Buy new:
$41.49
FREE delivery: 14 - 22 Oct
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
$$41.49 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$41.49
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Book Depository UK
Sold by Book Depository UK
Ships from
Book Depository UK
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$51.13
+ $3.00 Delivery
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
(4003 ratings)
88% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$54.14
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: BuyGlobal
Sold by: BuyGlobal
(15190 ratings)
83% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$36.53
+ $4.90 Delivery
Sold by: Amazon US
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Music of Bees Hardcover – 1 January 1900

4.6 out of 5 stars 452 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, 27 April 2021
$41.49
$35.59

Enhance your purchase

Save on selected Bestselling Fiction Books
View our curated selection of books. Click to explore.

Frequently bought together

  • The Music of Bees
  • +
  • The Last Thing He Told Me
  • +
  • While Justice Sleeps: the number 1 New York Times bestseller: a gripping new thriller that will keep you up all night!
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

"An exquisite debut that combines a moving tale of friendship with a fascinating primer on bees." --People, Best New Books

"This heartwarming, uplifting story will make you want to call your own friends, not to mention grab some honey." --Good Housekeeping, *May Book Club Pick*

A sweet story and a nice reminder that 'flaws' can actually be strengths." --The Washington Post

[A] warm, moving story." --Woman's World

Eileen Garvin's debut novel is uplifting, funny, bold, and inspirational. The Music of Bees sings! --Adriana Trigiani, New York Times bestselling author

"Exactly the book I needed to read right now--I laughed, I cried, and in the end I was left with a renewed belief that there's always hope for all of us, no matter how broken or stuck we may feel. This deft, compassionate story about the enduring power of friendship and the sparkling promise of a fresh start will stay with me for a long time. It's simultaneously heartbreaking and uplifting, and I loved it." --Abi Daré, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl with the Louding Voice

You'll love cheering for the likable loners in this kind-hearted, hopeful, and beautifully detailed story. I adored The Music of Bees. --J. Ryan Stradal, bestselling author of The Lager Queen of Minnesota

A story for this unique time about three people trying to mend their broken lives [that] tells of the power inside each of us that builds the sweet life we want even if we don't get there the way we had dreamed. It's exactly the book we need after a year of uncertainty. --The Spokesman-Review

"Delightful . . . It's a story sown with rich metaphors and life lessons that hum sweetly along in Garvin's authentic and resonant voice. . . . The Music of Bees poignantly weaves the intricacies of bee--and beekeeper--behavior into a heartwarming tale that reminds us of our ineffable interconnectedness. . . . Warmly capturing the quirkiness, goodness, and fallibility of the human experience, Garvin adds texture to the storyline with themes we all can relate to: loss, survival, nourishment, growth, forgiveness, family, and our relationship to community." --The Bend Source

Definitely a must read for nature lovers and those in need of recharging their faith in humanity."
--The Journal Gazette (Indiana)

The Music of Bees tells a hopeful, heartwarming, uplifting story about the power of chosen family and newfound home and beginning again. Its delightful cast of characters is the perfect balance between quirky and familiar, flawed and endearing. And oh the bees! Eileen Garvin's beautiful descriptions throughout this lovely novel immerse the reader in the seasons, the weather, the trees and the flowers, the river and the land, and the rhythms of small-town life, but it's the bees, with all their wonder and intricacy and intrigue, that make this story sing. --Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is

"I knew nothing about bees before reading this marvelous book, but now I'm craving honey. Who knew that the intricate miracle that is a beehive can contain such deep, surprising life lessons? This emotionally resonant story strikes to the heart of how grief can crack you open but lead to unexpected new ways to connect." --Judy Blundell, New York Times bestselling author of The High Season

The Music of Bees is a transportive tale to lighten the heart. Eileen Garvin has woven a hypnotic human story of perseverance and second chances with a glittering love letter to our pollinators. It combines a cast of marvelous characters with an utterly exquisite excursion into the buzzy life of bees. Every page hums with hope, gleaming with a message of our inextricable interconnectedness, both within our own species and to our home of the natural world. The Music of Bees is an enchanting book of belonging, overcoming adversity and the journey to find a hive of one's own. --Kira Jane Buxton, author of Hollow Kingdom

In a small Oregon town, the lives of three strangers--Alice, a widowed beekeeper; Jake, a paraplegic teenager; and Harry, an anxious misfit--intersect in this moving tale. Garvin's characters, battling loss, crave a sense of belonging, and like the bees they tend to, they must learn to rely on each other as they create their own version of home. A special treat for nature lovers, The Music of Bees is full of warmth and hope and decency--a delightful debut that really resonates. --Rebecca Hardiman, author of Good Eggs

"Both buoyant and bittersweet, Garvin's impressive first novel, a luscious paean to the bonds of friendship and limitations of family, is the kind of comforting yet thought-provoking tale that will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Sue Miller." --Booklist (STARRED review)

"Genuinely touching." --Publishers Weekly

A honeybee farm brings together three strangers in need of a fresh start. This novel about friendship and healing is said to be ideal for readers who enjoyed Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine. --Bookish: 21 Debut Novels to Have on Your 2021 TBR

"Fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine will enjoy this touching and uplifting novel about the healing power of friendship." --BookRiot 9 Mesmerising Debut Novels You Won't Want to Miss in 2021

Not only gives readers insight into raising bees but also takes away the fear many may experience with them while it explains the complexities of their lives and their jobs . . . Educational and fascinating."
--New York Journal of Books

"Inspiring and moving . . . A heartfelt story about loss, resiliency, friendship, and finding your way . . . Garvin creates realistic and memorable characters who bond during a time of reinvention."
--Fresh Fiction

"Let's be honest, after 2020 we could all use some uplifting stories and this could be just the Band-Aid our collective hearts need." --Midwestness

A wonderfully written, beautiful story. --All the Good Books

"Garvin's writing is smooth, like a refreshing green glade with cool, soft grass. . . . Start this book. You can't help but like it. --The Bookworm Sez

Sensational . . . A heartwarming, poignant, emotional story of friendship and healing." --The Reading Café

"Garvin's characters ring true, as does her depiction of the Hood River Valley, which gives this novel a unique sense of place. The Music of Bees is just the book to sink into when you need inspiration and restoration." --The Oregonian

The striking beauty of the Pacific Northwest, and the humble marvel of beekeeping, bring home nature's life lessons to a trio of misfits in Eileen Garvin's debut novel. --Christian Science Monitor: 10 Best Books of April

About the Author

Eileen Garvin is a beekeeper and writer living in Hood River, Oregon. Her memoir, How to Be a Sister, was published in 2010. The Music of Bees is her debut novel.

Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Penguin Publishing Group (1 January 1900)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 336 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0593183924
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0593183922
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 15.75 x 2.79 x 23.37 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 452 ratings

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
452 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 12 June 2021

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Customer
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 May 2021
Verified Purchase
Anthony Bidulka
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story and lesson on bees and life
Reviewed in Canada on 12 August 2021
Verified Purchase
GS愛好家
4.0 out of 5 stars ほのぼのします。
Reviewed in Japan on 9 September 2021
Verified Purchase
Danielle
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!
Reviewed in the United States on 3 May 2021
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
sojama
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read
Reviewed in the United States on 4 May 2021
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse