Buying Options

Kindle Price: $11.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
The Last Of The Bonegilla Girls by [Purman, Victoria]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Last Of The Bonegilla Girls Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$11.99

Length: 432 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss Allens
Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.

Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them?

1954: When sixteen–year–old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post–war Germany.

Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There,
Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director.

In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever–present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe.

But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...

About the Author

Victoria Purman is a multi-published, award-nominated, Amazon Kindle–bestselling author. She has worked in and around the Adelaide media for nearly thirty years as an ABC television and radio journalist, a speechwriter to a premier, political adviser, editor, media adviser and private-sector communications consultant. She is a regular guest at writers' festivals, has been nominated for a number of readers choice awards and was a judge in the fiction category for the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. Her most recent novels are The Three Miss Allens, published in 2016, The Last of the Bonegilla Girls (2018) and The Land Girls (2019).

To find out more, visit Victoria on her website. 

You can also follow her on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. 


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 775 KB
  • Print Length: 341 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (1 May 2018)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0776QJG3D
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #23,523 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

11 customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

TOP 100 REVIEWER
29 April 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
29 June 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
14 December 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
27 April 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
2 May 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
30 June 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
19 November 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
30 July 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?