<Embed>
$18.74
  • RRP: $19.99 Details

    Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

    The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
  • You Save: $1.25 (6%)
& FREE Delivery
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Ships from and sold by Book Depository UK.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$15.73
+ $3.00 delivery
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
Add to Cart
$18.45
+ $2.99 delivery
Sold by: Book Outlet Canada
Add to Cart
$19.76
+ $3.00 delivery
Sold by: Rarewaves UK
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Jackaby: A Jackaby Novel: 1 Paperback – 25 August 2015

4.4 out of 5 stars 310 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$18.74
$15.75
Arrives: 15 - 21 Oct

Amazon Launchpad
Discover new, innovative, and trending products from emerging brands Shop now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Jackaby: A Jackaby Novel: 1
  • +
  • Ghostly Echoes: A Jackaby Novel
  • +
  • The Dire King: A Jackaby Novel: 4
Total Price: $56.59
Buy the selected items together

Baby Wishlist
Get organised for your new arrival. Create your Wishlist today.

Product details

  • Paperback : 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1616205466
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1616205461
  • Product Dimensions : 13.97 x 2.03 x 20.96 cm
  • Publisher : Algonquin Young Readers; Reprint Edition (25 August 2015)
  • Reading level : 12 - 18 years
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 310 ratings

Product description

Review

"With tension as taut as a high wire, this series blends laugh-out-loud humor and ghastly horror with supernatural skill. You don't have to read the first book to enjoy this one, but we highly recommend it because reading the series is straight-up fun. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Grimm and Sherlock Holmes."--Justine Magazine

"Ritter's debut skillfully blends science with the supernatural and balances whimsy with violence. The smartly paced plot wraps up neatly, but the rich world of this debut demands sequels." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Toss together an alternate 19th-century New England city, a strong tradition of Sherlockian pastiche, and one seriously ugly hat, and this lighthearted and assured debut emerges, all action and quirk." --Publishers Weekly

From the Back Cover

Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary--including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby's assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it's an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain the foul deeds are the work of the kind of creature whose very existence the local authorities--with the exception of a handsome young detective named Charlie Cane--seem adamant to deny.

"The rich world of this debut demands sequels." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"We honestly couldn't put it down." --Nerdist.com

"Toss together an alternate 19th-century New England city, a strong tradition of Sherlockian pastiche, and one seriously ugly hat, and this lighthearted and assured debut emerges, all action and quirk." --Publishers Weekly