Buy new:
$99.66
In stock.
US imports may differ from local products. Additional terms apply. Learn More.

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions, or plugs (you may require an adapter).
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store
$$99.66 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$99.66
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon US
Sold by
Ships from
Amazon US
Sold by
A Memory Called Empire has been added to your Cart
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

A Memory Called Empire Audio CD – Audiobook, 26 March 2019

4.4 out of 5 stars 3,773 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$24.18
Audio CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged
$99.66
$99.66

Enhance your purchase

Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product description

Review

"An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn't put it down."--Jo Walton, Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of Among Others

"A taut murder mystery entwined with questions of technological ethics, A Memory Called Empire is also an evocative depiction of foreignness. Martine creates an elaborate and appealing culture against which to play out this story of political intrigue, assimilation, and resistance. Daring, beautiful, immersive, and often profound."--Malka Older, author of Infomocracy

"A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next."--Martha Wells, author of The Murderbot Diaries

"A Memory Called Empire elevates space opera to poetry--clever, deep, sometimes tragic, sometimes violent, always transcendent poetry that shines like the edge of a knife."--Delilah Dawson

"An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive."--Aliette de Bodard, Nebula Award-winning author of the Xuya Universe stories and The House of Binding Thorns

"A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I've read in the last five years."--Yoon Ha Lee, author of the Machineries of Empire trilogy

"An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov."--Elizabeth Bear, author of Hammered

About the Author

Arkady Martine (she/her) is the Hugo Award-winning author of A Memory Called Empire. She is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr. AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and a city planner. She is currently a policy advisor for the New Mexico Energy, Minerals, and Natural Resources Department, where she works on climate change mitigation, energy grid modernization, and resiliency planning. Under both names, she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda, and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada, and Sweden, and Baltimore, lives in Santa Fe with her wife, the author Vivian Shaw.

Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ MacMillan Audio; Unabridged edition (26 March 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1250318963
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1250318961
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 2.54 x 2.54 x 2.54 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 3,773 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
3,773 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 9 January 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 2 March 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 25 March 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 October 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 18 April 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 June 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 4 October 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Three go to Coruscant for the Dullest Term Ever at Stormtrooper Towers
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 May 2020
Verified Purchase
126 people found this helpful
Report abuse
PT
2.0 out of 5 stars It's.. Okay (spoiler free review)
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 April 2020
Verified Purchase
32 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Paul T.
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant title, brilliant story.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 September 2019
Verified Purchase
28 people found this helpful
Report abuse
M. King
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn’t do it for me.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 October 2020
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Hal5000
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining SF Thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 October 2019
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse