Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Magonia Hardcover – 27 April 2015

4.3 out of 5 stars 158 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$24.84

Save up to 50% off RRP on select top books
PLUS, free expedited delivery. T&C's apply. See more
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Save up to 50% off RRP on select top books
PLUS, free expedited delivery. T&C's apply. See more

Product details

  • Publisher : HarperCollins US (27 April 2015)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0062320521
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0062320520
  • Reading age : 12 - 17 years
  • Dimensions : 15.24 x 2.67 x 22.86 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 158 ratings

Product description

Review

"Headley riffs like an improv comic... funny, furious, and vulnerable. The haunting conclusion leaves many issues unresolved, but the ferocious, intelligent power of Aza and Jason's bond is completely affirmed. Sweeping, strange, and richly imagined, the novel is ideal for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The painful, sarcastic beauty of Aza's interactions down below in the everyday world begs comparisons to John Green's The Fault in Our Stars."--Kirkus Reviews

"With lush writing, memorable world building, and an array of peculiar characters, this is sure to thrill readers looking for a distinctive, imaginative tale in the vein of Laini Taylor and Neil Gaiman."--Booklist

"The book races to an epic confrontation that will leave readers thrilled... romance, danger, and world-building combine."--School Library Journal

"The sweeping, lyrical language in both parts of the book is captivating, with haunting scenes woven from carefully chosen, sharply evocative descriptions."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Magonia hooked me from the first page. It has an amazing voice, brutal and hopeful both at once, and a beautiful, unique mythology. Wonderful."--Django Wexler, author of the Shadow Campaigns and The Forbidden Library

"Magonia is magical. A high-flying, refreshing, and literally out-of-the-blue fantasy with great characters, emotional depth, and a unique fantasy world that I never saw coming."--Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Red Queen

Maria Dahvana Headley is a firecracker: she's whip smart with a heart, and she writes like a dream.--Neil Gaiman, bestselling author of The Graveyard Book and Coraline

From the Back Cover

Aza Ray is drowning in thin air.

Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak--to live.

All the doctors can do is give her drugs and hope they keep her alive. So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of the medication. But Aza doesn't think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name.

Only her best friend, Jason, listens. Jason, who's always been there. Jason, for whom she might have more-than-friendly feelings. But before Aza can consider that thrilling idea, something goes terribly wrong. The sickness catches up with her.

Aza is lost to our world.

And found, by another.

Magonia.

Above the clouds, in a land of trading ships, Aza is not the weak and dying thing she was. In Magonia, she can breathe for the first time. Better, she has immense power. And she can use it to change the world.

As she navigates her new life, Aza discovers that war is coming. Magonia and Earth are on the cusp of a reckoning. In Aza's hands lies the whole of humanity--including the boy who loves her. Where do her loyalties lie?

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
158 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 3 May 2015
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Book Blog Bird
3.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Bizarre
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 November 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Bex
3.0 out of 5 stars Weirdly Wonderful.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 November 2016
Verified Purchase
daisy_chain
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinatingly beautiful
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 September 2016
Verified Purchase
Bethany
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Quirky Opinions
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing but flawed
Reviewed in India on 13 August 2017
Verified Purchase