You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $1.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Interregnum (Tales of the Empire Book 1) by [Turney, S.J.A.]
Kindle App Ad

Interregnum (Tales of the Empire Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$1.99

Length: 534 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Winter Sale
Save up to 70% on over 250 Kindle Books. Sale ends 27 August 2017 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

The Empire has fallen. The Empire must rise

A historical fantasy of valour, honour, and determination against all odds

For twenty years civil war has torn the Empire apart; the Imperial line extinguished after the mad Emperor Quintus was burned in his palace, betrayed by his greatest general and oldest friend, Kiva Caerdin.

Against a background of war, decay and violence, men who once served in the proud Imperial army now fight as hands for hire, little but fodder for greedy lords fighting over the remnants of more glorious times.

Kiva’s memories of the Empire are reignited when fighting alongside a fearsome mercenary unit, the Grey Company. Forced to face a dark and shameful past, he struggles to put his life back together. To achieve redemption, he and his men must defeat an ancient, cunning and bitter rival. Only then can the Empire be unified and become reborn…

Set in a hugely imaginative and atmospheric world inspired by Roman history, Interregnum is the first novel in S.J.A. Turney’s epic Tales of the Empire series, and is perfect for readers of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow.

This new edition of Interregnum has been revised and professionally proofread by S.J.A. Turney's publisher.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2120 KB
  • Print Length: 534 pages
  • Publisher: Canelo (4 July 2016)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01HRUBM16
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #12,849 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top customer reviews

By Davey TOP 50 REVIEWER on 8 July 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The Empire has fallen and the lords scrabble for power. Yet there is an heir to the Imperial line. He has now reached adulthood and with a few soldiers of the old order will take up the challenge to return the dynasty to power. Well written by S.J.A. Turney.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
What a great tale, totally engaged from start to finish, thank goodness there are more in this series. After reading Mariu's Mules I knew Mr. Turney was my kind of author, however, after reading more of his stories I now consider he is a GREAT Author. Anyone who has an interest in historical fiction should list his books as a MUST to read.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars 43 reviews
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy w/o Dragons Empires w/o Mythical Creatures 13 August 2013
By William A McLaughlin - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Interregnum by SJA Turney
Mr. Turney enters tentatively into the realm of Fantasy Genre with this novel and series. It is not History but a created world of fiction, Fantasy without wizards, demonic beasties or elves. Thank Goodness, I am tired of Fantastic creatures floating in and out of imaginary world toying with the machinations of man. What we get is intrigue the struggle of Good, Evil and Sanity and Madness. Great honor and deceit battle for control of the world. It is a stronger story line in many ways because it is based on truths in the hearts of man. The characters are solid and well constructed. They are the kind that would stand in a historic novel but this is not a historic world. It is a series I wish to explore more and look forward to "Ironroot" the second novel in this series. Turney shows us the real monsters are deep within us.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Rate Historical Roman Empire without Rome 1 October 2013
By James Dainis - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The author says that this in not an historical Roman legion novel but pure fiction. Indeed, that is correct but it reads much like his true historical novels such as "Marius Mules" of that time period. Pure fiction just gives him the license to allow what would be anachronisms to appear - spyglasses, stirrups on saddles, crossbows, etc. and to make up characters and cities out of whole cloth. Nevertheless, one certainly gets the feeling that one is reading about the Roman Empire and the legions.

As for the story, the Empire is in ruins following the death of the last Emperor twenty years previously, leaving no heirs. The last great general of the Imperial army, Kiva, is reduced to leading a mercenary band of twelve of his finest soldiers. They will fight for any lord who wishes to expand on his lands and various vassal states in the former empire. After one battle they find a remarkable young man who is a direct bloodline to the throne.

The astute reader can now assume to know how the plot will develop, but may very well be wrong.
To say that the author introduces various twists in the plot would be an understatement. Rather, the reader occasionally gets a dash of cold water in the face, metaphorically speaking. This all makes for a very engrossing book.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, as I am finding all the Turney books 2 August 2016
By Timothy George - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Excellent, as I am finding all the Turney books. Thanks so much for the amazing output of inexpensive excellent stories of amazing depth and skill. I have no idea why this author is not selling these for big books and movie rights. Hard to find any better, especially if you are a fan of history. Although this one is not "real" history, it is certainly informed with an intimate knowledge of Rome and other ancient empires.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interregnum 4 March 2017
By Kindle Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
S.J.A. Turney, is a genius of a writer.
My husband picked this book and read it within a few days. Me, I take longer but although I thought this book started out a bit slow, as I read along it become a book that I couldn't stop reading.
Great book.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read 10 July 2015
By Kindle Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a historical fiction with enough research about the fall of the empire and the Roman army during those times to make this an excellent read. If you like plots, twists and turns you'll appreciate what each character brings to the table. The characters themselves are likeable and interesting and you become involved with them. Except for the one person so many people have to overcome. There is intrigue, tactical battle planning and scheming. I very much enjoyed this book as it was hard to put down. If it was true life you'd want these people for friends and that kept me reading into the wee hours of the morning. Suspenful.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?