$20.79
  • + $6.99 Delivery
In stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon US.
Naamah has been added to your Cart
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$34.10
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Near Fine_Books
Add to Cart
$34.31
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Add to Cart
$36.34
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Wordery AU

Loading recommendations for you
Recommendations for you

Adding to Cart...

Added to Cart

Not Added

Item is in your Cart

View Cart

Not Added

There was a problem adding this item to Cart. Please try again later.
Sorry, we're having trouble showing recommendations right now. Please try again later.
Continue shopping
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Naamah Hardcover – 9 Apr 2019

3.6 out of 5 stars 29 ratings

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$20.79
$20.79
International Product from outside Australia

Amazon Launchpad Watch and Shop
Discover new, innovative, and trending products from emerging brands Watch Now

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions.
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Limited Time Offer: Prime members get FREE Expedited delivery on all Prime eligible orders from Amazon US. T&Cs and Prime membership fee apply. Learn more
click to open popover

Amazon Launchpad Watch and Shop
Discover new, innovative, and trending products from emerging brands Watch Now

Product details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Riverhead; 1 edition (9 April 2019)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0525536337
  • ISBN-13: 978-0525536338
  • Product Dimensions: 14.6 x 2.6 x 21.7 cm
  • Boxed-product Weight: 417 g
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 37,535 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product description

Review

Named a best book of 2019 by O, The Oprah Magazine, Thrillist, and HeyAlma.

"[A] wild and superbly intelligent reimagining . . . It also left me with an abiding admiration for the writer's charged powers of imagination."
--Joan Silber, New York Times Book Review

"An urgent feminist response to the Old Testament. . . . Blasphemous, carnal and committed to exaltation, Naamah delivers its truths in a torrent of heresies [and] dares us to center the experience and wisdom of women." --The Washington Post

"A dreamy and transgressive feminist retelling of the Great Flood from the perspective of Noah's wife as she wrestles with the mysterious metaphysics of womanhood at the end of the world."
--O, The Oprah Magazine

"A shimmering and visionary feminist debut . . . Naamah is hallucinatory, full of unearthly visions, and yet boldly, vividly embodied. It is a singular and timeless portrait, a deep and gorgeous contemporary evocation of an ancient woman asking unanswerable questions about the end of an existing world."
--San Francisco Chronicle

"Naamah is the feminist bible retelling we need in 2019 . . . Blake ultimately succeeds in making this woman of antiquity feel of our times, offering no easy answers to the many questions Naamah poses."
--Paste

"Revelatory, ethereal and transfixing, Naamah cracks open the ancient tale of Noah. . . . In the tradition of Madeline Miller's Circe, Naamah plucks a female character from myth and imbues her with sexuality, personality and intimacy, making her an altogether more modern hero."
--Bookpage

"A powerhouse of a debut. . . . With prose as luminous and heady as it is grounded in Naamah's strong physicality, Blake creates a complex woman in a complicated yet terrifyingly simple situation."
--Electric Literature

"Retellings can be magical when deployed correctly. Such is the case with Sarah Blake's debut novel, Naamah. Naamah is the wife of the Biblical Noah (of ark-building fame), and the book tells her story, from her perspective, in refreshingly modern prose. . . . It's extremely hard to put down; I blew through it in two days, happy to be lost in this world and this woman."
--Guernica

"Historical and mythical women . . . are getting due reconsideration in pop culture. Sarah Blake does something similar with the story of Noah's Ark, reconstructing that well-known tale around the woman by Noah's side."
--Elle

"Poetic and lush . . . It's suspenseful and it's erotic and it's funny, and it just charmed me to pieces."
--Liberty Hardy, Book Riot

"Glorious . . . Blake's prose is bewitching, and this narrative is an essential correction to the Bible's male-dominated mythology."
--Nylon, 50 Books You'll Want to Read in 2019

"Blake's lyrical prose sweeps over the reader as inexorably as the water around the ark, but her genius is in making Naamah's life as relevant as if she were alive today. The reimagining of this patriarchal tale into a feminist allegory is a stunning achievement, sure to intrigue fans of Circe and Home Fire." --Shelf Awareness

"A poetic debut of biblical proportions. . . . [In] mesmerizing prose poem-esque sections, the novel explores themes of sexuality, purpose, loss, love, and faith."
--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Sarah Blake's dazzling novel Naamah offers a new vision of storytelling and belief, rendered through the body of a woman. In this beautiful reconception of a flood, Noah's wife emerges as an earth-bound soul savior as well as a desiring body capable of generating epic myth. In between hope and hell, and up against the divine, Naamah reminds us that the bodies and voices of women were always the heart of the story. Naamah is a new myth-making triumph."
--Lidia Yuknavitch, author of The Book of Joan and The Small Backs of Children

"No longer a forgotten name, Naamah is achingly alive here, pulsing with questions and desires. Sarah Blake's prose is sensual, hallucinatory, dream-sharp--a beguiling debut from an immensely talented writer."
--Leni Zumas, author of Red Clocks

Book Description

A wildly imaginative novel of the reluctant heroine who rescued life on earth.

No customer reviews

5 star (0%) 0%
4 star (0%) 0%
3 star (0%) 0%
2 star (0%) 0%
1 star (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.6 out of 5 stars 28 reviews
Deedi Brown
5.0 out of 5 starsDo as I did — stop what you’re doing and read this right now.
4 May 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Whit
5.0 out of 5 starsSuperb
11 August 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
nolaj
2.0 out of 5 starsDefinitely fiction!
24 May 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Samantha
5.0 out of 5 starsSocietal Exploration through Genesis
5 October 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
just plain bill
2.0 out of 5 starsNot Good Historical Fiction
29 July 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful