviewed in the United States on 18 October 2017
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Lynda Thompson
5.0 out of 5 stars A,Life Well Lived
Reviewed in the United States on 2 November 2018
Verified Purchase