Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Lying Dead: DI Marjory Fleming Book 3 Hardcover – 7 June 2007

4.3 out of 5 stars 95 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Releases February 16, 2021. Pre-order How to Avoid a Climate Disaster now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now

Product details

  • Publisher : Hodder & Stoughton; 1st edition (7 June 2007)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 432 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0340922257
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0340922255
  • Dimensions : 16.1 x 24.2 x 3.5 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 95 ratings

Product description

Review

An unalloyed pleasure - an intelligent, character-driven crime novel. - Andrew Taylor on COLD IN THE EARTH

It is always a pleasure to read Aline Templeton, but THE DARKNESS AND THE DEEP must surely be her best book to date. Aline s characters are so beautifully drawn . . . - J Wallis Martin

A compelling read. - Margaret Yorke on COLD IN THE EARTH

'Loved it' - Val McDermid on THE DARKNESS AND THE DEEP

[Aline Templeton] has demonstrated that, just when we thought Scotland was saturated with detectives, a strong woman can elbow her way in and find a unique niche. - Scotsman on COLD IN THE EARTH

'A fascinating cast of possible villains is explored in this skilfully plotted and well-paced novel, each vividly described, entirely believable and never sliding into the usual parodies of country folk. But its real strength is DI Marjory Fleming, both tough and vulnerable as she struggles to track down the killer . . . This book is a delight, from its leisurely start to the moving and unexpected finish. Even better, it's the second in a series, so there's more pleasure to come.' - Guardian on THE DARKNESS AND THE DEEP

'In fictional terms the combination of domesticity and detection is very appealing, especially when it comes with a detailed, vivid portrayal of a complete society . . . an interesting, atmospheric and - I predict - televisual series.' -

Book Description

A fresh new female voice in police detective fiction for fans of Colin Dexter, PD James and Reginald Hill

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
95 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 1 rating from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Mr. A.J. PENDLEBURY
3.0 out of 5 stars Think about that mountain bike ride ....
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 July 2017
Verified Purchase
Mr L.R. Kingham
4.0 out of 5 stars good series
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 August 2020
Verified Purchase
Sharon Birmingham
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast becoming a favourite
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 March 2020
Verified Purchase
Dr. Peter G. Upton
4.0 out of 5 stars Improving
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 September 2011
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 June 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse