$28.99
Prime Savings Try Prime FREE and get additional savings on this item. Details
& FREE Delivery on orders over $39.00 . Details
In stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
The Long Call has been added to your Cart
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$28.99
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK

Loading recommendations for you
Recommendations for you

Adding to Cart...

Added to Cart

Not Added

Item is in your Cart

View Cart

Not Added

There was a problem adding this item to Cart. Please try again later.
Sorry, we're having trouble showing recommendations right now. Please try again later.
Continue shopping
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Long Call Hardcover – 10 Sep 2019

4.0 out of 5 stars 30 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$28.99
$23.97

Amazon Outlet Store
Shop thousands of discounted overstock products from Amazon Outlet Store Shop now
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Prime Members will also receive an additional 10% off those Qualifying Items at Checkout. Offer available until the earlier of the last day of the month immediately following the release date of the relevant Qualifying Item or while stocks last. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Amazon Launchpad
Discover new, innovative, and trending products from emerging brands Shop now

Product details


Product description

Review

Murder, mystery and a great new cast of characters mean you won't be able to put this one down! * My Weekly * Cleeves write of the left-behind and the unfortunate with intelligence and compassion * Literary Review * The troubled Venn is a great protagonist, and Cleeves may well have created her next top TV cop * Heat * Cleeves combines a flair for evoking sense of place with a thoughtful, complex plot * Mail on Sunday * A triumph that cements Cleeves' status as one of Britain's best crime writers * Daily Express * Ann Cleeves is a phenomenal talent. With unfailing skill, gorgeous setting, flawless plot and seamless voice, she brilliantly conjures new worlds in crime fiction. Her instantly iconic Detective Matthew Venn is a treasure - and we will all follow him anywhere -- Hank Phillippi Ryan In The Long Call, Ann Cleeves builds a prism of a world, multi-faceted, complex, and as brilliant as a diamond. Fans of Vera and Jimmy will love Matthew Venn -- Lori Rader-Day Ann Cleeves has done it again! A new detective, a new series, another terrific puzzle of a story that won't let you go until the very end. Matthew Venn quickly earns his place beside Vera and Jimmy in a debut you don't want to miss: The Long Call -- Charles Todd, bestselling author of The Black Ascot Brilliant, thoughtful and deeply engaging -- Sara Paretsky, New York Times bestselling author of the V.I. Warshawski series Who knew there could be a third detective as compelling as Vera and Jimmy? Matthew Venn is a triumph of Cleeves' particular blend of compassion and toughness and I already love him -- Catriona McPherson, national bestselling author of Strangers at the Gate Unputdownable series debut! With an evocative setting, a gripping plot, and beautifully drawn characters, The Long Call is a terrific read-and Matthew Venn is my new favorite detective -- Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author of Garden of Lamentations Brilliant - a page-turning and sensitively told tale, with a vividly evoked North Devon setting, a powerful emotional heft and a new detective hero in Matthew Venn who you will want to follow for book after book. Wonderful! -- Chris Ewan, bestselling author of Safe House Ann Cleeves' new series gets off to a terrific start with The Long Call - her native Devon is wonderfully evoked, and Matthew Venn is a very appealing new detective. Another sure-fire hit -- Martin Edwards, author of Gallows Court Clever, compassionate and atmospheric, with a great cast of new characters to love. I am already a Matthew Venn fan -- Elly Griffiths Had me hooked - a promising beginning to another fine chapter in the Ann Cleeves story * The Times * As a huge fan of both the Shetland and Vera series of books, I had high expectations for Cleeves' latest. She easily exceeded those expectations with The Long Call. Matthew Venn is a keeper. A stunning debut for Cleeves' latest crimefighter -- David Baldacci

Book Description

Sunday Times bestselling author of the Shetland and Vera Stanhope series, Ann Cleeves returns with the first in a brand new series set in North Devon and featuring Detective Matthew Venn. In this rural idyll, where two rivers meet, crime is always there waiting to rise from the water.

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
30 customer ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

16 customer reviews

TOP 50 REVIEWER
10 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
29 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
19 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
11 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
21 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
6 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
28 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
21 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?