Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

A Memory Called Empire Hardcover – 9 April 2019

4.4 out of 5 stars 3,774 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$26.59
Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product description

Review

A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it -- Ann Leckie

A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I’ve read in the last five years -- Yoon Ha Lee

An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive -- Aliette de Bodard

An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn’t put it down -- Jo Walton

An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov -- Elizabeth Bear

A cunningly plotted, richly imagined tale of interstellar intrigue that does something new with space opera -- Ken MacLeod

In A Memory Called Empire Arkady Martine smuggles you into her interstellar diplomatic pouch, and takes you on the most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love: identity crises, unlikely romance, complicated politics, and cunning adventurers. Super-fun, and ultra-fascinating -- Charlie Jane Anders

A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next -- Martha Wells

Arkady Martine’s first novel is a thrillingly smart space opera with grand scope. Everything’s here: plots and counterplots, political manoeuvring, great writing, and brilliant ideas on language and empire. Like Iain M. Banks, she’s created a universe that can spawn a hundred books. Hop on now, people -- Daryl Gregory

Exquisite and smart as hell -- Fran Wilde

Gorgeously crafted . . . Martine allows the backstory to unroll slowly . . . walking delicately upon the tightrope of intrigue and partisan battles in the streets to safely bring the tale to a poignantly true conclusion. Readers will eagerly await the planned sequels to this impressive debut -- Publishers Weekly starred review

Review

<b>A gripping political intrigue in space that recalls the best of John le Carré, Iain M. Banks’s Culture novels and Ann Leckie’s Imperial Radch trilogy. A tale of empire, intrigue and rebellion with a murder at its heart . . . </b>

Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Tor UK (9 April 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 464 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1529001579
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1529001570
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 18 years and up
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 16.3 x 4.5 x 24.2 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 3,774 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Arkady Martine is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr. AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and a city planner. Under both names she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda, and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada, and Sweden, lives in Baltimore with her wife, Vivian Shaw. Find her online at arkadymartine.net or on Twitter as @ArkadyMartine.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
3,774 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 9 January 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 2 March 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 25 March 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 October 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 18 April 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 June 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 4 October 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Three go to Coruscant for the Dullest Term Ever at Stormtrooper Towers
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 May 2020
Verified Purchase
126 people found this helpful
Report abuse
PT
2.0 out of 5 stars It's.. Okay (spoiler free review)
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 April 2020
Verified Purchase
32 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Paul T.
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant title, brilliant story.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 September 2019
Verified Purchase
28 people found this helpful
Report abuse
M. King
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn’t do it for me.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 October 2020
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Hal5000
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining SF Thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 October 2019
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse