Buy new:
$40.72
$3.00 delivery: 31 Dec - 5 Jan
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
$$40.72 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$40.72
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
RarewavesUSA
Sold by
Ships from
RarewavesUSA
Sold by
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$43.73
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Sold by: Book Depository UK
(33418 ratings)
91% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$27.97
+ $4.90 Delivery
Sold by: Amazon US
$51.95
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Creek_Books
Sold by: Creek_Books
(81 ratings)
84% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE: 1 Hardcover – 26 March 2019

4.4 out of 5 stars 3,788 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$40.72
$27.97

Enhance your purchase

New from the author of The Girl from Munich
From Australia’s bestselling author comes the story of one woman’s determination to find her place in a world that men are threatening to tear apart. Shop now.

Frequently bought together

  • MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE: 1
  • +
  • A Desolation Called Peace: 2
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

"A mesmerizing debut . . . it left me utterly dazzled."--The New York Times Book Review

[A] gorgeously crafted diplomatic space opera . . . Readers will eagerly away the planned sequels to this impressive debut.--Publishers Weekly, starred review

Politics and personalities blend with an immersive setting and beautiful prose in a debut that weaves threads of identity, assimilation, technology, and culture to offer an exceedingly well-done sf political thriller.--Library Journal, starred review

This is both an epic and a human story, successful in the mode of Ann Leckie and Yoon Ha Lee. A confident beginning with the promise of future installments that can't come quickly enough.--Kirkus, starred review

"Exquisite . . . a compelling journey with a rich world and fascinating characters"--The Los Angeles Times

Interesting, detailed, lavish.--The Wall Street Journal

A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All around brilliant space opera, I absolutely love it.--Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice

In A Memory Called Empire, Arkady Martine smuggles you into her interstellar diplomatic pouch, and takes you on the most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love: identity crises, unlikely romance, complicated politics, and cunning adventurers. Super-fun, and ultra-fascinating.--Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

"Stunning sci-fi debut. An ambassador from a small space station has to survive in the capital of a galactic empire where everyone seems to want her dead. Add in a great will-they-won't-they wlw romantic interest. Awesome."--Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series

"An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn't put it down."--Jo Walton, Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of Among Others

"Arkady is one of the best new voices in speculative fiction"--Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of Children of Time

"A taut murder mystery entwined with questions of technological ethics, A Memory Called Empire is also an evocative depiction of foreignness. Martine creates an elaborate and appealing culture against which to play out this story of political intrigue, assimilation, and resistance. Daring, beautiful, immersive, and often profound."--Malka Older, author of Infomocracy

"A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next."--Martha Wells, author of The Murderbot Diaries

A cunningly plotted, richly imagined tale of interstellar intrigue that does something new with space opera.--Ken MacLeod

"A Memory Called Empire elevates space opera to poetry--clever, deep, sometimes tragic, sometimes violent, always transcendent poetry that shines like the edge of a knife."--Delilah Dawson

"An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive."--Aliette de Bodard, Nebula Award-winning author of the Xuya Universe stories and The House of Binding Thorns

"A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I've read in the last five years."--Yoon Ha Lee, author of the Machineries of Empire trilogy

"An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov."--Elizabeth Bear, author of Hammered

A Memory Called Empire . . . is so frigging good. It's like a space opera murder mystery combined with all the political parts of Dune.--Dan Wells, author of I Am Not a Serial Killer

About the Author

Arkady Martine (she/her) is the Hugo Award-winning author of A Memory Called Empire. She is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr. AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and a city planner. She is currently a policy advisor for the New Mexico Energy, Minerals, and Natural Resources Department, where she works on climate change mitigation, energy grid modernization, and resiliency planning. Under both names, she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda, and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada, and Sweden, and Baltimore, lives in Santa Fe with her wife, the author Vivian Shaw.

Audible - 3 months for 99c
Limited time offer. T&C apply. Click to learn more > Learn more >

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ MACMILLAN USA (26 March 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 464 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1250186439
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1250186430
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 14.25 x 4.06 x 21.72 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 3,788 ratings

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
3,788 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 9 January 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 2 March 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 25 March 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 October 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 20 November 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 18 April 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 June 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Three go to Coruscant for the Dullest Term Ever at Stormtrooper Towers
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 May 2020
Verified Purchase
126 people found this helpful
Report abuse
PT
2.0 out of 5 stars It's.. Okay (spoiler free review)
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 April 2020
Verified Purchase
32 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Paul T.
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant title, brilliant story.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 September 2019
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful
Report abuse
M. King
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn’t do it for me.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 October 2020
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Hal5000
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining SF Thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 October 2019
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse