Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership
Buy new:
$11.25
RRP: $14.99 Details

Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
Save: $3.74 (25%)
FREE delivery: Monday, 5 July on first order.
Fastest delivery: Monday, 28 June
Order within 1 hr and 25 mins
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon AU
Sold by Amazon AU
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Maestra: The shocking international number one bestseller Paperback – 22 February 2017

3.1 out of 5 stars 1,011 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$11.25
$11.25

Enhance your purchase

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • Maestra: The shocking international number one bestseller
  • +
  • Ultima: From the bestselling author of the No.1 global phenomenon MAESTRA. Love it. Hate it. READ IT!
  • +
  • Domina
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

AUDIBLE FREE TRIAL
Includes your first audiobook free, a bonus book selected by our editors, unlimited access to exclusive podcasts and more. $16.45/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime. Learn more >

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Zaffre (22 February 2017)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 416 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1785760017
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1785760013
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 12.9 x 2.9 x 19.8 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.1 out of 5 stars 1,011 ratings

Product description

Review

Brimming with scandal, intrigue and mystery, this is a book that everyone is talking about ― Heat

[U]tterly un-put-down-able, a shocking and sexy psychological thriller ― PopSugar

Set in a world of oligarchs, Mafiosi and dodgy art dealers, it also has in Judith Rashleigh a heroine you'll either love or loathe, at least two jaw-on-the-floor moments and sex scenes that would make Christian Grey blush ― Red magazine

The next Gone Girl thriller everyone will be talking about ― GoodReads Review

Smart, pacy and very rude ― Glamour

Riveting... one of the most memorable females in recent fiction ― Amy Pascal, Columbia Pictures Producer

Maestra features a feisty, morally complex and sharp heroine who may appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl ― New York Times

A psychological thriller set on the French Riviera, rather like Patricia Highsmith crossed with Gone Girl, unsurprisingly, there's a film deal in the works ― Harpers Bazaar, '10 Best Books for 2016'

This is already being compared to The Girl On The Train and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo in terms of addictability ― Glamour, ‘11 Female Authored Reads for 2016’

One for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey ― Grazia, 'Best of New Books'

This new thriller features a sexually voracious heroine eager to make her mark on the world ― Irish Daily Mail

Fantastically good fun... LS Hilton can write. She can even make you think that popping along to a sex party..is quite a good idea. She writes convincingly about female desire. This book will make money and give pleasure -- Christina Patterson ― The Sunday Times

A gloriously dark thriller... ― Grazia Magazine

A maest (sic) read ― Grazia Magazine

We'll be talking about the protagonist of this steamy thriller for years to come... ― Grazia Magazine

Fifty Shades it is not- it's much better...There's a real plot. And real sexy talk....it's the very definition of a page turner. ― Heat Magazine

The sexiest book of the year ― Nottingham Post

It's a hot read! ― Strathallen Times, Stirling News

In this marvellous debut, Hilton shows us how deadly such work can sometimes be. ― Max Dunbar Blog

Well written and fast paced, and with a scandalous peep into the world of art dealing and a liberal amount of sex, MAESTRA is a fun and enjoyable read. ― crimethrillergirl.com Published On: 2016-03-21

This years must read ― Huddersfield Daily Examiner, Evening Chronicle (Newcastle), South Wales Echo, Liverpool Echo, Daily Post (Wales)

She (Hilton) is smart and scathing on the art world; she clearly knows her stuff, and the novel is most interesting when she digresses into art history. -- Stephanie Merritt ― The Observer, The New Review

You'll have to move to a wi-fi free island in the middle of the Pacific for Maestra to pass you by this summer....Set to be the 'it' book of 2016...A murderous heroine you'll love to hate. -- Hannah Britt ― Daily Express, Scottish Daily Express

This years The Girl on the Train ― Sheer Luxe Published On: 2016-04-05

· I went from not thinking I'd enjoy it to not wanting to put it down. Gripped from the very first 'c' bomb dropped on page two. Judith is a sassy, smart and very dangerous heroine and I couldn't help but really like her. So read it before everyone else does because I do think it will be the most talked abut book this year - and with reason. -- Amy Space ― Bella Magazine's Editor

