Buying Options

Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $2.00
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Little Voices by [Lillie, Vanessa]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Little Voices Kindle Edition

3.6 out of 5 stars 12 ratings

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$2.00

Length: 331 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

From the Editor

When babies are born, we expect their mothers to whisper to the infants in their arms, not whisper to the judgmental voices in their heads.

But Devon Burges can’t seem to quiet the voice that says she’s a bad parent, and that if she had died giving birth, maybe, somehow her friend Belina wouldn’t have been murdered. And then she wouldn’t be here, failing at parenting, making a mess of a police investigation, and dredging up old memories that no one wants to discuss.

Author Vanessa Lillie has created a propulsive mystery that is about both a woman’s complicated investigation of her friend’s murder and her sometimes-losing battle with postpartum depression. Devon wants to believe that her internal monologue won’t affect her external actions, but it’s the intersection of these two worlds that makes this one of the most compelling mysteries I’ve read this year.

Lillie crafts a narrative that calls into question everything we know about our friends, and more important, everything we know about ourselves. Somehow Lillie manages to deliver not one but two twists, which had me flipping back through the pages to read again.

- Jessica Tribble, Editor


Product description

Review

"[An] impressive debut...This superb psychological thriller is hard to put down." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Fast paced and psychologically complex, this debut mystery has plenty of twists and turns that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Megan Abbott." --Library Journal (starred review)

"Haunting and gripping...[Little Voices] grabs you from the first chapter and takes you on a twisting, turning journey with a surprise ending that will leave you stunned and wanting more." --The Miami News-Record

"With her debut novel Little Voices, Vanessa Lillie has arrived on the American literary scene with a flash of brilliance. Aficionados of mystery, thriller and horror will savor this intricately plotted page-turner that builds to a stunning denouement...[a] treasure of a book...Lovers of good fiction in general also will appreciate Little Voices--Rhode Islanders especially." --Providence Journal

"Little Voices checks all of the boxes of a great thriller, and then some." --Real Simple

"An unsettling mystery with an unreliable narrator who will keep you guessing the whole way through. Little Voices is as haunting as it is gripping." --Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish

"Intricate, unpredictable, and deliciously addictive." --Minka Kent, bestselling author of The Memory Watcher and The Thinnest Air

"Little Voices grabs you from the first chapter and doesn't let go until one shocking final twist. Vanessa Lillie is an author to watch, taking us deep into the world--and mind--of former prosecutor turned struggling new mom Devon Burges as she battles old politics, new money, big fish, and, worst of all, that little voice in her head to help solve the murder of her close friend. Psychological suspense at its best." --Kellye Garrett, Anthony, Agatha, and Lefty award-winning author of Hollywood Homicide

"From the opening chapter to the last line of the book, Vanessa Lillie takes you on a ride you won't be prepared for, but at the same time, won't want to end. Twists, turns, suspects, and small-town motives are around every corner with an ending that will blow you away. One of the best books I've read this year." --Matthew Farrell, bestselling author of What Have You Done

"Vanessa Lillie's Little Voices is my favorite kind of mystery: densely plotted, character rich, and full of sharp and perceptive writing. This is a stunning debut with a gut punch of a twist. You'll be reading all night long." --Jennifer Hillier, author of Jar of Hearts

"Little Voices is an utterly original debut novel with a twist so unexpected I jumped from the last page right back to the first to start reading again." --Victoria Helen Stone, bestselling author of Jane Doe

"Hypnotic and harrowing, Little Voices is psychological suspense at its best. The twisted path of wrongdoing that winds through the novel will keep you on the edge of your seat, but it's the little voices the narrator hears in her head that will haunt you. Vanessa Lillie's exceptional debut took my breath away." --Hilary Davidson, bestselling author of One Small Sacrifice

"Nothing not to love about this awesome, intriguing, exceptionally well-crafted, politico-financial murder thriller, that is not only a page-turner, but a model of how a woman can go through physical and mental wood-chippers, time and time again, and still be the strongest person in the room. Read it." --Shannon Kirk, international bestselling author of Method 15/33, In the Vines, and Gretchen

"I love this book. Complex plot. Sharp narration. Wonderfully deep characters and setting. So, so good!" --Wendy Walker, international-bestselling author of The Night Before and All Is Not Forgotten

"It's not easy to hit me with a twist I don't see coming, but Vanessa Lillie did just that in her smashing debut, Little Voices--a murder mystery, political thriller, and psychological suspense wrapped into one sensational story. Lillie doesn't shy away from big topics--postpartum depression and money laundering and child abuse--deftly weaving the layers into a twisty and surprising plot. A clever and addictive read from a bright new talent." --Kimberly Belle, bestselling author of The Marriage Lie and Dear Wife

"Little Voices is an engrossing, wholly satisfying thriller, complete with complex, morally ambiguous characters, an intricate plot, and clever twists--including one final twist so shocking that I gasped aloud." --Kathleen Barber, author of Are You Sleeping

Product Description

The voice in her head says he’s guilty. She knows he’s innocent.

Devon Burges is in the throes of a high-risk birth when she learns of her dear friend’s murder. The police quickly name another friend as the chief suspect, but Devon doesn’t buy it—and despite her difficult recovery, she decides to investigate.

Haunted by postpartum problems that manifest as a cruel voice in her head, Devon is barely getting by. Yet her instincts are still sharp, and she’s bent on proving her friend’s innocence.

But as Devon digs into the evidence, the voice in her head grows more insistent, the danger more intense. Each layer is darker, more disturbing, and she’s not sure she—or her baby—can survive what lies at the truth.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3247 KB
  • Print Length: 331 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas & Mercer (1 October 2019)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07MQRGWXM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #779 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
12 customer ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

9 customer reviews

20 October 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
13 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
28 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
28 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
28 October 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
7 October 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
28 September 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
7 October 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?