You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $1.60
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Lone City 1: The Jewel (The Lone City Trilogy) by [Ewing, Amy]
Kindle App Ad

The Lone City 1: The Jewel (The Lone City Trilogy) Kindle Edition

3.7 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$1.60

Length: 373 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

BlackFriday Sale
Save up to 70% on Kindle Books. Sale ends 25 November 2017 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Review

Dystopia with a feminist edge...hugely enjoyable, with strong characters and a nail-biting cliff-hanger. * The Bookseller * A very good dystopic tale with a brilliant ending that will leave you wanting to read the next instalment * Loves Books Read Daily * A shocking and compelling new YA series in a world where beauty and brutality collide -- Fiona Noble * Bookseller Children's Guide * WOW...truly unique. Horrifying and gripping all at once. * COMPANY * With echoes of The Handmaid's Tale, this is a fascinating fantasy. * Marie Claire * A fantastically original new fantasy which examines notions of identity and personhood against a lavish backdrop of opulent parties and riches galore. With dashes of magic, mystery and romance at every turn, there is real cross-genre appeal here and there is sure to be a large fan base once The Jewel hits the shelves. With a plot that is fresh and original and characters that are Intriguing, The Jewel is a brilliant debut, and one full of promise for a stunning series to develop. I, for one, cannot wait to see what else Ewing has to offer. * We Love this Book * Forbidden romance, life-threatening danger and a journey of terrible discoveries await in this thrilling opener to a daring, dynamic new series. * Lancashire Evening Post * Intriguing. * Books for Keeps * Compelling and heart pounding * Bath Chronicle * `This dystopian, dark romance will appeal to fans of Allie Condie and The Hunger Games. * Reading Zone * This book is truly incredible. -- Reader Review * The Guardian Online * This is a really good book, full of suspense and a real page-turner. -- Anna Morrow * Teen Titles * "This breath-taking YA novel follows the story of Violet Lasting, who loses her identity when she is auctioned off as a `surrogate' in the Jewel of the Lone City. [...] We mean it when we say that The Jewel is impossible to put down - and be sure to watch out for that insane plot twist..." * Stylist *

Product Description

Violet Lasting is no longer a human being. Tomorrow she becomes Lot 197, auctioned to the highest royal bidder in the Jewel of the Lone City. Tomorrow she becomes the Surrogate of the House of the Lake, her sole purpose to produce a healthy heir for the Duchess. Imprisoned in the opulent cage of the palace, Violet learns the brutal ways of the Jewel, where the royal women compete to secure their bloodline and the surrogates are treated as disposable commodities. Destined to carry the child of a woman she despises, Violet enters a living death of captivity – until she sets eyes on Ash Lockwood, the royal Companion. Compelled towards each other by a reckless, clandestine passion, Violet and Ash dance like puppets in a deadly game of court politics, until they become each other’s jeopardy – and salvation.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2869 KB
  • Print Length: 373 pages
  • Publisher: Walker (21 August 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00M0P6M1Y
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #23,267 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?


Look for similar items by category

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?