You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $1.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
The Lion at Sea (Captain Kelly Maguire Trilogy Book 1) by [Hennessy, Max]
Kindle App Ad

The Lion at Sea (Captain Kelly Maguire Trilogy Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$1.99

Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Language: English
  • Similar books to The Lion at Sea (Captain Kelly Maguire Trilogy Book 1)

Winter Sale
Up to 70% off on over 300 Kindle Books. Sale ends on 31st August 2019 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

A young recruit; a legendary battle; a cataclysmic war; a baptism by fire...

Confident and strong willed, Kelly Maguire knew from a young age that he could accomplish great things. A constant and abiding love of the ocean would prove to be the making of him.

When the call of war is heard in the early 1910s, Kelly knows that he must answer it. Enlisting in the Royal Navy, he hopes to win both the war and personal glory.

But from the barbarous battles of Gallipoli to the nightmarish action at Antwerp, Kelly, along with his young shipmates, begins to learn the trials a sailor must face, trials that will forge him from a boy into a man. As the epic battle of Jutland approaches, everything is at stake.

A gritty adventure full of danger, blood and guts, perfect for fans of David McDine, Alan Evans and Alexander Fullerton.

About the Author

John Harris, who also wrote under the pen names of Mark Hebden and Max Hennessy, was born in 1916. He authored the best-selling and later filmed The Sea Shall Not Have Them, a story of survival and rescue from World War II that continues to be periodically screened on TV. He was a sailor, an airman, a journalist, a travel courier, a cartoonist, and a history teacher. After turning to full-time writing, he wrote adventure stories, war novels, political thrillers, and also created a sequence of crime novels around the quirky French Chief Inspector Pel, centered primarily in Burgundy, but occasionally Paris and elsewhere. Harris was unusually versatile and wide ranging as an author. Epics such as China Seas and the three trilogies written under the pseudonym Max Hennessy, along with African adventure novels, wide-ranging crime, mysteries, and historical fiction, all guarantee a library of diverse and entertaining reading full of dry wit and gripping prose.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1446 KB
  • Publisher: Canelo Action (4 March 2019)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07N43TSRV
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #5,530 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

8 customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

9 May 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
26 April 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
14 July 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
9 May 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 June 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
8 June 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
1 June 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
18 June 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?