$24.65 + FREE Delivery
In stock.
Ships from and sold by BuyGlobal.
$24.65 + FREE Delivery
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$24.65
& Free Delivery on eligible orders See details and conditions
Sold by: Amazon AU
Add to Cart
$24.77
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Add to Cart
$25.78
+ $3.00 delivery
Sold by: Rarewaves UK
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me Paperback – 7 May 2019


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$24.65
$19.37
click to open popover

Product details


Product description

Review

"Pithy dialogue is neatly trimmed to speech-bubble size, and the manga-esque styling suits characters to a T, from doe-eyed, love-smitten Freddy to lean, angular Laura...as a cautionary tale or as an invitation to a pity party, this packs catharsis into every frame." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

"Touching gently but powerfully on topics of bullying, homophobia, and toxic relationships, this superb graphic novel has its finger on the pulse of teenage concerns." --Booklist, starred review

"This exploration of toxic relationships and social dynamics at the cusp of adulthood is, like its cast, sharp and dazzling."--Publisher's Weekly, starred review

"Tamaki explores the nuances of both romantic and platonic relationships with raw tenderness and honesty. Valero-O'Connell's art is realistic and expressive, bringing the characters to life through dynamic grayscale illustrations featuring highlights of millennial pink...a triumphant queer coming-of-age story that will make your heart ache and soar." --Kirkus, starred review

"Relatable, heart-wrenching, and often funny... Black-and-white panel illustrations with pink accents provide additional characterization and feature a cast diverse in race, gender identity, and body type." --Horn Book, starred review

"Tamaki and Valero-O'Connell's tender-hearted narrative sings with real, honest emotion that will resonate with anyone trying to figure out love." --The New York Times

"Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me is the perfect next read for fans of Love, Simon and To All The Boys I've Loved Before, books about young love and struggling to figure out what it means... It's exactly the sort of book that a lot of teens need to read to feel a little less alone, and a good gateway graphic novel for fans of Netflix's new glut of romances or a stepping-stone for readers ready to graduate from graphic novels like The Baby-Sitters Club adaptations to more complicated, nuanced stories." --Paste

"Tamaki and Valero-O'Connell do bring to life an artful narrative of relationships--old, new, harmful, and healing--and what happens when you learn to navigate them." --School Library Journal

"The visual storytelling is precise and thoughtful, and it's evident that the artist has spent a lot of time designing spaces that feel lived in and characters who immediately exhibit specific personalities... Tamaki excels when she's writing stories about young women discovering their strength in times of crisis, and Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me falls right in her creative sweet spot." --the A.V. Club

Book Description

From This One Summer co-creator Mariko Tamaki comes a hilarious and poignant story of teen heartbreak and friendship.

No customer reviews


Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.4 out of 5 stars 20 reviews
Dama
5.0 out of 5 starsA great story about a terrible situation
24 June 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
Serena L.
4.0 out of 5 starsExcellent Story, Gorgeous Artwork
5 June 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Lauren D.
5.0 out of 5 starsA precious and permanent addition to my shelf
25 May 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Yasmin Colon
5.0 out of 5 starsGreat story!
8 May 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
Theodora Patterson
5.0 out of 5 starsI was almost crying by the end!
10 June 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase