Buying Options

Kindle Price: $7.02
includes tax, if applicable
kindle unlimited logo
Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Embed>
The King's Justice (A Stanton and Barling Mystery Book 1) by [Powell, E.M.]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The King's Justice (A Stanton and Barling Mystery Book 1) Kindle Edition

3.8 out of 5 stars 13 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.02

Length: 281 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English
  • Similar books to The King's Justice (A Stanton and Barling Mystery Book 1)

Kindle Daily Deal: Save at least 70%
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price - for that day only. See today's deal or sign up for the newsletter

From the Editor

In the twelfth-century world of provincial Yorkshire, it truly takes a village…to hide a murderer. When a ruthless killing besets the isolated hamlet of Claresham, there are only two men up to the task of investigating the crime: Stanton and Barling. But obtaining justice for the victim is no simple case, especially when the killer is still on the loose.

I was completely drawn in from the first page of this fast-paced, suspenseful whodunit, due in part to the rich tapestry of characters that populate the rural community. The whispers of villagers as they cast doubt on their fellow residents seeped through the page, and the detail with which E. M. Powell constructs the historic domain of Claresham made me feel like an inhabitant myself.

At the heart of The King’s Justice lies a mystery that grips and will not let go. As the investigation intensifies, and the case becomes more warped and complex, our heroes must move at breathless speed to end the killing before the killer ends them. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom, this novel is filled to the brim with twists and turns. And with her intricate web of suspects, Powell kept me guessing the identity of the killer until the very end.

- Jack Butler, Editor


Product description

Product Description

A murder that defies logic—and a killer on the loose.

England, 1176. Aelred Barling, esteemed clerk to the justices of King Henry II, is dispatched from the royal court with his young assistant, Hugo Stanton, to investigate a brutal murder in a village outside York.

The case appears straightforward. A suspect is under lock and key in the local prison, and the angry villagers are demanding swift justice. But when more bodies are discovered, certainty turns to doubt—and amid the chaos it becomes clear that nobody is above suspicion.

Facing growing unrest in the village and the fury of the lord of the manor, Stanton and Barling find themselves drawn into a mystery that defies logic, pursuing a killer who evades capture at every turn.

Can they solve the riddle of who is preying upon the villagers? And can they do it without becoming prey themselves?

About the Author

E.M. Powell's historical thriller Fifth Knight novels have been #1 Amazon and Bild bestsellers. The King's Justice is the first novel in her new Stanton and Barling medieval murder mystery series. She is a contributing editor to International Thriller Writers' The Big Thrill magazine, blogs for English Historical Fiction Authors and is the social media manager for the Historical Novel Society. Born and raised in the Republic of Ireland into the family of Michael Collins (the legendary revolutionary and founder of the Irish Free State), she now lives in North-West England with her husband, daughter and a Facebook-friendly dog. Find out more by visiting www.empowell.com.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3921 KB
  • Print Length: 281 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas & Mercer (1 June 2018)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B075CMDH17
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars 13 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #760 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

13 customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 13 reviews

11 June 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
25 November 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
23 October 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 50 REVIEWER
5 July 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
1 October 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
11 December 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 November 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
7 August 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?