Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

A Memory Called Empire: A Texicalaan Novel 1 by [Arkady Martine]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Memory Called Empire: A Texicalaan Novel 1 Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 3,908 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

'Gorgeously crafted ... Martine allows the backstory to unroll slowly ... walking delicately upon the tightrope of intrigue and partisan battles ...' -- Publishers Weekly --This text refers to the audioCD edition.

Review

"A mesmerizing debut . . . it left me utterly dazzled."--The New York Times Book Review

[A] gorgeously crafted diplomatic space opera . . . Readers will eagerly away the planned sequels to this impressive debut.--Publishers Weekly, starred review

Politics and personalities blend with an immersive setting and beautiful prose in a debut that weaves threads of identity, assimilation, technology, and culture to offer an exceedingly well-done sf political thriller.--Library Journal, starred review

This is both an epic and a human story, successful in the mode of Ann Leckie and Yoon Ha Lee. A confident beginning with the promise of future installments that can't come quickly enough.--Kirkus, starred review

"Exquisite . . . a compelling journey with a rich world and fascinating characters"--The Los Angeles Times

Interesting, detailed, lavish.--The Wall Street Journal

A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All around brilliant space opera, I absolutely love it.--Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice

In A Memory Called Empire, Arkady Martine smuggles you into her interstellar diplomatic pouch, and takes you on the most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love: identity crises, unlikely romance, complicated politics, and cunning adventurers. Super-fun, and ultra-fascinating.--Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

"Stunning sci-fi debut. An ambassador from a small space station has to survive in the capital of a galactic empire where everyone seems to want her dead. Add in a great will-they-won't-they wlw romantic interest. Awesome."--Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series

"An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn't put it down."--Jo Walton, Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of Among Others

"Arkady is one of the best new voices in speculative fiction"--Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of Children of Time

"A taut murder mystery entwined with questions of technological ethics, A Memory Called Empire is also an evocative depiction of foreignness. Martine creates an elaborate and appealing culture against which to play out this story of political intrigue, assimilation, and resistance. Daring, beautiful, immersive, and often profound."--Malka Older, author of Infomocracy

"A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next."--Martha Wells, author of The Murderbot Diaries

A cunningly plotted, richly imagined tale of interstellar intrigue that does something new with space opera.--Ken MacLeod

"A Memory Called Empire elevates space opera to poetry--clever, deep, sometimes tragic, sometimes violent, always transcendent poetry that shines like the edge of a knife."--Delilah Dawson

"An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive."--Aliette de Bodard, Nebula Award-winning author of the Xuya Universe stories and The House of Binding Thorns

"A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I've read in the last five years."--Yoon Ha Lee, author of the Machineries of Empire trilogy

"An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov."--Elizabeth Bear, author of Hammered

A Memory Called Empire . . . is so frigging good. It's like a space opera murder mystery combined with all the political parts of Dune.--Dan Wells, author of I Am Not a Serial Killer

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07MSDSGJG
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Tor UK (9 April 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2445 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 462 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 3,908 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Arkady Martine is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr. AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and a city planner. Under both names she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda, and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada, and Sweden, lives in Baltimore with her wife, Vivian Shaw. Find her online at arkadymartine.net or on Twitter as @ArkadyMartine.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
3,908 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 9 January 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 2 March 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 25 March 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 October 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 20 November 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 18 April 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 June 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Three go to Coruscant for the Dullest Term Ever at Stormtrooper Towers
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 May 2020
Verified Purchase
130 people found this helpful
Report abuse
PT
2.0 out of 5 stars It's.. Okay (spoiler free review)
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 April 2020
Verified Purchase
33 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Paul T.
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant title, brilliant story.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 September 2019
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful
Report abuse
M. King
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn’t do it for me.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 October 2020
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Hal5000
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining SF Thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 October 2019
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse