You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $6.50
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Lifeform Three by [Morris, Roz]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Lifeform Three Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$6.50

Length: 266 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

BlackFriday Sale
Save up to 70% on Kindle Books. Sale ends 25 November 2017 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Review

'I have not read speculative fiction of this calibre since Ray Bradbury was in his prime. And though not as High Gothic, Morris's work also reminds me of Mervyn Peake, himself a creator of unforgettable words and worlds' - Miss Chinaski 'For many die-hard science fiction readers, the one factor defining the genre is the question of what makes us human. The old masters of the art--Asimov, Clarke, Heinlein, and Bradbury--regularly answered that question using robots, trans-humans, and even Martians. My favorite novels tend to fall into that category, and I've added new writers to my list, which now includes Gibson and Bacigalupi. This is my first experience with Ms. Morris' fiction. I'm glad to say that she has produced a wonderful, intimate fable using her non-human representatives, the bods, as a mirror to see what we may have sacrificed, what we have become, and to what dreams we still have a chance to attain as human beings.' - S Garriott 'A hybrid of strong storytelling, fable and dream' - John Whitbourn, Victor Gollancz award winner 'Such a book defies classification by genre. The story is a fable, a dystopian fiction, an introspective mystery. Think of the brilliantly maddening film Memento, set in a Blade Runner universe. Think of Doris Lessing on a blind date with Franz Kafka. Think of any author you care to name who pursues an idiosyncratic vision with single-minded purpose.' - A Trask 'Eloquently written. Story line engrossing. I am tempted to compare Roz Morris's style to Margaret Atwood's. But I'm not sure that will do it justice. Though this book has a similar "feel" to Atwood's science fiction novels, because of its literary nature, the comparison is still weak, because Morris is a writer in a class of her own.' - Jessica Bell 'Basically. I loved it.' - Peter Snell, bookseller, Leatherhead, Surrey 'There's a dreamlike quality to the simple delivery, which allows both plot and theme to bubble to the surface at the same steady pace as Paftoo's awakening. I was reminded of several other scifi stories (A.I. Artificial Intelligence, Blade Runner, Moon) but never felt it was unduly influenced by any of them. I'd recommend it.' - Stuart Wakefield 'Evocative, haunting, exhilerating, heartbreaking... these are not usually words I expect to write about a sci-fi novel but, oh my goodness, Lifeform 3 is so beautifully written, it's so unexpectedly moving, insightful, moving and ultimately uplifting, despite the dark picture it paints of mankind's future.' - Kavey 'I'd wanted to read this for a long time and I wasn't disappointed. If anything, the book was better than I expected. It had all the things I like in a novel about androids in a future dystopia but it also had two things I don't usually find in such books - a British setting, and a gentle narrative. No violence or killing despite plenty of suspense - a big relief to me. It's a book I will probably read again, and will certainly keep on my shelves.' - Amika 'Reminded me of novels like Brave New World and some of George Orwell's writing - Morris imagines a future which implies more than a little criticism of the world we live in now. However, concerns that the book would turn into heavy-handed preaching proved entirely unfounded. The setting forms the background to a pacy and well-told story which, by the end, left me with a great fondness for the central character.' - Dr Dominic Camus 'The style of writing put me in mind a little of Atwood's Handmaid's Tale, but this has a more contemporary feel and is very relevant to our modern world.' - Jilly Hilton 'Marvellous. The writing is lovely, the world is strange and well-constructed, and the characters are deeply moving. I am extremely picky about the books I finish, and I found I couldn't stop thinking about this one.' Kij Johnson, Hugo & Nebula award winner

Product Description

*** SHORTLISTED for the People's Book Prize. LONGLISTED for the World Fantasy Award ***

'Marvellous, powerful, beautiful' Kij Johnson, specialist in speculative fiction, multi-times winner of the Hugo and Nebula Award

'Beautifully written; meaningful; top-drawer storytelling in the tradition of Atwood and Bradbury' League of Extraordinary Authors

Misty woods; abandoned towns; secrets in the landscape; a forbidden life by night; the scent of bygone days; a past that lies below the surface; and a door in a dream that seems to hold the answers.

Paftoo is a 'bod'; made to serve. He is a groundsman on the last remaining countryside estate, once known as Harkaway Hall -- now a theme park. Paftoo holds scattered memories of the old days, but they are regularly deleted to keep him productive.

When he starts to have dreams of the Lost Lands' past and his cherished connection with Lifeform Three, Paftoo is propelled into a nocturnal battle to reclaim his memories, his former companions and his soul.

Includes an appendix of suggested questions for reading groups.

'An extraordinary novel in the tradition of the great old school literary sci-fi' - NYT bestselling author Joni Rodgers

About the author
Roz Morris's fiction has sold more than 4 million copies worldwide, although you won't have seen her name on the covers as she ghostwrote for high-profile authors. She is now writing acclaimed fiction under her own name. She is a writer, journalist, fiction editor and the author of the Nail Your Novel series for writers. Her first novel as herself was My Memories of a Future Life. She teaches creative writing masterclasses for The Guardian newspaper in London.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3442 KB
  • Print Length: 266 pages
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00HCQMXNW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #850,852 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 2 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.9 out of 5 stars 29 reviews
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsLifeform Three
on 1 February 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsSpmething New Has This Way Come
on 24 August 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsMemories of a Past Life
on 4 February 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?