<Embed>
$28.04
& FREE Delivery on orders over $39.00 . Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
The Last Romantics has been added to your Cart
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Last Romantics Paperback – 26 Feb 2019

4.1 out of 5 stars 324 ratings

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Audible Audiobook, Unabridged
Paperback, 26 Feb 2019
$28.04
$28.04

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Free expedited shipping on products sold by Amazon AU when you purchase select books. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently bought together

  • The Last Romantics
  • +
  • Searching for Sylvie Lee
  • +
  • Evvie Drake Starts Over: When you get a second chance, will you be brave enough to take it?
Total Price: A$94.25
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins - GB (26 February 2019)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0008323348
  • ISBN-13: 978-0008323349
  • Product Dimensions: 15.3 x 2.7 x 23.4 cm
  • Boxed-product Weight: 440 g
  • Customer Reviews:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 461,970 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product description

Review

‘A modern epic … in the vein of Commonwealth, The Last Romantics is a sweeping look at what binds families together’ Glamour

‘Engrossing and vivid . . . A richly observed novel, both ambitious and welcoming’ New York Times bestselling author, Meg Wolitzer

‘It is the strength and fragility of the siblings’ bond, the evolving nature of love that is at the core of Conklin’s novel…Gracefully rendered, The Last Romantics focuses on the familiar theme of family with great originality’ Washington Post

‘A beautifully written story of four siblings' love for one another across their entire lives… Perfectly paced, affecting fiction’ Booklist

‘Clever’ Publishers Weekly

‘There’s so much love and loss in this book that I read it with a box of tissues, laughing with astonishment through the tears. The kind of book you lose yourself in’ Lisa Gabriele, author of The Winters

‘All of the luxuriously spun characters in The Last Romantics, entwined via that impossible web we call family, unfold over their many years with the perfect balance of familiarity and wonder that makes turning their pages such a pleasure’ Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is

‘A triumph of storytelling, an ambitious examination of the failures of love and how we, against all odds, find a way to survive…. A complex, resonant work that will reshape your understanding of family’ Kevin Wilson, author of The Family Fang

‘Intensely moving’ Shanina Piyarali, Shelf Awareness

More praise for Tara Conklin:

‘A wise, stirring and assured debut’ Maria Semple, NYT bestselling author of Where’d You Go Bernadette

‘Assured and arresting … You cannot put it down’ Chicago Tribune

About the Author

Tara Conklin has worked as a litigator in the New York and London offices of a major corporate law firm but now devotes her time to writing fiction. She received a BA in history from Yale University, a JD from New York University School of Law, and a Master of Arts in Law and Diplomacy from the Fletcher School at Tufts University. Her short fiction has appeared in the Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology and Pangea: An Anthology of Stories from Around the Globe. Born in St. Croix, she grew up in Massachusetts and now lives with her family in Seattle, Washington.

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
324 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
Reviewed in Australia on 26 July 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Top international reviews

Elizabeth Endean
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book and it is the first book club pick of Jenna Bush Hager on the Today show
Reviewed in Canada on 30 March 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Deirdre Fitzpatrick
5.0 out of 5 stars Early trauma always finds a voice.
Reviewed in Canada on 18 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
cynthia connelly
3.0 out of 5 stars Good not great
Reviewed in Canada on 6 April 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
JEA
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting characters - very well
Reviewed in Canada on 25 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Lorna J. Macdonald
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not sure what you want me to say here!
Reviewed in Canada on 30 March 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
carilynp
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is something special. Read it today and remember it forever.
Reviewed in the United States on 12 February 2019
Verified Purchase
71 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Mabel
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time
Reviewed in the United States on 6 March 2019
Verified Purchase
43 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Adam N Tobin
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book
Reviewed in the United States on 14 February 2019
Verified Purchase
37 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Cathy D
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story about families
Reviewed in the United States on 28 February 2019
Verified Purchase
31 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
RB
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not enjoy this book
Reviewed in the United States on 25 April 2019
Verified Purchase
24 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars I was very sad to finish this story..
Reviewed in the United States on 9 March 2019
Verified Purchase
18 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Pamela B. Russell
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Books I've Read.
Reviewed in the United States on 1 March 2019
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Jennifer Roup
4.0 out of 5 stars A great family drama
Reviewed in the United States on 20 February 2019
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amanda
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a disappointment
Reviewed in the United States on 12 April 2019
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Patricia Horanberg
5.0 out of 5 stars Decisions made in the past effect the future you.
Reviewed in the United States on 25 February 2019
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse