<Embed>
Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Mage's Blood Hardcover – 26 September 2012

3.9 out of 5 stars 96 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now

Product details

  • Hardcover : 688 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1780871953
  • Product Dimensions : 16.5 x 5.6 x 23.7 cm
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1780871950
  • Publisher : Jo Fletcher Books (26 September 2012)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.9 out of 5 stars 96 ratings

Product description

Review

'Amazing The Moontide Quartet epic fantasy series. I'll not reveal all the details and plots, you'll just need to read these books. It will get you turning pages in a speed of desert storm * Dejan Delic, Deviant Art * One of the best examples, in recent memory, of epic fantasy * Novelnaut * The Moontide Quartet is perhaps the most understated fantasy series currently being written. It features a wide, diverse cast of characters spread out over dual continents. Focusing on a clash of civilisations storyline, David Hair offers a tale that encapsulates epic fantasy to its entirety * Fantasy Book Critic, The Year's Top Ten * Modern epic fantasy at its best * Fantasy Book Critic * Sweeping conflicts, clashes of cultures, political and personal entanglements, rich and in-depth magic, and mighty warriors dot the landscape. . . . Hair tells his story with aplomb in a clear and concise prose * A Dribble of Ink * This multilayered beginning to the Moontide Quartet plunges readers into a taut network of intrigue and mystery that tightens with each chapter. Hair portrays a stark and beautiful world breaking apart, with both good and evil characters desperate to reshape it through magic, war, and treachery. This strong debut should draw in fantasy readers of all stripes * Publishers Weekly * Hair's first foray into adult fantasy is similar in scope to George R.R. Martin's 'Ice and Fire' and Robert Jordan's 'Wheel of Time' novels and is sure to please those authors' many fans * Library Journal, Starred Review * David Hair's explosive debut as an epic fantasy writer and should be read by all with an interest in gritty fantasy and alternate histories * Fantasy Online * Mage's Blood is true epic fantasy. It has everything a fan could want - detailed magic, good characters and evil characters (of both genders) and some in between, a compelling plot, and twists aplenty. * A Bitter Draft * an ambitious novel sure to thrill readers of character-driven fantasy. Hair has done an admirable job in building a complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . A tense, edge-of-your-seat fantastical drama. There's a little something for everyone here - conspiracies, political backstabbing, high magic, swordplay, a smattering of romance, and more . . . Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson, and Patrick Rothfuss. * Monster Librarian * Mage's Blood has a richness to it that comes so close to the actual history and customs of Europe and the Near East as to make me periodically stop and wonder whether I was remembering my history wrong or I had just tripped over one of the fantasy world's small, intentional tweaks . . . Fans of Game of Thrones will delight in the existence of this different-yet-similar fantasy series. * New Myths * This story is so utterly HUMAN ... Set in a world with religious and political struggles that wonderfully parallel our own, Mage's Blood depicts the good and bad of society and its obsession with power * The Wishing Table * Makes for an outstanding start to a series which promises to recall epic fantasy's finest. In more ways than one, this book could be huge - an honour I dare say David Hair deserves * Tor.com * This is one of those books that is so epic, that gets you so involved and is such an investment in time and emotion, that there is a little sting of regret that the ending had to come at all and you immediately want to go back to the beginning and see how much riper it is second time around * British Fantasy Society *

About the Author

David Hair, an award-winning writer of fantasy, has been inspired by his travels around the globe. He was born in New Zealand and after spending time in Britain and Europe, he moved to India for several years, which sparked both the Moontide Quartet and the Ravana series. He now lives in Bangkok, Thailand. His epic fantasy sagas The Moontide Quartet and The Sunsurge Quartet, and The Return of Ravana, his retelling of the Indian epic The Ramayana, are all published by Jo Fletcher Books.