Buy new:
$34.38
Only 1 left in stock.
US imports may differ from local products. Additional terms apply. Learn More.

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions, or plugs (you may require an adapter).
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store
$$34.38 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$34.38
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon US
Sold by Amazon US
Ships from
Amazon US
Sold by
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$56.73
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Smaller World Future AU
Sold by: Smaller World Future AU
(310 ratings)
88% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$76.94
+ $6.48 Delivery
Sold by: Prestivo-France
Sold by: Prestivo-France
(626 ratings)
93% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy Hardcover – 7 November 2017

4.1 out of 5 stars 140 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, 7 November 2017
$34.38
$34.38 $28.25
Digital

Enhance your purchase

Save on selected books by Liane Moriarty.
Shop best-sellers by Liane Moriarty. Click to explore.

Frequently bought together

  • The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy
  • +
  • The Red Ribbon: An Irregular Spy Thriller
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
These items are shipped from and sold by different sellers.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

"A fine first entry in what promises to be a great new series. Wiggins is a captivating hero, and Lyle draws his Edwardian backstreets in convincing color. The game is most definitely afoot."--Mick Herron, author of the Slough House series

Fans of Arthur Conan Doyle's stories will remember young Wiggins as the leader of the Baker Street Irregulars . . . Though Lyle's debut novel is certainly an homage, it's not a flat-footed imitation but a crisp, stylish spinoff."
--Kirkus Reviews


"A thrilling story of espionage, murder, and the creation of the Secret Service."--Charles Cumming, author of A Divided Spy

"Impressive period detail and sharp dialogue add charm to the strong plot."--Daily Mail

"A fast-moving, hugely enjoyable story with interesting characters and authentic background . . . It is the first of a series, and I look forward to the sequels."--Historical Novel Society

"An entertaining blend of history and fiction . . . Lyle's descriptions of 1909 London are vivid. One can almost smell the coal smoke and the raw sewage. The Irregular is a compelling book, one to add to one's reading list."
--New York Journal of Books


"I think H.B. Lyle is probably our most talented historical mystery writer today. An author who writes like a veteran but instead brings a fresh new perspective."--Andrew Gulli, Strand Magazine

"A good deal of excitement and some enjoyable riffing on both the history of espionage and the Conan Doyle canon, with cameos of everybody from Winston Churchill to Mr. Holmes himself . . . The book is a treat."--Sunday Express

"A flavorsome smorgasbord that features not only Holmes but also Winston Churchill, this is irresistible stuff."--Barry Forshaw, The Guardian

"It is hard to generate something new in such an avalanche of well-worn tropes, but H.B. Lyle has managed to do that quite cleverly in The Irregular."--Crime Time

Nominated for the 2018 Best First Novel, Barry Award
"With so many books set in the wide world of Sherlock Holmes, it is difficult to come up with a new story that is both original and compelling, but H.B. Lyle has managed it beautifully with The Irregular."--Otto Penzler, ed., The Big Book of Sherlock Holmes Stories

"Lyle offers a skillful blend of fact and fiction, from Holmes and Watson to Churchill and the real-life leaders of the agencies that became MI5 and MI6. A compelling series debut and a natural read-alike for Robert Goddard's Max Maxted series and David Downing's Jack McColl series."
--Booklist

"H.B. Lyle has found the golden thread between Holmes and Bond in a thriller that engages on every page."
--Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland

"The story is fast-paced, rich in descriptions, and the dialogue is true to the characters. Overall, this book is just plain fun. It is sprinkled with real life personages, such as Captain Kell, Winston Churchill, and MI6 founder Mansfield Cumming, as well as the literary characters of Wiggins, Sherlock Holmes, and Dr. Watson."--Clayton Thomas Booksellers

"It's not easy for an author to come up with an original idea for a novel, much less a plot involving Sherlock Holmes. But that is just what H.B. Lyle has done, albeit the great detective here only playing a minor cameo role . . . Exciting, interesting, and fast-moving."
--Theodore Feit, Spinetingler Magazine


"An inventive espionage thriller set before World War I . . . A twist-filled adventure that proves far from elementary."
--Tom Nolan, The Wall Street Journal


"Handsomely crafted . . . The villains here are world class, with German munitions giants, Russian anarchists, and a couple of rather unexpected conspirators as well. Lyle achieves a nice blend of history and mystery, with cameo appearances by such fictional and real-life luminaries as Holmes and Winston Churchill."
--Bookpage WhoDunit Column


"An exciting, action-packed adventure set in London in 1909 . . . Takes the Sherlock Holmes legacy in a new and thrilling direction."--Stephen Thornley, Shots Magazine

"The Irregular is a fast-moving, hugely entertaining thriller that evokes Victorian London with great panache. There are a host of appealing characters. Lyle is especially adept at mixing actual persons and events with imagined ones. I'm delighted to report it's the first of a series."
--Irma Heldman, It's A Mystery Column


"Just when it seems that Sherlock Holmes-inspired books are old hat, along comes this thrill ride of espionage, conspiracy, murder, and yes, even romance, set in 1909 London. Both fans of Sherlock Holmes and spy novels will enjoy this debut by a former screenwriter peppered with historical figures like Winston Churchill, especially when the ending hints of more adventures for the first British double-0 agent ever."
-- Barbara Clark-Greene, Library Journal

About the Author

H.B. Lyle lives in South London with his partner and their twin daughters. After a career in feature film development, he took an MA in creative writing--and then a PhD--at the University of East Anglia, an experience which led to the creation of The Irregular, his first novel. He also writes screenplays and teaches undergraduates.

Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Quercus Books (7 November 2017)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 288 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 168144027X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1681440279
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 16.51 x 2.54 x 24.13 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.1 out of 5 stars 140 ratings

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
140 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Graham of Watton
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely enjoyable
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 January 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Dickens
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable - Worth A Read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 April 2018
Verified Purchase
the review man
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 July 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Lakland
5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly enjoyed this book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 February 2018
Verified Purchase
meg
5.0 out of 5 stars Book.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 February 2018
Verified Purchase