You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $0.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Loading recommendations for you
Recommendations for you

Adding to Cart...

Added to Cart

Not Added

Item is in your Cart

View Cart

Not Added

There was a problem adding this item to Cart. Please try again later.
Sorry, we're having trouble showing recommendations right now. Please try again later.
Continue shopping
THE MISSING NURSE an enthralling crime mystery full of twists (Yorkshire Murder Mysteries Book 1) by [SILVERWOOD, ROGER]
Kindle App Ad

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


THE MISSING NURSE an enthralling crime mystery full of twists (Yorkshire Murder Mysteries Book 1) Kindle Edition

3.8 out of 5 stars 14 ratings

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$0.99
Paperback

Length: 226 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Similar books to THE MISSING NURSE an enthralling crime mystery full of twists (Yorkshire Murder Mysteries Book 1)

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

A DETECTIVE WHO’S NO ANGEL DESPITE HIS NAME.

Discover a gripping series of murder mysteries set in South Yorkshire.

MEET DETECTIVE INSPECTOR MICHAEL ANGEL. AN OLD-SCHOOL POLICEMAN WHO SOMETIMES RUBS HIS COLLEAGUES UP THE WRONG WAY. HE’S GOT HIS FLAWS, BUT HE NEVER GIVES UP ON A CASE.

PLEASE NOTE THIS BOOK WAS FIRST PUBLISHED AS “IN THE MIDST OF LIFE.”

For Inspector Michael Angel, the savage murder in an insane asylum twenty years ago marks the beginning of this gruesome trail of enquiries to find missing nurse Fiona Thomas.

In spite of obstruction from the chief constable, this quirky Yorkshire policeman reduces the suspects to one, by resorting to an unusual and original strategy.

A dead woman wearing one stocking inside out, an American class ring, a missing videotape of the lovely Lola, and two dead cats all play their part in this scramble to find the killer in this unusual and gripping mystery.

Perfect for fans of R.D. Wingfield, Colin Dexter, Peter Robinson, Reginald Hill, and Agatha Christie.

THE DETECTIVE
Michael Angel is over fifty, married to Mary. They don’t have any children. They are a devoted couple but the relationship sometimes breaks down due to his job or due to the problems of Mary’s sister who lives in Edinburgh and imposes on their easygoing natures. Michael works at the small local police station and is devoted to defeating crime, murder, and dishonesty of any sort and has no personal ambition beyond being a good husband and a successful detective. He doesn’t want promotion with all the routine office work and stress that goes with it. He is incorruptible but always short of money. He is always at odds with his immediate chief, Detective Superintendent Horace Harker, who is lazy, a hypochondriac and not a bit interested in assisting Angel in serious police work.

THE SETTING
Bromersley is a market town at the bottom of the Pennines surrounded by stone and hawthorn-edged fields grazed by cattle and sheep. It is cold as anywhere in the winter but its closeness to the mountains protects it from many gales and heavy falls of snow. The town’s industry today includes the manufacture of ball bearings and whisky bottles, and a huge brewery produces Bromersley’s best bitter, which is considered the finest beer for miles around. Wednesday is market day, and the town centre is host to the frequent cries of stall-holders hawking their wares while the enticing smells of cheeses, coffees, foreign spices and fish and chips tempt your taste buds as you wander through the stalls. The police always find it difficult to catch pilferers and pickpockets in such a crowd. Bromersley folk are easy to befriend but many of the old people are stubborn and still buy their fruit and veg in pounds and ounces, not kilos and grams.

MICHAEL ANGEL SERIES
Book 1: THE MISSING NURSE
Book 2: THE MISSING WIFE
Book 3: THE MAN IN THE PINK SUIT
Book 4: THE MORALS OF A MURDERER

MORE YORKSHIRE MURDER MYSTERIES COMING SOON. JOIN THE JOFFE BOOKS MAILING LIST TO BE THE FIRST TO HEAR ABOUT THEM.



Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 870 KB
  • Print Length: 226 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1789311853
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Joffe Books thrillers and mysteries (15 September 2019)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07XYCZ67V
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #91 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
14 customer ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

8 customer reviews

TOP 100 REVIEWER
11 October 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
19 October 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
14 November 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
19 October 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
17 November 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
9 November 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
9 November 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 December 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?