You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $3.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Mystery at Maplemead Castle: A laugh-till-you-cry cozy mystery (The Chapelwick Mysteries Book 2) by [French, Kitty]
Kindle App Ad

Mystery at Maplemead Castle: A laugh-till-you-cry cozy mystery (The Chapelwick Mysteries Book 2) Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$3.99

Length: 304 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Similar books to Mystery at Maplemead Castle: A laugh-till-you-cry cozy mystery (The Chapelwick Mysteries Book 2)

EOFY Sale
Save up to 70% on Kindle Books. Sale ends 30 June 2017 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

Welcome to Chapelwick, a leafy English town in the hills of Shropshire, where chocolate pecan cookies come with a helping of sabotage.

Maplemead Castle is crawling with ghosts, and the new owners need them gone. When Melody Bittersweet and the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency arrive on scene, they quickly identify the troublemakers swinging from the chandeliers… literally.

A century ago, stunning trapeze artist Britannia Lovell plunged to her death, and has done every night since. But did she really just fall, or was there something more to her demise?

Forced to work with Leo Dark, her scoundrel ex, and infuriating, irresistible reporter Fletcher Gunn, Melody’s investigative powers are under strain (i.e. lost in a pink mist of lust and confusion). She needs her team on top form, but best friend Marina’s cake pipeline goes AWOL, assistant Artie’s distracted by a giant sausage roll, and the pug is scared witless by a lion.

Somewhere, hidden in the castle, is a heart-breaking secret, but what will it take to find it? And is there a chance it could set Britannia free, or is she doomed to repeat her last fateful act forever?

An utterly hilarious, gripping, spooktastic read for fans of HY Hanna, MC Beaton, Gina LaManna and Jana DeLeon.

What everyone’s saying about Mystery at Maplemead Castle:


‘Managed to have me crying with laughter and unable to conform to human duties, aka breathing, AND even looking at chocolate bars in a completely different way. I thought the first book was great and couldn't get any better, but oh my God THIS one is a-m-a-z-I-n-g!!! Absolutely fantastic!The Writing Garnet

‘I absolutely adore these characters ... I absolutely loved the story ... Kitty managed to make my cry through sadness and laughter. Yes I was that invested in the story and cared about the characters that much that I cried! I urge anyone who enjoys a good rom com with a bit of a different twist to give this series a go. You will not be disappointed!’ Goodreads Reviewer 5*

Fantastic.’ Bookaholics Reading Haven 5*

Just brilliant ... I read this in a day and hope that Kitty French is well in the way to finishing the next instalment.’ Goodreads Reviewer 5*

‘Such an unusual but brilliant kind of romance/paranormal/comedy it is crammed with laughs, chemistry and, of course, ghosts! Fabulously entertaining and ahhhh without wanting to post spoilers there's some frustratingly sizzling sparks between the characters that hits the right spot.’ Biblio Bee Reader 5*

‘I honestly didn't think it would be possible to love this as much as I loved the first one. I may have even loved it more!The Well Read Pirate Queen

‘I loved the first book in the series so I hoped that this one would be just as good - but it was even better! I loved the story and I kept guessing the whole way through. I wanted to keep getting to know all of the characters, and it was nice to see a different, softer side to Fletch. I didn't want the book to end! ... Can't wait for the next one!!’ Goodreads Reviewer

Oh my goodness Mrs F does it again!!! ... I can't wait for the next instalment of Melody and the gang. I'm dying (pardon the pun) to find out what – if anything – is going to happen between Melody and Fletch. I love Kitty French and her books, another great read!!’ All Things Books 5*

‘Loved the first book, but this one is even better ... Bloody hilarious!Bookaholic Swede

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1944 KB
  • Print Length: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Bookouture (17 March 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06WP33Q7X
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #42,325 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
It's a fun, light mystery with likeable characters and some humour. If from the cover you are expecting a typical cosy mystery then you will be surprised. It is not an 'old fuddy-duddy' type of mystery. It skews much younger and frankly, I'm glad to find characters in their twenties who don't sound or act like people in their forties which is my biggest complaint about some mysteries.

It has occasional swearing and sexual references and if that kind of thing offends you, then steer clear. The relationship between Melody and Fletch grows in this book in sweet and sexy ways, but I hope that Melody proves to Fletch that ghosts are real sometime soon. And I hope when she does, it is spectacular. Coincidence alert: Fletch is never around when the ghosts are playing up and throwing things around.

The mystery plot is much more developed in this book than the previous one, but isn't particularly challenging. Still, I would recommend it for someone looking for a quirky mystery with paranormal themes. I will continue to read this series as I have enjoyed it and felt this book is better than the first and hope the author continues to improve.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I am totally in love with all characters in this series their weirdness is adorable and the antics are snort worthy at times. Can't wait for more ( hint hint)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Monica Mac TOP 50 REVIEWER on 19 March 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
This was the second instalment of the Chapelwick Mysteries series and, luckily for me, the second outing I have gone on with with Melody and her friends :) It could easily be read as a standalone book though.

Melody and her friends and co-workers, Marina and Artie, find themselves in a castle with quirky American owners (who bought it sight unseen from the Internet, as you do), and a nice collection of ghosts that they have to move on. It is a funny tale about odd family members, ghosts who have their own tales to tell and lots of will she/won't she moments between Melody and the thorn in her side, Fletcher Gunn. Oh, and her ex is also in the mix here, just to make it even MORE interesting.

There are certainly plenty of funny moments in this book, and a bit of pathos as well. I loved it and am waiting patiently for the next one :)

Highly recommended from me, 4.5 stars.

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book. Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse