Kindle Price: $3.99
includes tax, if applicable
kindle unlimited logo
Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY a gripping crime mystery full of twists by [MARTIN, FAITH]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY a gripping crime mystery full of twists Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 27 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$3.99

Length: 253 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.47 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

Looking for a brilliant murder mystery with a feisty female detective?

MEET DI HILLARY GREENE, A POLICE WOMAN WITH A THIRST FOR JUSTICE AND A CAREER ON THE ROCKS

A pretty French student is found dead in her room at an exclusive Oxford college. Everyone thinks it is another tragic case of accidental drug overdose.

But Detective Hillary Greene has a nose for the truth. She quickly discovers that the student was involved in some very unusual activities.

With a shocking cause of death found, the case becomes a high-profile murder investigation.

Adding to the pressure, Hillary’s nemesis is transferred to work with her at the station.

Can Hillary keep her cool and get justice for the unfortunate student?

This is a crime mystery full of well-observed characters, which will have you gripped from start to finish.

MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY is the second in a series of page-turning crime thrillers set in Oxfordshire.

Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

What readers are saying about MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY

“Really enjoying this series and love Hillary and her team.” Nerys

“I like Hillary and her team and love the Oxford setting.” Hannelore Cheney

“I’ve got to say, Faith Martin is becoming one of my favourite authors. . . Move over Inspector Morse, make way for D.I. Greene.” Carole Gourlay

“An excellent plot, a well told story and an enjoyable read” Nerys


THE LOCATION
Oxford is a city of two halves — town and gown. In the town, you have Cornmarket street full of shops and shoppers that could be found in any city in the country. But Oxford's 'dreaming spires' are the real draw for the tourists, romantics and those with intellectual aspirations to wear the gowns of students and dons. In centuries-old quads, croquet can still be played on lawns as smooth as velvet. Here, 'New' College's walls are actually over 500 years old, and Cotswold stone gleams in even the wateriest of winter sunlight. A city of bicycles, with undergraduates (and fellows) flapping about in faded, black gowns; the Martyrs’ Memorial, and fabled inns where the likes of J.R.R Tolkien sat and wrote about a Hobbit who lived in a hole in the ground. Everywhere you turn, you see history staring back at you. And of course there has always been murder!

THE DETECTIVES

DI Hillary Greene
An attractive woman in her forties, Hillary Greene is a police officer of many years’ experience, and came up through the ranks. Consequently, she knows how the system works, and is fiercely loyal to the force without being blinkered to its faults. She is a long-standing friend of her immediate superior officer, 'Mellow' Mallow and enjoys a rather enigmatic relationship with the steely Superintendent Marcus Donleavy. Popular with the rank and file for her no-nonsense attitude and competence.

DCI Philip 'Mellow' Mallow
Mel appreciates Hillary's first-rate ability to solve her cases, and isn't happy about her harassment by the officers from York. Known for his sartorial elegance and laid-back manners, he has a sharp mind, and an eye for the ladies. A good friend and ally for Hillary in her recent tribulations, he's determined to keep his best investigator focused on the problems at hand.

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “ON THE STRAIGHT AND NARROW.”

DI HILLARY GREENE SERIES
BOOK 1: MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL
BOOK 2: MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY
BOOK 3: MURDER OF THE BRIDE
BOOK 4: MURDER IN THE VILLAGE
BOOK 5: MURDER IN THE FAMILY
BOOK 6: MURDER AT HOME
BOOK 7: MURDER IN THE MEADOW
BOOK 8: MURDER IN THE MANSION
BOOK 9: MURDER IN THE GARDEN

Books 10-17 coming soon!
Join the Joffe Books mailing list to be the first to hear about new releases.

About the Author

Faith Martin was born in Oxford, and has spent all her life within twenty miles of the university city, even working at Somerville College for five years before turning to writing full-time. The author of the popular DI Hillary Greene novels, she also writes classic-style "whodunits" under the pen name Joyce Cato.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1146 KB
  • Print Length: 253 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Joffe Books crime, thrillers, and mystery (10 October 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B076CQSYMM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 27 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #347 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 27 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

TOP 1000 REVIEWER
17 February 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
TOP 50 REVIEWER
22 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
26 June 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
9 July 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
25 April 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
28 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
TOP 50 REVIEWER
2 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
31 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?


Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?