You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $14.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
Migrations by [Charlotte McConaghy]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Migrations Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 3,623 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$14.99
Length: 260 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $13.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

Instant National Bestseller
#1 IndieNext Pick
Amazon Spotlight Pick
Barnes & Noble Discover Pick
A Best Book of the Year (TIME)

"Visceral and haunting...As well as a first-rate work of climate fiction, Migrations is also a clever reimagining of Moby-Dick...This novel's prose soars with its transporting descriptions of the planet's landscapes and their dwindling inhabitants, and contains many wonderful meditations on our responsibilities to our earthly housemates...Migrations is a nervy and well-crafted novel, one that lingers long after its voyage is over."
--The New York Times Book Review

The beauty and the heartbreak of this novel is that it's not preposterous. It feels true and affecting, elegiac and imminent...The fractured timeline fills each chapter with suspense and surprises, parceled out so tantalizingly that it took disciplined willpower to keep from skipping down each page to see what happens...In many ways, this is a story about grieving, an intimate tale of anguish set against the incalculable bereavements of climate change...Ultimately hopeful.
--The Washington Post

"An aching and poignant book, and one that's pressing in its timeliness. It's often devastating in its depictions of grief, especially the wider, harder to grasp grief of living in a world that has changed catastrophically...But it's also a book about love, about trying to understand and accept the creatureliness that exists within our selves, and what it means to be a human animal, that we might better accommodate our own wildness within the world."
--The Guardian

"Powerful...Vibrant...Unique...If worry is the staple emotion that most climate fiction evokes in its readers, Migrations--the novelistic equivalent of an energizing cold plunge--flutters off into more expansive territory...McConaghy has a gift for sketching out enveloping, memorable characters using only the smallest of strokes... Migrations, rather than struggle to convince readers of some plan of environmental action, instead puts humans in their place."
--Los Angeles Times

"Thrilling...In piecing together who this mysterious protagonist really is, McConaghy creates a detailed portrait of a woman on the cusp of collapse, consumed with a world that is every bit as broken as she is. Migrations offers a grim window into a future that doesn't feel very removed from our own, which makes Franny's voice all the more powerful. In understanding how nature can heal us, McConaghy underlines why it urgently needs to be protected."
--TIME

"A good nautical adventure...Migrations moves at a fast, exciting clip, motored as much by love for 'creatures that aren't human' as by outrage at their destruction."
--The Wall Street Journal

[A] tantalizingly beautiful epic.
--Elle

"You can practically hear the glaciers cracking to pieces and the shrill yelps of the circling terns."
--Vulture

"Suspenseful, atmospheric...As much a mystery as an odyssey."
--Vogue

Gorgeous...A personal reckoning that cuts right to the heart. This beautiful novel is an ode--if not an elegy--to an endangered planet and the people and places we love."
--Literary Hub

At a time when it feels like we're at the end of the world, this novel about a different kind of end of the world serves as both catharsis and escape.
--Harper's Bazaar

An ode to our disappearing natural world.
--Newsweek

"Migrations is a gripping tale that ultimately celebrates the beauty and resilience of the creatures--human and animal--that endure."
--Sierra Magazine

"An exceptional novel that is both elegy and page-turning thriller."
--Maclean's Magazine

"[Migrations] could be taking place in two years or 20 years, but it could just as well be happening today...A consummate blend of issue and portrait, warning and affirmation, this heartbreaking, lushly written work is highly recommended."
--Library Journal (starred review)

"Transfixing, gorgeously precise...[The] evocation of a world bereft of wildlife is piercing; Franny's otherworldliness is captivating, and her extreme misadventures and anguished secrets are gripping."
--Booklist (starred review)

Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer.
--Emily St. John Mandel, author of The Glass Hotel and Station Eleven

This novel is enchanting, but not in some safe, fairy-tale sense. Charlotte McConaghy has harnessed the rough magic that sears our souls. I recommend Migrations with my whole heart.
--Geraldine Brooks, author of The Secret Chord and March

Migrations is a wonder. I read it in a gasp. There is hope in these pages; a balm for these troubled times. Charlotte McConaghy's words cut through to the bone.
--Lara Prescott, author of The Secrets We Kept

"An astounding meditation on love, trauma, and the cost of survival. A true force of a book that I read holding my breath from its start to its symphonic finish."
--Julia Fine, author of What Should Be Wild

"Migrations is indeed about loss--but what makes it miraculous is that it is also about hope. Written in prose as gorgeous as the crystalline beauty of the Arctic, Migrations is deeply moving, haunting, and, yes, important."
--Caroline Leavitt, author of Pictures of You and Cruel Beautiful World

"At times devastating and, at others, surprisingly, undeniably hopeful...Brimming with stunning imagery and raw emotion, Migrations is the incredible story of personal redemption, self-forgiveness and hope for the future in the face of a world on the brink of collapse."
--Shelf Awareness

--This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Book Description

For readers of Station Eleven and Everything I Never Told You, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world's last birds - and her own final chance for redemption. --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

From the Publisher

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B085Z9BTGZ
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Penguin eBooks (4 August 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1112 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 260 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 3,623 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
3,623 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 30 September 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 24 September 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 27 August 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 16 October 2020
Verified Purchase
TOP 10 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 9 August 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 2 December 2020
Reviewed in Australia on 15 November 2020

Top reviews from other countries

Carolyn
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and atmospheric with an annoying protagonist
Reviewed in Canada on 11 August 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Bunny
4.0 out of 5 stars An uncommon adventure
Reviewed in France on 16 August 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Daniel Glass
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book about life,death, and in-between
Reviewed in Canada on 11 February 2021
Verified Purchase
Kimber
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
Reviewed in Canada on 27 August 2020
Verified Purchase
petey
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read.
Reviewed in Germany on 9 March 2021
Verified Purchase