<Embed>
$14.83
FREE Delivery on first order. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Last Brother Paperback – 9 April 2019

4.3 out of 5 stars 27 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$14.83
$14.83
Arrives: 3 - 10 Dec
Fastest delivery: Monday, 7 Dec

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • The Last Brother
  • +
  • BUTTON MAN
  • +
  • The Fifth Column
Total Price: $76.95
Buy the selected items together

Black Friday Sale - Deals you don't want to miss
Discover deals on Books and more. Shop now

Product details

  • Paperback : 352 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1509878394
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1509878390
  • Dimensions : 13 x 2.6 x 19.6 cm
  • Publisher : Pan (9 April 2019)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 27 ratings

Product description

Review

Not to be missed * Providence Journal * Another powerful mix of suspense and vivid characterization rooted in an earlier, darker time * Connecticut Post * Historical fiction fans will be drawn in by the details of the author's own family history in the garment industry * Library Journal * Andrew Gross is in top form with this beautifully haunting novel that mixes history seamlessly with fiction . . . an epic journey of struggle, hope, death and life. Riveting to the very last page * NY Journal of Books * The strength of this suspenseful novel lies in its dark humor and characterizations of the brothers . . . The sometimes gritty, sometimes swanky settings bring a tumultuous time and place to brimming life * Historical Novel Society * A riveting piece of historical fiction, mixed with family saga, exposing the Jewish mob of the 1930's who preyed on the garment industry and the brave few who stood up against them. This book is a heart-stopper. I loved, LOVED it! -- Linda Fairstein A gut-wrenching, noirish portrait of Jewish organized crime and labor unionism in 1930s New York . . . These are characters you won't forget . . . Alternately frightful and fascinating, the story viscerally describes the era, exposing the motives and fears that drive each character and play out on the streets * Booklist * It is a powerful book written at a fierce pace and packed with many a memorable scene * Publisher's Weekly * A highly satisfying story of family loyalty, persistence, courage, and crime * Kirkus Reviews * Andrew Gross' prowess for rich historical mysteries, usually with a Jewish theme, takes another leap forward * South Florida Sun Sentinel * The author incorporates his real family history to enrich the story, and his love of that rich genealogical connection along with vast research into life in the Big Apple almost a century ago results in another outstanding and engrossing read * Associated Press * A compelling, fast paced historical thriller that paints a rich portrait of the rise of organized crime in 1930's America. Fans of Boardwalk Empire and Dennis Lehane will love it -- Kristin Hannah This is a big, heartfelt handshake of a book, with all the street-scrambling energy that distinguishes the best fiction of Jeffrey Archer and Mario Puzo * USA Today * Mr. Gross's direct style is full of sentiment but never maudlin and well-suited to scenes of violent action . . . has plenty of zip-and lots of moxie, too * Wall Street Journal *

Review

From International Number One Bestseller Andrew Gross, <i><b>The Last Brother</b></i> is the thrilling historical novel about three brothers and the Mafia in 1930s New York.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
27 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 19 December 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 10 November 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Julie Alexander
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 July 2019
Verified Purchase
Tony McDermott
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 May 2020
Verified Purchase
big col
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 July 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
John-PaulSanders
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, gripping read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 October 2018
Verified Purchase
Armchairgardener
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 July 2019
Verified Purchase