Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership
$23.20
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Light on the Hill: 1 Paperback – 6 February 2018

4.8 out of 5 stars 269 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$23.20
$21.13
FREE delivery: 10 - 11 March on first order.
Fastest delivery: Tuesday, 9 March

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Frequently bought together

  • Light on the Hill: 1
  • +
  • Shelter of the Most High: 2
  • +
  • Until the Mountains Fall: 3
Total Price: $60.26
Buy the selected items together

Save on selected Penguin Classics and Popular Penguin books.
View our selection and latest deals. Click to explore.

Product details

  • Publisher : Bethany House Publishers (6 February 2018)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 338 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0764219863
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0764219863
  • Dimensions : 13.89 x 2.13 x 21.59 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 269 ratings

Product description

From the Back Cover

". . . must-reads for fans of Biblical and historical fiction."--RT Book Reviews on the Out from Egypt series

Though Israel has found relative peace, Moriyah has yet to find her own. Attempting to avoid the scorn of her community, she's spent the last seven years hiding behind the veil she wears. Underneath her covering, her face is branded with the mark of the Canaanite gods, a shameful reminder of her past captivity in Jericho and an assurance that no man will ever want to marry her.

When her father finds a widower who needs a mother for his two sons, her hopes rise. But when their introduction goes horribly wrong, Moriyah is forced to flee for her life. Seeking safety at one of the newly established Levitical cities of refuge, she is wildly unprepared for the dangers she will face and the enemies--and unexpected allies--she will encounter on her way.

"Cossette delivers a soul-deep, spirit-stirring adventure set amidst the vivid, awe-inspiring beauty of the Promised Land. . . . The richness and depth of the storytelling beg readers to savor each chapter while the action-packed plot compels page after page. . . . Both the historically fascinating culture of the Levitical cities of refuge and engaging characters that challenge expectations with refreshing diversity and complexity increase the enticement of future series installments and rereads."--RT Book Reviews Top Pick

"Cossette debuts a biblical series that revolves around the Old Testament's Levitical sanctuary cities, set against the backdrop of ancient Israel. Accessible and fluid character-driven storytelling creates a fascinating read that will appeal to fans of Jill Eileen Smith and Angela Hunt and those who prefer their biblical fiction less academic."--Library Journal

"Cossette has an uncanny ability to deep-dive into her characters. I loved the main and secondary characters alike, all with just enough backstory to create a diverse mix of interwoven perspectives. Plot wise, I could not predict anything that happened. Each new turn on the characters' path is unexpected and engaging, making this a page-turner. . . . This book possesses a strong emotional heart, constantly wrestling with faith, forgiveness, acceptance, love, and trust. Cossette's talent in lovingly drawing out characters as well as historical settings is stunning and delightful, making her one of my favorite authors. Recommended!" --Historical Novels Review

About the Author

Connilyn Cossette (www.connilyncossette.com) is a Christy Award and Carol Award winning author whose books have been found on ECPA and CBA bestseller lists. When she is not engulfed in the happy chaos of homeschooling two teenagers, devouring books whole, or avoiding housework, she can be found digging into the rich ancient world of the Bible to discover gems of grace that point to Jesus and weaving them into an immersive fiction experience. Although she and her husband have lived all over the country in their twenty-plus years of marriage, they currently call a little town south of Dallas, Texas, their home.

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
269 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 13 July 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 17 May 2019
Verified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 19 February 2018
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 26 December 2020

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 January 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Sharon M.
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 August 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Anon
5.0 out of 5 stars Great holiday read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 October 2018
Verified Purchase
Mrs. A
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 August 2018
Verified Purchase