'This is the must-read raunchy book of the year' ― Xpose Magazine

A bonkbuster with brains... LS Hilton sets pulses racing with her novel Maestra, about orgies, escorts and the art world -- Fiona Wilson ― The Times Ireland

This year's Fifty Shades brings sexual intrigue to the world of art fraud. At last someone has. ― Cosmopolitan Magazine

Darkly compelling...a female reincarnation of Patricia Highsmith's Tom Ripley... ― Winq

Judith Rashleigh, also known as Lauren, is a woman on a mission, fuelled by a simmering hatred that drives her calculating behaviour ... ― tripfiction.com

Completely Unputdownable -- Sue Turnbull ― The Age, Australia

A spectacular act of revenge- on the English middle class- and men...aloof and independent minded... ― Standpoint Magazine

A glamorous, witty and adrenaline fuelled romp- if you like your heroines sexy, vengeful, amoral and lethal thenMaestra delivers in spades. ― Irish Times, Weekend Review

Maestra has an incredibly gorgeous vibe in both character study and scene setting, the writing is visceral, beautiful and indelible. This one will stay with you... Highly HIGHLY Recommended. ― lizlovesbooks.com

It's a hot read! ― Hillfoot Advertiser

The Talented Mr Ripley meets Gone Girl in this darkly decadent and compelling new thriller ― mojomums.co.uk

Deliciously decadent...a glamorous and racy adventure ― Sunday Mirror

Maestra is a fun, sexy novel...more self-determined than the ones her recent predecessors have offered -- Fiona Wilson ― The Times

A psychological thriller set on the French Riviera, rather like Patricia Highsmith crossed with Gone Girl, unsurprisingly, there's a film deal in the works ― Harpers Bazaar Magazine

'the outlandish plot remains wildly entertaining, romping along at a delightful pace. The best moments allow Hilton to showcase her knowledge of the high-end European art world, and readers will be left hankering for the next installment.' ― Independent.ie

Maestra has been given the 'sentence of the year' with "I sucked the musk of his armpit like hummingbird nectar." ― The Sunday Times Culture

Orgies, murder and dodgy art dealers; sounds like a best-seller to me. After several modest-selling historical books, Hilton hits the jackpot with this tale of a pretty and ambitious London gallery assistant of modest means who wants a fast-track to the good things in life. Our 20-something heroine Judith Rashleigh's a whip-smart femme fatale in a post-Kardashian world, whose humble origins sharpen her criminal resolve -no more tights drying over the heater for her -and her journey to wealth and power involves lots of sex and shopping for designer dresses. Less thriller than subversive post-feminist social satire, it has the blunt candour of Hilton herself-a 40-something solo mother whose experience as an intern at Christies clearly informs Maestra. Judith's catch-a-billionaire-will-travel goals upset some of the Literary Sisterhood but Maestra 's bonk -buster reputation disguises a razor-sharp novel on class and power. ― New Zealand Herald

The Becky Sharp-style trajectory of the narrator proceeds with great momentum as she gets her psychopathic revenge on the snobs of the old master art world ― The Week

About the Author

L.S. Hilton is a writer and journalist who presently lives in London.

From the Publisher

Customer reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
3.1 out of 5
1,011 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 10 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 11 February 2018
Verified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 16 March 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 5 April 2016
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 25 July 2016
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 29 January 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 May 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 18 May 2016
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 17 May 2016
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Dan C
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking ...ly Dull
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 July 2018
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
FictionLover
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, dark and dangerous - and full of paintings
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 November 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
jacw2000
5.0 out of 5 stars Amoral and Fascinating
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 April 2021
Verified Purchase
Mark
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking ? Yes that I actually purchased this book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 September 2016
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Paula Dennan
2.0 out of 5 stars There is nothing shocking about Maestra!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 July 2016
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse