Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Lament for the Fallen by [Gavin Chait]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Lament for the Fallen Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 9 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 384 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Review

Refreshingly different . . . exhilarating . . . a compulsively readable, life-affirming tale told in direct, lambent prose, and Chait does a masterful job of juxtaposing a traditional African setting with a convincing depiction of a far-future alien society. -- Eric Brown, GUARDIAN

Lyrical prose and imaginative world-building . . . the book is gripping, powerful and frequently impressive . . . an ambitious and intelligent work that marks out Chait as a writer worthy of further attention. -- Saxon Bullock, SFX magazine

Out of this world engrossing. You don’t have to understand the science to believe in it . . . superb world building . . . aided by enchanting fables and philosophies weaved into the narrative, Lament for the Fallen is an often poetic, occasionally disturbing, and always enthralling tale that has all the thematic ingredients to make it one of the best sci-fi books of 2016., CULTUREFLY

Richly drawn . . . a smart, ideas-driven novel . . . a promising and ambitious debut., SCiFiNOW

Loved the whole experience as Gavin brought solid world building into the mix alongside cracking pace as well as dialogue that just tripped off the page . . . a great read . . . Magic., FALCATA TIMES

Highly readable . . . Chait should be applauded for managing that all important trick of getting you to keep turning that page until there aren't any left . . . smart, ideas-led science fiction with a literary fiction bent., STARBURST magazine

Astonishingly accomplished . . . the writing is very elegant, switching between scenes of shocking brutality and images of incredible beauty, but the thing that really sets this book apart from other sci-fi that I’ve read is its heart. A deep humanity animates the very core of the book . . . a beautifully constructed novel, interrogating the question of what makes us human and what makes us humane . . . do seek out this novel because I think you’ll be intrigued and pleasantly surprised even if you don’t normally read sci-fi., IDLEWOMAN.NET --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Book Description

Perfect for fans of David Mitchell, Michel Faber and J G Ballard, this darkly compelling literary debut tells a thrilling story that is shot through with hope and a transcendent sense of wonder. --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • File size : 1479 KB
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 384 pages
  • ASIN : B019CGXWIY
  • Publisher : Transworld Digital; 1st edition (28 July 2016)
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 9 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
9 global ratings
5 star
52%
4 star
32%
3 star
16%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

KIKAREN
5.0 out of 5 stars MY BOOK OF THE YEAR
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 March 2017
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
K. Fearnley
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetic and poignant, exciting and insightful
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 January 2018
Verified Purchase
Woodcutterfrog
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and well worth reading
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 February 2018
Verified Purchase
Andrew
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing beautiful story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 January 2018
Verified Purchase
J. McCarthy
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 June 2019
Verified Purchase