You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $5.83
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
The Lingering by [Holliday, SJI]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Lingering Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.83

Length: 256 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Browse our most popular books based on sales
Find your next great read. Shop best selling books

Product description

Review

"A compulsive read until the final, breathtaking page." --Elizabeth Haynes, author, Behind Closed Doors

"Deliciously dark and twisted . . . Add it to your wish list now if you like being scared silly!" --Mark Edwards, author, The Retreat

"Brilliantly chilling and perfectly paced. Ghosts, witchcraft, murder and manipulation." --Anna Mazzola, author, The Unseeing

"An outstanding work of modern gothic which perfectly captures the ghosted isolation of the fens and the more tangible terrors of a remote commune, where historical abuses meet contemporary horrors. In the new wave of gothic novels The Lingering is a stand out triumph." --Eva Dolan, author, This Is How It Ends

"An unsettling tale of hauntings, both real and metaphorical, that lingers in the mind long after the reader turns the final page. A top-notch supernatural thriller." --Mason Cross, author, Don't Look for Me

"One of the most original ghost stores I have ever read, The Lingering pays homage to classic spooky tales and completely subverts them at the same time. Highly recommended." --Cass Green, author, In a Cottage in a Wood

"The Lingering is a gripping read, full of creeping menace and insidious dread, perfectly paced and guaranteed to cause you sleepless nights for all the right reasons. Fans of Susan Hill and Andrew Taylor, take note. One of my favourite authors." --David Mark, author, Dead Pretty

"A relentlessly unnerving mystery--like shuffling footsteps from a long-locked attic." --Matt Wesolowski, author, Six Stories

"Readers will find this contemporary gothic take hard to put down." --Publishers Weekly

Product Description

A twisty, chilling psychological thriller cum gothic ghost story set in a Victorian psychiatric home with a disturbing history…

‘Saunters from creepy to genuinely terrifying … I was completely unable to put it down’ Elizabeth Haynes

‘In the new wave of gothic novels, The Lingering is a stand-out triumph’ Eva Dolan

‘An atmospheric chiller of a book … reminiscent of early James Herbert’ Fiona Cummins

Married couple Jack and Ali Gardiner move to a self-sufficient commune in the English Fens, desperate for fresh start. The local village is known for the witches who once resided there and Rosalind House, where the commune has been established, is a former psychiatric home, with a disturbing history.

When Jack and Ali arrive, a chain of unexpected and unexplained events is set off, and it becomes clear that they are not all that they seem. As the residents become twitchy, and the villagers suspicious, events from the past come back to haunt them, and someone is seeking retribution…

At once an unnerving mystery, a chilling thriller and a dark and superbly wrought ghost story, The Lingering is an exceptionally plotted, terrifying and tantalisingly twisted novel by one of the most exciting authors in the genre.

'Utterly beguiling and darkly sinister, this superb Gothic ghost tale is a brilliantly crafted rug puller’ Lisa Howells, Heat Magazine

‘A wonderful cross-over novel that ranges from taut psychological chiller to supernatural suspense … Nail-biting stuff, superbly executed’ Sunday Times Crime Club

‘Readers will find this contemporary gothic tale hard to put down’ Publishers Weekly

‘A thrilling, chilling, shocking tale, perfect if you take delight in an icy shiver scuttling down your spine’ LoveReading

‘An atmospheric chiller of a book, full of secrets and shadows. The house at the heart of this spine-tingling story looms as large as its impressive cast of characters. Holliday’s evocative writing is reminiscent of early James Herbert’ Fiona Cummins

’Cements Holliday’s position as one of the most gifted and entertaining psychological thriller writers in the business’ Steve Cavanagh

‘Brilliantly chilling and perfectly paced’ Anna Mazzola

'Fascinating fusion of murder mystery and ghost story. Blood-chilling from beginning to end’ Paul Finch

‘One of the most original ghost stories I have ever read’ Cass Green

‘Like Stephen King meets Thomas Harris’ Derek Farrell

‘A serious spine-chiller from an exceptional talent’ Chris Whitaker

‘Tense and chilling, with a creeping sense of unease’ Neil Broadfoot

‘Perfectly paced and guaranteed to cause you sleepless nights for all the right reasons. Fans of Susan Hill and Andrew Taylor, take note’ David Mark

Creepy, unsettling and all-consuming’ Jenny Blackhurst

‘Spooky, compelling and chilling’ Jane Isaac

‘Eerie and unsettling, with a bittersweet beauty’ Fergus McNeill

‘Unnerved me right from the start’ June Taylor

’A perfect winter read’ Lisa Gray

‘An unsettling tale of haunting … that lingers in the mind’ Mason Cross

‘A relentlessly unnerving mystery – like shuffling footsteps from a long-locked attic’ Matt Wesolowski

‘Gets under your skin and stays there’ Quentin Bates

‘The story is at the same time a locked room mystery, a chilling thriller and a dark and complex ghost story which has been described as both creepy and chilling’ Mystery People


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 850 KB
  • Print Length: 320 pages
  • Publisher: ORENDA BOOKS; None edition (15 September 2018)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07DFVXVDX
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #18,311 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

TOP 100 REVIEWER
8 December 2018

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.4 out of 5 stars 16 reviews
purplekarma1970
4.0 out of 5 starsPart ghost story, part psychological thriller
7 May 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
TripFiction
4.0 out of 5 starsNovel set in Cambridgeshire from the Queen of creepy storytelling
27 September 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
One person found this helpful.
The Belgian Reviewer
5.0 out of 5 starsNail-biter of a novel
2 November 2018 - Published on Amazon.com