You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Loading recommendations for you
Recommendations for you

Adding to Cart...

Added to Cart

Not Added

Item is in your Cart

View Cart

Not Added

There was a problem adding this item to Cart. Please try again later.
Sorry, we're having trouble showing recommendations right now. Please try again later.
Continue shopping
Mr Lynch's Holiday by [O'Flynn, Catherine]
Kindle App Ad

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Mr Lynch's Holiday Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 39 ratings

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 272 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Amazon Launchpad Watch and Shop
Discover new, innovative, and trending products from emerging brands Watch Now

Product description

Review

"A simple story but, thanks to a balance of humour and pathos, a delightful one... A rare love story between a father and a son." -"Telegraph "(UK)

"O'Flynn writes with brilliant wit and warmth about people cast adrift in contemporary wildernesses..."-- "The Times "(UK)

"Ms. O'Flynn is a remarkable and original writer...tenderness, warmth, thoughtfulness and comic genius are words that are flung around a lot, but it's more than that. She flinches at nothing."-- Fay Weldon, "Observer "(UK)

"O'Flynn offers trenchant commentary on capitalism even as she balances the comic and tragic aspects of disillusionment. Overflowing with warmth and compassion as well as a sly humor, this skillful novel will appeal to fans of Richard Russo and Francine Prose." -- "Booklist "(Starred)

"A simple story but, thanks to a balance of humour and pathos, a delightful one... A rare love story between a father and a son." -"Telegraph "(UK)

"O'Flynn writes with brilliant wit and warmth about people cast adrift in contemporary wildernesses..."-- "The Times "(UK)

"Ms. O'Flynn is a remarkable and original writer...tenderness, warmth, thoughtfulness and comic genius are words that are flung around a lot, but it's more than that. She flinches at nothing."-- Fay Weldon, "Observer "(UK)

"Brilliantly rendered... O'Flynn's tender portrait of an Irish emigrant of the hard-done-by, hard-working generation of the 60s and 70s - a "proper Paddy," as Dermot calls himself - balancing the books of his life with such generosity and intelligence, is a lovely thing." - "The Guardian" (UK)

"O'Flynn offers trenchant commentary on capitalism even as she balances the comic and tragic aspects of disillusionment. Overflowing with warmth and compassion as well as a sly humor, this skillful novel will appeal to fans of Richard Russo and Francine Prose." -- "Booklist "(Starred)

"A simple story but, thanks to a balance of humour and pathos, a delightful one... A rare love story between a father and a son." -"Telegraph "(UK)

"O'Flynn writes with brilliant wit and warmth about people cast adrift in contemporary wildernesses..."-- "The Times "(UK)

"Ms. O'Flynn is a remarkable and original writer...tenderness, warmth, thoughtfulness and comic genius are words that are flung around a lot, but it's more than that. She flinches at nothing."-- Fay Weldon, "Observer "(UK)

"O'Flynn writes terrifically about disappointment and denial, skipping easily between the present and moments in Eamonn and Dermot's past that explain how they became who they are..."Mr Lynch's Holiday" excels in exploring the strangeness of being the outsider and the stories people tell themselves to survive." --"Financial Times

""Brilliantly rendered... O'Flynn's tender portrait of an Irish emigrant of the hard-done-by, hard-working generation of the 60s and 70s - a "proper Paddy," as Dermot calls himself - balancing the books of his life with such generosity and intelligence, is a lovely thing." - "The Guardian" (UK)

"O'Flynn offers trenchant commentary on capitalism even as she balances the comic and tragic aspects of disillusionment. Overflowing with warmth and compassion as well as a sly humor, this skillful novel will appeal to fans of Richard Russo and Francine Prose." -- "Booklist "(Starred)

"A simple story but, thanks to a balance of humour and pathos, a delightful one... A rare love story between a father and a son." -"Telegraph "(UK)

"O'Flynn writes with brilliant wit and warmth about people cast adrift in contemporary wildernesses..."-- "The Times "(UK)

"O'Flynn is good at mild comedy, humorously illustrating idiosyncrasies in her characters as Mark Haddon and Roddy Doyle do...O'Flynn is delightful"-- "The Independent "(UK)"

""Ms. O'Flynn is a remarkable and original writer...tenderness, warmth, thoughtfulness and comic genius are words that are flung around a lot, but it's more than that. She flinches at nothing."-- Fay Weldon, "Observer "(UK)

Book Description


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1052 KB
  • Print Length: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (1 August 2013)
  • Sold by: Penguin UK
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141938617
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141938615
  • ASIN: B00CJM5E2Q
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #591,577 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

No customer reviews

5 star (0%) 0%
4 star (0%) 0%
3 star (0%) 0%
2 star (0%) 0%
1 star (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars 39 reviews
Folantin
3.0 out of 5 starsRefreshing, light read.
29 June 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )Verified Purchase
Deb
5.0 out of 5 starsA somewhat confusing review for a very moving book.
18 July 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Sandra Palleybrandt
5.0 out of 5 starsMr. Lynch's Holiday
3 April 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
siggiemom
3.0 out of 5 starsPleasant and touching
11 February 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Mary Murphy
4.0 out of 5 starsA satisfying read
2 May 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase