You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Digital List Price: $17.01
Kindle Price: $13.61

Save $3.40 (20%)

includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Leopard (Marakand) by [Johansen, K. V.]
Kindle App Ad

The Leopard (Marakand) Kindle Edition


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.61

Length: 432 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

What's New in Kindle Unlimited
Discover this month's featured titles, now available to read for £0.00. Learn more

Product description

Review

"Johansen's characters project believability, and her world is full of rich and vivid detail. High fantasy for lovers of mythology and of powerful beings in human form, this adult fantasy debut should appeal to fans of Robert Jordan's 'Wheel of Time' series."

--"Library Journal", on "Blackdog"


"I'm hooked. The mix of magic, Tibetan-style religion, and Harold Lamb-style adventure is pretty addicting." --James Enge, World Fantasy Award-nominated author of" Wrath-Bearing Tree"

"Interesting and absorbing; "Blackdog" takes as its heart, and its strength, a subject that most fantasy writers shy away from--the Gods themselves." --Tom Lloyd, author of The Twilight Reign series

"An involving and deftly written novel of escape and capture, love and loss, and battles both mental and physical.... Johansen's writing style is assures and elegant, subtle and powerful.... Fans of C. J. Cherryh, Elizabeth Bear, and George R. R. Martin will find the same intelligence, wit, and mastery of language in "The Leopard". K. V. Johansen has written a winner."
-"ForeWord Reviews"

"There is something heart-warmingly old-fashioned about K.V. Johansen's latest novel.... The fantasy genre is currently full to the brim with gritty and post-modern versions of" A Game of Thrones" or overly dark retellings of "Lord of the Rings. The Leopard" bucks this trend by drawing on a legacy of pulpy, swords and sandals-style tales reminiscent of "The Wheel of Time" series but with a classic edge that feels as if it's come from the 1950s."
-"Starburst Magazine"

"An involving and deftly written novel of escape and capture, love and loss, and battles both mental and physical.... Johansen's writing style is assures and elegant, subtle and powerful.... Fans of C. J. Cherryh, Elizabeth Bear, and George R. R. Martin will find the same intelligence, wit, and mastery of language in The Leopard. K. V. Johansen has written a winner."
-ForeWord Reviews

"There is something heart-warmingly old-fashioned about K.V. Johansen's latest novel.... The fantasy genre is currently full to the brim with gritty and post-modern versions of A Game of Thrones or overly dark retellings of Lord of the Rings. The Leopard bucks this trend by drawing on a legacy of pulpy, swords and sandals-style tales reminiscent of The Wheel of Time series but with a classic edge that feels as if it's come from the 1950s."
-Starburst Magazine

Product Description

Ahjvar, the assassin known as the Leopard, wants only to die, to end the curse that binds him to a life of horror. Although he has no reason to trust the goddess Catairanach or her messenger Deyandara, fugitive heir to a murdered tribal queen, desperation leads him to accept her bargain: if he kills the mad prophet known as the Voice of Marakand, Catairanach will free him of his curse. Accompanying him on his mission is the one person he has let close to him in a lifetime of death, a runaway slave named Ghu. Ahj knows Ghu is far from the half-wit others think him, but in Marakand, the great city where the caravan roads of east and west meet, both will need to face the deepest secrets of their souls, if either is to survive the undying enemies who hunt them and find a way through the darkness that damns the Leopard.

To Marakand, too, come a Northron wanderer and her demon verrbjarn lover, carrying the obsidian sword Lakkariss, a weapon forged by the Old Great Gods to bring their justice to the seven devils who escaped the cold hells so long before.
 




From the Trade Paperback edition.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2270 KB
  • Print Length: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Pyr (10 June 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00HBQIFU8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #384,482 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

There are no local customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.2 out of 5 stars 11 reviews
2 people found this helpful.
3.0 out of 5 starsI liked it very much and will definitely read the next installments
on 16 July 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
3.0 out of 5 starsGood Story Cut Short
on 10 August 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2.0 out of 5 starsWhat Leopard?
on 1 September 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsFive Stars
on 24 June 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3.0 out of 5 starsThree Stars
on 11 January 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?