You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $3.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Murder at Hawthorn Cottage: An absolutely gripping cozy mystery (A Melissa Craig Mystery Book 1) by [Rowlands, Betty]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Murder at Hawthorn Cottage: An absolutely gripping cozy mystery (A Melissa Craig Mystery Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 7 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$3.99

Length: 288 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English
  • Similar books to Murder at Hawthorn Cottage: An absolutely gripping cozy mystery (A Melissa Craig Mystery Book 1)

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

‘Hooked from the first pages… wonderful… fascinating, full of twists and turns… kept me guessing till the end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Meet Melissa: cat lover, caring mother… daring detective?

Melissa Craig is absolutely delighted with her new life in an old crumbling cottage, spending her days pruning the primroses and getting to know Binkie, the ginger cat next door. She only wishes she had made the move to the countryside sooner.

But when a knock at the door brings news of a shocking discovery, she suddenly finds herself thrown in to the middle of a baffling mystery: the bones of a young woman have been found in the woods just behind her new home.

Perhaps the little village of Upper Benbury is not as idyllic as it first seemed?

Strange phone calls in the night convince Melissa that the police are barking up completely the wrong tree, so she can’t resist doing a little digging of her own. From the bingo hall to the beauty salon and beyond, her search ruffles a few feathers and uncovers many of the village’s most scandalous secrets, but gets her no closer to finding the culprit…

The discovery of a tatty old photograph in a drawer is the final piece of the puzzle she needs, but as a newcomer in this close-knit community, does Melissa have what it takes to get to the bottom of this extraordinary murder mystery alone?

A joy to read! An absolutely unputdownable whodunnit for fans of Agatha Christie, P.D. James and Faith Martin.

This book was previously published as A Little Gentle Sleuthing.

What readers are saying about Murder at Hawthorn Cottage:


An absolutely addictive, wonderful story. Loved it from start to finish. Great pace and a delightful setting, colourful characters and thrilling mystery. This was a brilliant story and I cannot wait for more!’ Renita D’Silva, author of The Forgotten Daughter, 5 stars

Perfect for lovers of COZY CRIME!... I loved this book… This is an easily read book but it will keep you on your toes’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

The quintessential cozy mystery… the storyline is fast-paced and engaging… builds to an adrenaline fuelled ending, full of action and powerful imagery. An enjoyable, escapist read that I suspect may become my secret addiction.’ Jane Hunt’s Blog, 5 stars

‘An entertaining book… fluently written… In the same league as Agatha Christie.’ B for Book Review

An enjoyable read, with lots of twists and turns… the mystery is one that keeps you reading well into the night. I will certainly look out for more books in this series.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

A lovely, peaceful and funny cozy mystery novel… plenty of very good laugh-out-loud moments… reminded me of Agatha Raisin... I’ll be definitely in the search of other books from this author in future. A perfect cozy mystery! Licence to Read, 5 stars

Absolutely charming!A good old-fashioned who-dunnit with just the right amount of mystery, intrigue and humour. Would definitely recommend!Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

Captivatedvery well-written… a terrific beginning to the series… a very quick read. I thoroughly enjoyed the danger and surprising twists in this story, as well as the unexpected humour.’ Robin Loves Reading

‘A gripping cozy mystery… encapsulated village life to a T!’ A Knight’s Reads

Don’t miss Betty Rowlands’s addictive new series, starring the fabulous photographer and amateur detective SUKEY REYNOLDS.
SUKEY REYNOLDS BOOK 1: DEATH AT HAZEL HOUSE is the perfect cozy mystery

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1863 KB
  • Print Length: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Bookouture (21 August 2018)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07DP527ZW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 7 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #16,727 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

7 customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

20 April 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
21 April 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
25 April 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 May 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
25 April 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 100 REVIEWER
19 October 2018
Format: Kindle Edition
TOP 50 REVIEWER
3 September 2018
Format: Kindle Edition

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?